We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very lovely place. Everyone was very helpful. We had the 3 bedroom for our whole family. It worked out very well. I called ahead and talked to the food manager. We arranged to have food in the the home when we got there. That was very helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was very good. Our waitress was very sweet and full of information on things to do. When I go back I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of The Grand. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    165
    60
    31
    19
See reviews for
227
140
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The Steamboat Grand is such a beautiful hotel and is in a fantastic location- spacious rooms, great pool, and across from the mountain. The staffing on the other hand was terrible and an understanding of customer service is clearly not present among employees. None of the staff seemed happy to be employed and most of them did not show genuine interest in guest services.

We were there for three nights (after Labor Day) and felt a lack of respect and customer service right from the start. The water main across the street was broken... Obviously not the hotel's fault, but they still failed to offer bottled water for guests. The water was clearly non-potable, thus voiding out the use of our kitchen. Upon requesting bottled water, the customer service representative on the line simply suggested, "Why don't you just stay elsewhere?"

You would think one brilliant remark from an employee to stay elsewhere would be rare from the customer service department, but we were soon told to, "Go stay at the Sheraton," after asking another employee why the hotel staff seemed to lack any spirit and liveliness. These were just a few examples of many poor interactions with supposed "customer service" representatives.

There is no question in my mind that next time we will be choosing other accommodations when we visit Steamboat and I would highly recommend others do the same. This is especially important if you are looking for professional customer service and positive staff interactions as a part of your stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RKtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Director of Sales at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are indeed terribly sorry that this occurred during your stay at The Steamboat Grand. We will be contacting you to hopefully resolve your frustration
Karen Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was not going to write this review and tried to resolve my issues with The Grand thru Keegan in guest relations first, but that didn't go so well so here we go...
Found out why the customer service is so awful here. This is not actually a hotel, it is a property management company trying to make money for the owners of the condos. They actually don't care if you're happy...they just need your money. The customer service is awful at this place. Maybe the owners of the condos need to have a meeting and look into hiring a different management company to rent out their condos. I'm pretty sure the owners of these condos wouldn't treat people the way this management company does...Keegan...Brett, I'm talking about you. Dishonest. I called the Grand directly to book my 2 night stay. They failed to mention that a water main had broken and the rooms have muddy water running through the facets. So I paid $215.16 (taxes, fees & parking included in that total) for one night in a room I couldn't even brush my teeth or take a shower in. I wish I would have taken a picture of the Jacuzzi tub filled with the murky, brownish red water in it...disgusting. All Keegan kept saying was that he apologizes and that it is a problem caused by the city's water main break and that they are having a lot of problems around that area. He goes on to say that it is a very unfortunate situation and apologizes again. He talked with his manager Brett and Brett said they are not able to refund my money because we did sleep in the room and they need to pay the investor. However, just remember that whatever Keegan or Brett says is for the benefit of the investors...it doesn't matter what the paying customer says or feels or experiences. All I was asking for was honesty from the beginning...tell me there were problems with the water and then I could at least make an informed decision. (This is why I call hotels directly when I book) We even asked when we checked in..."how come the place is so empty?" Their response..."we are between events." We will never stay here again and I highly suggest shopping around...you can find more for a lot less.
P.S. Yes, the water will get fixed but the dishonest property managers will still be around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FitchDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Director of Sales at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I thank you for sharing this with us and apologize for your frustration with our property. We have resolved this issue with you outside of Trip Advisor and hope that you will return to our town again in the near future.

Karen S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just got back from weekend trip to Steamboat springs,co. We chose The Steamboat Grand after going through reviews here. It's definitely worth staying in this property for many facilities it offers and location. We chose a one bedroom condo with mountain view, yes with mountain view. It had spectacular view of the mountains, good sized living area with kitchen and bedroom. You will be surprised by the size of living area. I don't know about typical hotel rooms in this property but condos are definitely spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review of The Steamboat Grand! We are honored you enjoyed the property so much you plan to return. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Grand for two nights. It was a long trip from the East Coast so we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the room, if a bit small, was. The bed was super comfortable and the spa tub was immaculately clean. Everyone we dealt with, from the man who carried our bags to the room to the front desk staff, was welcoming and helpful. We'd to go back in a heart throb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imcosmopolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean room, nice location, nice looking lobby. Spent some time at the pool which was nice. Had a great view of the lifts and went on some great hikes. Bellman where very helpful. Parking in the $5 lot is reasonable but poorly lit and a little sketchy needs fixing and definatley working lights at night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review of The Steamboat Grand! We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The grounds and facilities are in terrific, clean condition. Bell/door staff was superb, the front desk staff was hit or miss. The pool area was nice with food and drinks available. The 2 very large hot tubs were terrific. We loved our room, cozy little cubbies for the kiddos to sleep on in addition to the pull outs and many beds. Just overall impressive facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnegrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Grand. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#2 of 81 in Steamboat Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Property: The Steamboat Grand
Address: 2300 Mount Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing