We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Steamboat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our room was on the smallish side but most are. It was VERY clean, bed was perfectly made, bathroom was spotless and front desk staff excellent. Thank you to the staff for making our stay memorable and fun. We will return!

Room Tip: All rooms face the north with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMan557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Grand and our dedicated staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Steamboat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 672 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you’ve never been to the Steamboat Grand, you shouldn’t have any trouble finding it. This place is gigantic! In fact, it’s seven stories high and literally ¼ mile end to end. If your room is at or near the end, you’ll log some serious pedestrian miles just getting there and back. (If you have trouble with long walks, request a room near the center of the building.)

As a guest, you can park in the hotel’s underground lot which is a safe and secure area out of the elements. There is an extra parking fee per day which varies depending on the season. There is also a small parking garage directly across the street which is less expensive. However, half of the spaces at this garage are on the roof and exposed to the elements.

My wife booked an inexpensive room with two queen beds. This room, #253, is small, but very nicely appointed. The linens and mattresses were of very high quality and quite comfy. One bed is against a wall which could be a problem with two people sleeping there. The bathroom is large and squeaky clean with plenty of fluffy towels. There is a large counter with two sinks and a mirror running the entire length. During my stay, there was always plenty of hot water at very good pressure.

The views from this room overlook the Gondola Village and ski slopes. Although room 253 has a balcony, it's pretty lackluster. Unlike most of the other rooms, there is a concrete wall, instead of a metal railing, with a roof below which obstructs the view. Furthermore, birds like to rest on this wall and it's constantly covered in droppings. Overall, it's not a very nice place to hang out.

The Steamboat Grand has a main restaurant called The Cabin. Prices are on the high side. The food is good and the service is top notch, but there is stiff competition from better fare in town. The Cabin has a daily Happy Hour from 4:00-6:00 PM with half price draft beers and wine. There is also a coffee shop with quick-service counter food and a bar and grill at the pool area.

This gets into what is probably the best part of staying at The Steamboat Grand; the pool! It's huge with two gigantic, in-ground hot tubs. The hot tub areas rest directly next to each end of the pool. You can quite easily hop between the pool and a hot tub. The pool is also heated which is such a very nice contrast to other Colorado pools which are pretty much an ice water bath. (It's unusual to find a heated outdoor pool at a hotel these days, so enjoy it.) There is also easy access directly from the pool to restrooms in the locker room area.

During my visit, the pool was uncrowded and peaceful. Although, there is a constant drone from a large ventilation fan in the roof area. (I'm particularly annoyed by such things. Most people probably wouldn't notice.)

The pool has a bar and grill. (You cannot bring your own alcohol to the pool area. If you want an adult beverage poolside, you must purchase it at the pool bar.) Smoking is not permitted in the pool area. (Hurray! At every other hotel pool, I'm constantly choking on someone else's smoke.) Nice towels are provided at the pool.

The pool area alone made my visit to the Steamboat Grand. Whenever I try to enjoy the pool or hot tub at other hotels, I find the area crowded, the hot tub packed with parents and their little kids splashing around and almost everyone chain smoking everywhere. No fun! So, if you want to enjoy the pool at a hotel, you'd be hard pressed to find a better choice than the Steamboat Grand. (I suspect the pool area can get crowded during ski season, but I've never visited at that time of year.)

The Steamboat Grand offers a free guest shuttle to Downtown Steamboat Springs. It departs from the front of the hotel at 15 and 45 minutes past the hour. Check with the front desk for operating hours each day. This is a convenient option for going downtown without parking hassles.

Be aware the Steamboat Grand is a mostly smoke-free hotel. Smoking is not permitted in any of the restaurants, rooms or balconies. Smoking is also not permitted in the pool area. (Again, yay!)

Of course, what makes or breaks a property like this are the staff. Everyone I encountered at The Steamboat Grand was polite, professional and friendly. My wife and I enjoy visiting Colorado Ski towns during the summer months. Unfortunately, the service can be hit or miss. No problem here at the Steamboat Grand.

While my room balcony wasn't great, this was a minor point to an overall very enjoyable stay. I'm looking forward to another stay at The Steamboat Grand. It's a beautiful, well-maintained property with a great pool and an outstanding staff.

Room Tip: Make sure your balcony has a metal railing and not a concrete wall. Some rooms can be a very long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoKlutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the outstanding and extremely thorough review of The Steamboat Grand. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Think Brown Palace and the Broadmoor. The Grand is a mountain version. We attended a wedding there (and stated a night in a suite). Beautifully decorated, attention to detail, friendly staff and good food (the cheese tray was spectacular).

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for the amazing review of The Steamboat Grand. We are honored you consider our property commensurate with such fantastic resorts, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We checked into this hotel at the last minute after we had a bad experience at another hotel. We stayed for three nights and extended it an extra night and already planning a December ski trip here. What made it extra special was the staff. I was so impressed especially when our TV didn't work. They went out of there way to accommodate us and turned a negative into a double positive!!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Muuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Steamboat Grand. We love to hear that our dedicated staff made all the difference, and as a result you will be returning this winter! We look forward to welcoming you back in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a Convention and skiing. The location is great to get to the chairlifts and bars and restaurants by the slopes. And, the hotel ski check next to the slopes was handy. Although our room was first class, it was small (1 bed, 1 chair). We realized how small, after we visited other rooms that our friends were staying in. Even so, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the fireplace and the balcony.

The staff were very friendly and took the time to answer questions, even when they were obviously busy with a full hotel.

The valet for the car was quick. And, the restaurant and breakfast place had a good selection of options. Loved the outdoor hot tub. Poolside beverage service was much appreciated too. But, of the two hot tubs available, one was broken, so the functioning one became very crowded.

Although not inexpensive, I felt we received the value and services for the cost. Can't wait to return. Will definitely stay here again, but will ask for a different (larger) room.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have more amenities such as a kitchen or living areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaorskisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful and thorough review of The Grand! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Steamboat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel was nice however there was a children's LaCrosse tournament in town and several were staying at this hotel. We were not informed of this when we booked Friday or we would not have chosen to stay. After children running and screaming in the hall until late Friday night we tried to leave on Saturday instead of Sunday. We could leave but we would not be given a refund. Being business owners this was supposed to be a weekend to relax. If we have been warned we would not have stayed here. Our trip was ruined and the hotel did not care.

Room Tip: Ask what is going on at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SunnyB7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at The Steamboat Grand. We apologize that your visit was not what you expected. As one of the top family resorts in the country, it’s common for families and groups to choose to stay at the Steamboat Grand. Contacting our front desk directly is always the best way to find out what's going on in town, or what large groups may be staying in the hotel for any given dates. We hope that you will return to Steamboat for another visit to see what makes The Steamboat Grand such a great location to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The place was outstanding, large heated pool and two large hot tubs. Rooms were large enough (you just sleep in them anyway), kitchen has everything needed to cook, (look in stove for pots and pans) use valet so your car is protected, basically across the street from gondola lift. Restaurant was very good. if military, last two weekends of April, the ski lift is free!!

Room Tip: A tad noisy from the pool in the back, so if you have a problem with kids in the pool get the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review of our property. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again next ski season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
830 reviews
1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $138 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing