We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at this large resort hotel many times. While it is getting a little dated and need of some sprucing up, the facility is still great for summer getaways. Room was fine and as in past visits the housekeeping was wonderful most days and pretty bad on the last day before we left. This has happened like clockwork the last 2 or 3 times we have stayed there. Otherwise staff is very friendly and attentive. Concierge was particularly helpful One of our party wanted to take a long horse trip that was not your usual trotting around well worn trails close to town. They recommended Steamboat Lake Outfitters and the outing was great--drove in to national forest then up to lake in wilderness area. If you have kids the pool is a god send although it gets very very crowded if weather is good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool side (west) on upper floors are good. There is a one bedroom with second bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Steamboat Grand. We are glad we could provide you with a great recommendation for horseback riding that you thoroughly enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 668 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

As the years have gone on and I've gotten more and more entrenched in San Francisco's 7x7 paradise, the thought of spending a few days outdoors became less and less appealing. Sure, I love nature, who doesn't, but I'm long over sleeping bags, tents, being cold, walking to "facilities", lack of running water and food that requires superhuman acts to prepare (i.e. making fire). For better or worse, the great outdoors had become Dolores Park and the occasional Golden Gate Park adventure.

Little did I know there was a solution to all of this. Steamboat Grand, thank you for showing me there is a way to enjoy nature without giving up the amenities of modern life. What a fabulous resort. Surrounded by breathtaking mountains, the SG enables you to tackle epic hikes during the day, only to return to heated pools, massive spas, friendly and knowledgeable staff and free wifi and parking. Did I mention the breathtaking mountain views?

Rates are reasonable, and there is no extra charge to see epic Colorado sunsets. This city boy can't wait to come back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for the superb review of The Steamboat Grand! We can't wait to welcome you back! Make sure to check out the Devil's Causeway hike next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We usually always stay at a VRBO near Steamboat Lake, but this time we decided to stay in town. We had never been to Steamboat Grand --- and it was unbelievable! We liked it even more than the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs! The staff was so friendly, the rooms were clean and nice....we even paid a small fee for a room upgrade -- and it was like a full apartment. The food was great, the pool was warm, clean and fun. In all of our years of traveling, this place was one of the most pleasant surprises! We go to Steamboat every year in the summer, and now we will only stay at the Steamboat Grand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudd80123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review of The Steamboat Grand! We are honored you liked The Grand so much you are going to make it a yearly trip. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this hotel because our team was staying here. A day before our reservation started I called and talked to Brett to see if we could upgrade our reservation, he was so pleasant and worked his magic for us. When we arrived the next day, a bit early the room was ready and amazing, also the staff was so helpful and accommodating. We stayed in a one bedroom condo, it was perfect for my husband and I, and our 3 kids (ages 14, 10 and 6). The kids had their own bathroom, the beds were so comfortable, the kitchen was perfect, everything was so clean; and the pool, all I can say is wow. You can sit in one of the two hot tubs and watch the kids swim while having a great lunch and a nice drink. It was truly a great experience, we stayed an extra day after the tournament, and we will definitely be coming back here next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMOMof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and amenities, and look forward to welcoming you back next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Summer vacation for us. Spent two nights. Beautiful place. Huge pool. Shuttle into town all day long. Plenty of parking across the street for $5 a day. Easy access to the ski area. The room was delightful. Don't order anything fancy at the coffee shop -- stick with the drip brew -- and add cream. We didn't eat any meals on site because there are a lot of fun options in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view or a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyjugert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of The Steamboat Grand! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. Seems like a high quality build with the room doors and built-ins being made of solid wood, granite countertops, etc. The service every where is excellent (except for The Cabin restaurant where service went from just okay to really good; and the food was also hit or miss there). Special thanks to Ryan at the front desk who treated us well! The pool and hot tubs are a nice size. The free shuttle to downtown is awesome!!! Ran every 15 minutes even in early summer. Easy to bike to downtown which is a few miles away; the trail mostly runs along the river, which is beautiful.

Room Tip: The king size deluxe rooms are comfortable and have a fireplace, jetted tub and balcony, but have ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeZelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for the great review of The Steamboat Grand! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came for a Memorial Day weekend getaway from our home in Golden about 3 hours drive away. We have two boys 2 and 5 years old. There was a lacrosse tournament in town and it made for a fun day trip to go watch the event and our family had a blast. The kids at the hotel were not annoying and the pool was full but not overly packed. We had a king room attached to a big room with a pull-out sofa for the kids. Very nicely decorated and a fully equipped kitchen was included. We really enjoyed the great drink service at the pool as well as the food/service at The Cabin. The food there was excellent and the bartender was really nice (order the lobster mac and the kobe burger - both were five stars!. We enjoyed our trip so much we decided to make it a annual routine to make our memorial day getaway to lovely Steamboat Springs and the awesome Steamboat Grand. Other notes: Highly recommend Freshies for breakfast, my 5 year old loved the arcade with the old school hockey game, very attentive staff (we complained about a buzzing tv with bad color and a guy immediately showed up to correct some switched wires and the tv was fixed).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 919scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience while at The Grand. We are honored you and your family enjoyed your trip so much you decided to make it an annual one! We look forward to seeing you next May!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
655 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $109 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing