We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sent a sheriff to my table when i complained about the service”
Review of The Truffle Pig

The Truffle Pig
Reserve with OpenTable
The Truffle Pig is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: At One Steamboat Place
Transit: On the free bus route. Located at the gondola square bus terminal.
Description: You will not find a more convenient place to dine or apres after a day on the slopes than Truffle Pig, Which is located at the base of the ski area, adjacent to One Steamboat Place and the gondola. Featuring casual American Alpine Cuisine crafted from the freshest ingredients, Truffle Pig offers the most indulgent Apres Ski scenes around, including an inviting atmosphere, live entertainment, drink specials and compelling mouth-watering menu items. Apres Ski ... 2: 30Pm - 5:30 pm daily: $ 2 Sessions, $ 2.50 Fat Tires, $ 3 Imperials; $ 5 Margaritas and Sangrias; All Wine by the Glass are half price Come nestle in beside a warm fire on the outside deck and take in the stunning views of the Steamboat Ski Area while enjoying Apres Ski or the lunch break from the slopes. The lunch offerings are fresh and appealing to even the most discerning palate. Popular items include; Salmon BLT Wrap with tomato aioli; Kale & Farro Salad with roasted chickpeas and an orange - sage vinaigrette; The Adult Grilled Cheese with served a cup of tomato bisque and a mixed green salad; Steak Frites complimented with our housemade chimichurri; and a variety of house fired pizzas. As the evening approaches, settle in for an experience que fits your personal desire. A quiet romantic dinner or a festive meal with family and friends, all prepared by executive chef Dean Martin and his team. "We're approachable to all palates, from families to Those looking for a great fine dining experience," says co-owner Scott Engelman, adding que its warm atmosphere, fresh fare and complimentary valet parking have made The Truffle Pig locals true ' favorite.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

today i took a party of eight to this restauarant for lunch. the wait staff did not bring one of the entrees and one of the sides with the rest of the mains. 30 minutes later, all of our party had finished their meals, and still these two items had not appeared. during this period, no one came to our table to tell us anything, to apologize, or what not. finally we flagged the waiter down and told him to forget it, we couldn't want any longer. ten minutes later, the owner appeared with the one of the missing items. we told him we didn't want it, and he was quite put out with us. then, a plainsclothes deputy sheriff appeared at able, and threatened to arrest me for disorderly conduct.

needless to say, never will i return to this restaurant. i don't come to steamboat springs to be threatened with arrest for complaining about shoddy service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank davidsteakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacon B, Owner at The Truffle Pig, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We are terribly sorry that Mr. Steakley encountered an unfortunate experience while trying to dine with us at Truffle Pig. We know that some of our visiting customers during the holiday week are on edge and may be stressed to no end. However, we must clarify what Mr. Steakley actually encountered during his visit.

He did in fact receive less than perfect service, as one of our servers did forget to ring in a sausage flatbread. We did bring the flatbread out to the table within 7 minutes., and upon delivering the flatbread, which I personally did myself, Mr Steakley went into an uncontrolled rage by screaming about the service. He used the most incorrigible profanity and was making other tables quite uncomfortable. I asked that he refrain from the profanity, particularly with children present, however he refused to do so.

I informed him that we would take the item off of his bill, but he continued into a rage, and knowing there was nothing else I could do, I left the table to adjust his bill. We also provided him with a $50 gift certificate as an act of good will. He took that card and destroyed it on the spot.

It was not until later that day when I received a profanity laced email from Mr Steakley that targeted our service and included a comment about our sending a deputy sheriff over to the table. Although the Truffle Pig had no involvement in the Deputy Sheriff going to the table, this did in fact happen. I received a call from the Deputy Sheriff, who happened to be dining in the restaurant with his family while off duty. He took it upon himself to go over and mitigate the situation by identifying himself and informing Mr Steakley that he would be removed from the restaurant and arrested for disorderly conduct if he could not refrain from his uncontrolled outbursts. The Deputy Sheriff did file a report that is on record.

We are truly sorry that Mr Steakley did not have the experience that had hoped for, but we made an honest mistake and tried to immediately rectify it on the spot. We hope that Mr Steakley will give our restaurant another chance, and we would welcome him in if he chooses to do so.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 378 of 487 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The attention shown by the staff and their training and professionalism really make for a wonderful experience. Our third visit in as many years and while each time has shown us some changes-both in the restaurant itself and the menu-the original spirit and attention to detail is all still there. This year the salmon was outstanding! The tomato basil soup with the applewood smokiness hit it out of the park. When one plate was not perfect-it was immediately whisked away and replaced with perfection. The crown of our visit this year had to be the chocolate lava cake with the blood orange. Exquisite. These offerings are thought through and balanced very well. Just the right amount of savory and sweet. Great salads and veggies-the haricot vert were perfectly crispy! The communication with the staff was superb and from the beginning of the meal we felt like we were in excellent hands and looking forward to the "voyage" of the meal with warmth and skill on our side. A wonderful experience AGAIN. Thank you for your attention to detail and persistent attempts helping us make great memories every year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crzymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've called Steamboat our winter home for the past ten years and were one of the early visitors to Truffle Pig when it opened in 2010. We've been faithful diners and have enjoyed their apres ski at least ten times over the past few years. We were really looking forward to returning this season. However, we visited just a few days ago and were surprised with the change in management and more importantly the dismissive and disrespectful service we received and witnessed. There are plenty of examples we could share, but perhaps the best example was when we asked if the outdoor heaters could be turned on. We had to physically walk the hostess outside to point out the ceiling-mounted heaters and she just explained "Oh, we don't run those anymore. New management.". Well, after that we just left and don't plan to return. A really sad decline for a great space in a wonderful location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

For the price, the food is ok. The service is nice, the ambiance is nice and the location is nice. We were just not thrilled with the flavor of the dishes. Not a thing was wrong with any of the meals, they just did not have a lot of flavor. The price is high as well. However, it's at the base of the ski slopes, so you're paying for location.

Staff is very nice though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After several trips here... If it weren't for the slopeside location this place would already be gone. Expensive, mediocre service and menu. Witnessed terrible attitude from the manager toward a group of guests and now they close for 9 weeks both spring and fall? Done with this one. Steamboat has many great restaurants that offer better food and value. And they are ALL open right now...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MC12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Truffle Pig also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Truffle Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing