We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall good experience at the grand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Steamboat Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“overall good experience at the grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Nice hotel, with excellent pool and hot tubs, location, bar, cute gameroom, really large rooms. Staff was very nice, and the place was clean. Our room was nice, but when the sauna in the room smelled like cigarettes, we couldn't use it. When the ceiling leaked, they said it was a known problem and were full so couldn't move us. Gave us free breakfast for our trouble.

Room Tip: Not room 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review of The Steamboat Grand. I'm glad we were able to remedy the issue you encountered, and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Steamboat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    190
    74
    35
    20
See reviews for
257
172
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed at the Steamboat Grand this past weekend. We travel a lot all over the world, so we know by now what to expect, or not to expect based on locations and prices. Unless by Grand they mean the size, the rest is not grand at all: the most horrible sofa bed (you break your back, the housekeeper recommended to add another mattress - mattresses were less than 2 inch thick and told us their sofas are really old and bad- duh, we figured that out after the first night), very poor internet signal, shabby rooms, old carpets on hallways, unfriendly and cocky front desk, they act like they do you a favor (a one hour late check out on a Sunday felt like a Grand favor), poor food at the restaurant, parking was $12/night (I think that is a rip off considering they are in Steamboat). For more than $200/night - off season- I would not recommend this hotel...such a waste of money

Room Tip: Do not go, you will be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our property. I would like to apologize for your experience, as it sounds very out of the ordinary for us. We have ordered new sleeper sofas for every room in the hotel, and they will be installed this fall once we get in to the off season. Additionally, we do offer three options for parking, ranging in price from $5-$17 in the summer. We hope to see you again so you can try out one of our brand new, high quality sleeper sofas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We just spent three nights at The Steamboat Grand Hotel and had a wonderful time. The entire staff is fantastic. We stayed in a one bedroom condo which was such a bonus - two bathrooms, living room area which has two window seats that would be perfect for extra beds, full kitchen and fireplaces in both rooms. Had dinner one night in the bar - Tom was fantastic and the food was great. They also offer shuttle service downtown which is a wonderful service. Good location to everything you would want to do in Steamboat Springs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for the very thorough and wonderful review of The Steamboat Grand. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the week with our family at the Grand and we really enjoyed it! The warm salt water pool and large hot tubs were a dream. The 2 bedroom condo was luxurious, spacious, and very comfortable. We enjoyed the location near the gondola activities and near town. But, we were highly disappointed with the food choices. Pool bistro was closed several days and the cabin was open as an alternative with a tiny 8 item menu and extremely limited options. Dinner was also a big disappointment with a very small menu and ok quality. Sit down breakfast was not even possible except on weekends. It is August and we felt the dining options were not acceptable or as advertised for the luxury property. The service was mostly apathetic and met the bare minimum. There were a few smiling helpful exceptions but mostly we were unimpressed. The property location, high quality rooms, and amazing pool made us happy with our vacation and we would return but the service and dining were NOT high quality.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Steamboat Grand. I'm sorry the hotel dining options were not what you expected. I will follow up with the Food & Beverage manager and address your concerns. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Steamboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and it was everything that I needed with some out of town guests.
The front desk was helpful and considerate and accommodating. The work out center was suitable, the hot tubs massive and the pool using a salt water formula, was large and the right temperature.
The location on the mountain is close to the gondola and I took the free bus shuttle one day into Steamboat town center and it worked flawlessly.
Great value in the summer for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snappytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic and thorough review of The Grand. We are delighted to hear your experience was a Grand one, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great location, beautiful views... Free shuttle to the downtown area was fantastic. Quaint shops and unique restaurants line the streets. Very warm while we were there so used the outdoor pool which has great lounge chairs and full menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the great review of The Steamboat Grand. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Steamboat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Comfortable and spacious room with a balcony and view of the mountain. However, the rooms with a town view is better, I looked in one.

This being said, there is some type of faliure in mangement or training. Customer service is key in the hospitality industry and it lacked throughout the hotel. I ordered a turkey club w/o bacon from the pool, and I got extra bacon, even though I clairfied a few times.

I had to wait at least ten minutes for the valet, and finaly the front desk came out and took my keys for me after trying to reach the valet on the radio with no success.

The spa is not a spa. I got two great massages from a wonderful therapist, but this is not a spa. No locker rooms, no sauna, no steam room, no relaxition area. I would highly recommend the hotel to look in to this.

In room dinning starts at 5pm and ends at 10pm, and when my room was cleaned and old in room dining table was not taken out.

Although a majority of the cast members were friendly, you could feel a general disregard for a highl level of service.

Would love to go back and see the results of highly needed revision of duties and training!

Room Tip: Town views are better than mountian views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lion_and_his_cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our property. I would like to apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced throughout your stay, as we hold ourselves to a higher standard of service than what you received. The hotel is aware of the layout of The Grand Spa, and we are happy to hear your enjoyed your massage. The locker rooms & steam room are located in the fitness center which every Spa guest is encouraged to access before or after treatment. We look forward to another opportunity to wow you with the level of service you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Property: The Steamboat Grand
Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing