We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is between places and it's a conversion...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location is between places and it's a conversion...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

So when we got there, it's not located in the mountain village or the old village, your about half way between. That means... nothing in walking distance.

Next, reception is on the second floor, not the ground floor. This is not a Hampton building, it has had two previous owners. It's a conversion. So even though you get all the Hampton service, the building itself has quirks you don't find in a Hampton.

Having said that, there is nothing back about the rooms, except, and I find this odd about many hotels, the ground floor rooms do not have nets on the windows, so you can have full sun and goldfish bowl syndrome, or complete black out darkness. Try to get a room on a higher floor if you like light and privacy.

Breakfast, internet, etc are all standard Hampton services provided free of charge. There is a great bike trail behind the hotel that runs between the mountain village and Steamboat. It follows the river and is well worth taking in.

For my money, depending on when you are here, if you want to ski I would spend the extra money and stay right at the base of the mountain. If you're on summer vacation it's fine for a night or two.

Room Tip: You may try for a second floor or higher. The views are better and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pxtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much pxtaylor for taking the time to fill out a review. You are correct that this Hampton Inn & Suites is not the typical Hampton Inn and it does have a different style than the others. We are pleased to say that due to this style, we have over 16 different room types to offer guests. We also offer shuttle service from December 1st through March 31st for all of our guests. Our main stop is to the mountain; however, we also make trips downtown. I have also taken you comments regarding the netting to our Chief Engineer to see how we can solve this issue. If you have a moment please contact me directly so I can make sure I have all of the information correct. My phone number is (970)871-8900 ext 405 or you can email me at Diane.White@Hilton.com. Again, thank you very much and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    164
    78
    28
    11
See reviews for
290
237
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hilton properties (and Hampton Inns specifically) are typically where we stay when we travel. The Hampton in Steamboat is so much nicer than many "off the highway" hotels. The decorating is more homey, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the staff is exceedingly helpful and kind. We have stayed in the Steamboat Hampton many times and encourage our friends to stay there as well. It is our go-to spot when visiting this beautiful town!

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are the suites or larger rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is always great to read when a guest enjoys their stay. I will make sure to pass along your comments to the staff. It always brightens their day when they are recognized for their hard work. Next time you visit Steamboat, please give us a call. We would be more than happy to reserve a room for you on the 3rd floor in one of your favorite rooms. Again, thank you for you great comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

At first glance this hotel looks great, overpriced, but great. It was pretty and very clean but that's where my good review stops.

My husband and I stayed here on the second to last leg of our cross-country road trip. This was the 8th hotel we stayed in and by far the worst one. When we checked in we were told we got the very last room they had, which was room 128. This room was on the first floor, direcly under the lobby. That should have clued us in right there.

Whoever thought it was a good idea to put the lobby of the hotel ABOVE the rooms was not very smart. We had to listen to people stomp around, wheel luggage around, and go up and down the stairs ALL NIGHT LONG. I don't think I slept at all. Everytime I was just about to doze off, it sounded like a herd of elephants was checking in upstairs. And it didn't even sound like the people were trying to be quiet about it either. Sometimes it even sounded like they were running back and forth. It was aweful.

I really wish they would have just told us they didn't have any rooms left and we could have gone and stayed at a cheap Motel 6 or something. That's how bad this was.

Don't stay here if you have to stay underneath the lobby. Or anywhere on the first floor, just to be safe.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor unless you want to listen to people in the lobby all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Hollaleigh, Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. I understand your recent stay with us was not up to par. I would like to deeply apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. Hollaleigh, please contact me directly and I would be more than happy to discuss this issue further. You can reach me at (970)871-8900 or email me directly at Diane.White@Hilton.com. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights her in August, 2012. Hotel is a little dated, but the service is incredible!!!! Our night clerk, John, went above and beyond the call of duty, looking for a Hampton room for us in another city, signing us up for honors program and a multitude of other favors. We loved John and all of the staff that assisted us while we stayed at the hotel. The hot breakfasts are fantastic and there is a coffee/tea bar that is well-stocked and replenished all day. We will not stay anywhere else when we returne. Only complaint is that this hotel is badly in need of updating!!!!! Hotel owners - Spend some money on this place and you will never have any vacancies. The only other hotel that appears in better shape is the Steamboat Grand and one of the nights that we stayed at the Hampton, the room rate was identical to the one at the Steamboat Grand, which obviously was much much nicer. Prices are a little high for the off-season.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade if possible, and keep your room locked at all times, as they often leave the o...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GAM1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review. It is always nice to hear good feedback, especially on how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass along all of your wonderful comments to our staff, including John. The hotel itself was completely renovated in 2009. We still have a few areas that we are updating; however, we are always trying to find ways to better the hotel. I again thank you for your commentary and we look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

While for the most part this hotel was clean and offered good service, the room was not as clean as it could have been. There were water stains on the fabric of the chairs and the shower needed a thorough scrubbing. Twice during the 7 days I was there, the breakfast was not as hot as it should have been.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side may be quieter due to the train tracks on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and comments. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the service we had to offer. Regarding the cleanliness of the hotel rooms, I have taken your comments to our Chief Engineer and our Executive Housekeeper to solve this issue. I have also gone over the proper procedure for breakfast with each attendant to make sure the food is served just right. Again, thank you for bringing these to my attention. I do hope you give us another opportunity to go above and beyond the next time you are in Steamboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Although we live in Colorado, we have never traveled to Steamboat Springs. My husband researched and read all of the reviews for this hotel and that is how we made our decision to stay here. This is one of the nicest, cleanest, friendliest hotels we have stayed at in a very long time. The staff is very helpful and courteous. This hotel provides breakfast every morning and the coffee is always fresh. The rooms are really clean and comfortable. It is very family friendly and in a nice location. There are great walking paths nearby and great places to eat. We will definitely visit here again and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are the quietest. You don't hear the hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJCalvin, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and your comments. We work hard to exceed all our guest expectations. I was happy to read that we did that and more. It is our hope that we can do the same for your 2013 vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel was so fabulous that we canceled our trip to Denver and decided to stay there. The staff were like family by the end of the trip. We not only had a great room but they helped us find eateries that were family friendly. Everything about this place was intended to make us feel welcomed. This may become an annual vacation for us. P.S. The 3 hottubs were really cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJCalvin, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
WOW! Thank you so much for the great review and comments. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations. I will pass along your comments to my entire team and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs

Property: Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Address: 725 South Lincoln Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the greatest of the great outdoors… Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs.Don't be surprised if you see folks racing down the slopes in cowboy hats when you visit Steamboat Springs. While we offer world-class snow skiing, our city still has its roots in cowboy culture. So much so that our town's signature store still sells Western wear! When you visit our comfortable hotel in Steamboat Springs, you'll be close to it all, including great dining, shopping and entertainment, as well as year-round outdoor activities.After a busy day of meetings or outdoor adventures, you'll want a hotel in Steamboat Springs where you can relax and unwind. And that's just what you'll find at the Hampton Inn & Suites® Steamboat Springs hotel. We're conveniently located just half a mile from historic downtown and just over a mile from the popular Steamboat Ski Resort.Get a bird's-eye view of the Rocky Mountains from a hot-air balloon... Soak away all your troubles in our incredible hot springs... Enjoy a hike to scenic Fish Creek Falls... Or see future stars of the rodeo circuit at one of our popular rodeos. All this and much more is here for you when you visit our friendly hotel in Steamboat Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs Hotel Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing