We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wedding Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand for a hotel. The couple was married up the mountain on the ski resort, but the special wedding rate was at the Grand. We got a two bedroom, two bath place and split it with my in-laws. There was so much space. We were very pleased with the beds, bathrooms, and the service. The kitchen was stocked fairly well. The coffee makers in the room could use some updating. The pool and hot tubs are excellent. Giant hot tub as well. Decent drinks down by the pool as well. The poolside salads weren't very good, but the burger was good and so was the avocado turkey wrap.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neff1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Grand. We are delighted to hear your experience was a Grand one, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    172
    65
    33
    19
See reviews for
235
149
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited in July and enjoyed the resort. The one bedroom one bath condo was roomy and very comfortable. We were able to get delivery from local restaurants and also room service. The best part was the pool area which has two large hot tubs, one of which is 18 and older. The pool area is beautifully lit at night

Room Tip: Our room didn't face the mountain but still had a nice view and a large patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review of The Steamboat Grand and our amenities. We hope to see you again this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have travelled to Steamboat for more than 25 years for skiing, and when invited to attend a summer wedding there were happy to get a room at the Steamboat Grand. When I called for a reservation I was told it was a busy weekend with the Balloon Rodeo and many conferences in the valley.
The only room available was a "parlor" room with a sleeper sofa; my first response was to question the quality of the mattresses for use a a primary bed, and whether housekeeping did turn down for it. I was assured the bed would be fine and housekeeping would make up the bed each day.
The queen sized sleeper mattress and frame turned out to be very flimsy and uncomfortable. The first morning the front desk was requested to provide another mattress to prevent the spring frame from pushing against our backs. Their response: they knew the sleepers were a problem and all of them should be replaced soon. He offered a foam pad which would be added later in the day.
A sheet of foam was brought to the room late in the afternoon, but we needed to put it under the mattress ourselves and it was only the width of a twin mattress. The other issue was there were only twin blankets available and we had to do our own set up each day. Housekeeping was very poor at replacing towels and supplies and we never got anywhere with a fitting blanket request.
This is not what we expected in what has been considered one of the best accommodations in Steamboat and we do not plan a return there. If they are to continue to use these sofas as primary sleep accommodations, they need to be honest about expectations and improve housekeeping services.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catfish14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I would like to apologize for your experience at our property. We will be replacing the sleeper sofas this fall, and in the mean time we plan to purchase some air mattresses to offer as a temporary solution. I'm glad we were able to speak with you directly about this issue, and we look forward to the opportunity of earning your business back this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and had an excellent experience at The Steamboat Grand. We did have quite a walk to our room but was thankful for the peace and quiet. We didn't use any of the other amenities other than valet parking. All staff was personable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review of The Grand. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Steamboat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at the Steamboat Grand for 2 nights to attend a wedding in late June. We were able to book a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom room which offered a full kitchen which ideal for having two families with young children staying in the same room as we had the ability to closed the bedroom door and enjoy the living room area. The area directly around the hotel seemed vacated for the summer months, which was not a surprise given this ski resort area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Steamboat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Steamboat Grand. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We've been staying at the Grand for years, ever since it opened, for company retreats, getaways, family vacations. We were pleasantly surprised this month to find that it's still well-maintained and offers a spa and good restaurants. Family visiting from Minnesota wanted to experience Steamboat and the Grand had a great rate for a suite with two bedrooms. The arrangement was perfect and suited our needs. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. Not a thing wrong with the rooms; the décor remains fresh and attractive; food was fine. Is it a five-star resort? No, but it was built for durable ski and summer traffic, and given the volume of guests, it is very well maintained and provides everything you need. Two minor complaints-paying the day rate for inside parking, and the family cacophony at the pool and hot tub. Maybe there could be "adult swim" hours after 5pm - of there's lots of space to the west, add an adults-only pool. Given our last experience, we would not hesitate to again choose the Grand for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the west side-"down valley" views. Yes, you get to see the ski mountain,, Mt. Wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for the great review of The Grand. As a return guest, we greatly appreciate your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Steamboat Grand for a Thursday -Sunday conference in late June. We had a.full 1BR condo with king bed, full kitchen, living /dining room with desk, and nice size bathroom....tons of space! People who brought children added an extra bedroom so that they could use the livingroom after putting the kids to bed. The breakfasts and dinners were catered by the hotel for our large group, and were nicely done. We ate The Cabin's breakfast buffet 1 morning and that was wonderful, with made to order omelets.The Korbel ballrooms were comfortable for meetings and meals...and the technology all worked. The pools are outdoors and glowed with beautiful lilac and blue lights at night. While in Steamboat, we enjoyed the Saturday morning Farmers Market downtown, took a Wild West balloon ride, and rode the gondola to the top of the ski slope and hiked down. Loved the town and the setting and the adventures and the hotel and the people in Steamboat Springs!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kht53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review of The Steamboat Grand and our conference services. We are pleased to hear your experience was a Grand one, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#18 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#1 of 81 in Steamboat Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rabbit Ears Motel
Rabbit Ears Motel
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Property: The Steamboat Grand
Address: 2300 Mount Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing