We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Suites in a real Old West Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury Suites in a real Old West Town”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just seconds from a world class ski resort, the Steamboat Grand offers the finest in Luxury accommodations and superb friendly and helpful personal service. Every suite has magnificent vistas. The restaurant offerings are epicurean delights. The pool and spa are legendary. Free shuttle service is available if you want to explore the town. Whether Winter or Summer, this place has something for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amigos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and all it has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Steamboat Grand in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    196
    76
    36
    20
See reviews for
267
180
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and love the hotel. Room is very comfortable. Haven't eaten at the restaurant... but the food looked good. Kids love the pool and hot tub... especially in the winter. I must admit... the pool was actually pretty warm for being -5 degrees F. I highly recommend this hotel. Parking is $20/day or $25/day valet.... adds up. The internet service is really bad. Super slow and very intermittent.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 619-622 which face the ski mountain. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. The mountain is spectacular, isn't it? We can't wait to welcome you back to The Steamboat Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Second best Christmas only because out best Christmas occurred in the Dominican. The Grand is clean, classy, quiet, conveniently located. The Staff at the Grand are professional, friendly and helpful. Our condo was on the 5th floor over looking the entrance toward the ski slopes. We stayed in all three rooms one of which included a kitchen. The rooms have been nicely maintained and despite our unit being pet friendly it was super clean. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Director of Sales at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this awesome review. We are pleased and honored that you chose to celebrate the holidays with your family at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back this December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location is very conveniently distanced from slopes. The staff are all very friendly. Our room always had an abundance of towels, soap and other small necessities. Then, no matter which room is yours for your stay, every room has a breathtaking view it seems. Whether it is the slopes or the town, each is beautiful The only negative quality about the hotel is that it is such a spread out hotel you walk a fourth of a mile to get to your room. However, it was our second time there and I'd love to go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Director of Sales at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. As a returning guest, we greatly appreciate your patronage and can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've read lots of the past reviews on the Grand and can't find any justification for the bad ones but, I suppose it is down to personal taste. We stayed there over Christmas & New Year and totally loved it.
The desk staff are courteous and helpful but not too in your face. The shuttle service to town is amazing with the out trip being approx every 15-30 mins depending on what time of day and the return journey being whenever you call!!! It's also FREE (excl tips of course)
The rooms are stunning, we had a studio overlooking the slopes, breathtaking. One small down side to this is that you can be woken early (4am) by the snow clearing vehicles. Rooms are serviced daily and to a very high standard.
The pool and hot tub are excellent, if you find the right jet (and you'll know when you do!) will massage your aches and pains away with ease!
The food in the restaurant was very nice, always plenty at breakfast but, on several occasions they did appear to be short staffed and I noted several families waiting over 5 mins to be seated. This was never an issue to us as we just went and sat down!!
We booked our skis through the hotel and they provided an excellent service. The guys and gals in the shop really new their stuff, couldn't of been more helpful and even upgraded our package as they said we would get more fun out of the better skis!
All in all we found it a great place to spend the holidays. We will definitely be going back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeboyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Director of Sales at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed and thoughtful review of The Steamboat Grand. We look forward to welcoming you back again this December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location is really great. Staff is amazingly friendly. Bar service was terrible as it was understaffed. Bartender should have handled it better as I sat there for 10 minutes with menu in hand(that I had to grab) an he never even looked up at me to say "gimme a minute". I walked out. Breakfast buffet being only option is never good in my book. I understand why tehy do it, but I want fresh food from menu at a resort. Spa was great. Richard was fantastic for post skiing rubdown. Rooms and amenities are a bit dated, but the location is solid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingMan0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Director of Sales at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at The Steamboat Grand. While it appears as though the majority of your stay was fantastic, I do apologize for your experience at the bar. That is certainly not the standard we set for ourselves. We look forward to making your entire experience a Grand one the next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you're looking for a great location to hit the slopes, then it's hard to beat the Grand. Unfortunately, the hotel obviously relies on this. While the staff was nice and helpful, the actual infrastructure, rooms, etc., were average at best. The rooms are nothing short of spartan. For you regular hotel goers, think Hampton Inn or Fairfield Inn. Poor toweling, tattered robes, poor lighting, no refrigerator, small rooms...plain vanilla. On top of this, for those traveling with kids, they have ZERO movie options. ZERO. The front desk forwarded us to a rental place to use the in-room DVD. The pool and hot tub were fine, and we didn't use the restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dnys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us at the Steamboat Grand. It appears as you enjoyed many of our amenities including our slope side ski storage. However, it seems the room type you stayed in was not exactly what you were looking for. We offer a wide variety of room types at the Grand, from standard hotel rooms consisting of two queen beds all the way up to 5 bedroom pent houses. All of our condo units, from the one-bedroom condos to the pent houses, are fully equipped with a kitchen, living room, and dining area. We would love to have you back to the grand to experience the hotel in a unit that would be more suitable for your needs. Please contact us at 970-871-5500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#5 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#20 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Property: The Steamboat Grand
Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing