We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel near the mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is a nice choice for families in Steamboat, if you can get it at the right price. I booked through Jetsetter and got a nice rate for an off-season weekend. The Grand is quite expensive during ski season, mostly due to the proximity to the ski hill though it does have a nice spa and heated pool with two large outdoor hottubs. There are 3 in-house restaurants, but we wanted to get out and did not eat at any. The rooms are large and have guest robes, but otherwise nothing above what you would expect from a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taglio9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    193
    74
    35
    20
See reviews for
259
175
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Service at The Grand is five star to say the least. The room was fantastic/luxurious! The location is nestled beautifully by the ski slope and the view is beautiful. The entire staff is to be commended as was the food reasonably priced. We attended the Ford "Falcon Club of America) convention and it was wonderful being accommodated at The Grand Hotel! The bus to/from Steamboat Springs is free. If you need a PERFECT hotel and a great experience...do visit The Grand Hotel! You will be enchanted!

Room Tip: Call early to maike reservations, the rooms are beautiful so it really doesn't matter where your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dude_74_1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Steamboat Grand for our Anniversary weekend over Labor Day. I was torn between booking the King Suite with Kitchenette or the King with a balcony. I wish they had the larger King Suite rooms with a balcony. Sitting on the balcony enjoying views of the slopes in the summer was our favorite part of the room. The King rooms are small but ok for one night. The fireplace was a nice feature. We took advantage of the large Koehler jacuzzi tub to relax in with our wine before going out on the town. I am used to larger rooms so if money was not an object I would like to book the King Suite and the King room with the balcony for additional space. Expensive but worth it if you like having the additional space and a balcony. The facility is nice and is in walking distance to Ski Time Square. I enjoyed the steam room and the outdoor pool prior to checking out. I think if I returned to Steamboat I would rent a nice condo next time. If the Steamboat Grand was running a special on room rates I would be tempted to stay again for the amenities. The location is perfect for skiing in the winter. It is a good place to stay with kids because of the pool in the summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our suite was very spacious and affordable. The accomodations were impressive. A great place to stay with small children. A great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were on a driving vacation and wished we had planned more time at the Steamboat Grand. Staff was very helpful, room was very comfortable with large double sink vanity in bath, but my favorite was the food in The Cabin. We had a fabulous dinner with my favorites being the Sweet Corn Bisque (had great 'zing') and the Lobster Mac and Cheese which was heavenly. I thought the combo a little unusual but when the staff recommends, I will normally give it a try and were they right! it was some of the best food I have had.

The hotel was very close to the gondola and was worth the summer ride to the top. The area near the hotel is beautiful and there are lots of places to walk at the top. Didn't have an opportunity to use the pool or spa, but walked the area. Looked very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades or the amenities you want e.g. large bath, good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We took our 3 kids (7, 6 and 3) to Steamboat, CO over spring break so they could learn to ski. We were a little nervous and wanted to make the experience as easy and convenient for us as possible. It turned out to be one of the best vacations we have had a a family so far and The Steamboat Grand was a huge part in the success. The rooms are huge!!! We had a 1 bedroom and the space far exceeded our expectations. We had a full kitchen, huge dining table, fireplace, sofa bed, two day beds and plenty of room for all of our stuff. The hotel was close to the mountain, offered ski rental on the property and ski storage across the street at the base of the mountain. The pool area was also a plus for us. Once again it was large and the kids loved to swim outside after a day of skiing. We will absolutely return again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetpeasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
132 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel is huge. The pool and gym area were large and well maintained. The valet guys are great! Some rooms looked huge and well appointed. Not Mine!

They gave me the worst room in the hotel (confirmed by housekeeping). It looked just like a Comfort Inn- stark, barren, just enough- two beds, some TV channels, sparse furniture. We saw rooms with kitchens, living room areas, suites... Our room made the hotel seem like a dump. Too bad.

The hotel's location is great for skiing, maybe not for downtown (but there are no good hotels downtown- why?). I may have left a better review, but our room sucked! The hotel wasn't full, so why make an impressionable customer feel unvalued. Dopes!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs Suites
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboa...
#9 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Property: The Steamboat Grand
Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-9027
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing