We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, disappointing menu”
Review of Sweetwater Grill - CLOSED

Sweetwater Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 8th
Transit: One block from Lincoln Ave (Rt 40 or sometimes referred to as Main St) at approximately 8th and Yampa St.
Description: Sweetwater Grill is a casual family dining restaurant bringing a new vibe to the Valley on the beautiful Yampa River. Our newly remodeled restaurant and lounge is the definition of modern casual elegance. Enjoy affordable New American cuisine created by our chefs incorporating many seasonal and locally grown products. You can also join us for happy hour and live acoustic music on our amazing new roof top deck overlooking the river. We also feature a lower deck and contemporary lounge all of which offer a unique, fun atmosphere from which to choose. Open seven days per week serving lunch and dinner year round. We look forward to serving you!
Round Rock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing menu”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

One year ago I raved about this restaurant which was newly opened. Therefore we returned expecting the same wonderful food and dining experience. The menu has changed, so it did not offer choices that were at the top of our list. Nevertheless, we ordered and were satisfied with the quality. Because of several large groups there that evening, the service from the kitchen was slow, but we did not mind because of the celebratory nature of our family gathering. I think you will be satisfied if you choose to dine there. The view of Howelsen Hill is an attractive draw.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    25
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
flagstaff, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Steamboat”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

On the third night of my vacation, my boyfriend and I went to the Sweetwater Grille and had the best experience! My partner had the burger and it was big, juicy sirlion burger on a brioche bun. Definitely not a frozen patty. The waffle fries that came with the burger were outstanding. I enjoyed the salmon plate. The salmon was cooked perfectly and came with capers, tomatoes, and crackers. The server was extrememly knowledgable about the menu and local hotspots. Afterwards, we moved to the bar and I had the most wonderful drink - Jerry's Berry's. The bartender was an absolute delight and fun. the atomsphere was fun and very hip. The perfect place for a dinner and drink (especially by the outdoor fire pit).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour in the Boat”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We always do multiple happy hours at Sweetwater Grill each time we're in Steamboat (2-3 times per ski season). 4-6pm half price anything in the bar and $2-$4 excellent appetizer menu that changes each time we visit. The bar area is very relaxing with your choice of seating types - bar, high top tables, or couches near the fireplace, with views of skiers/jumpers on Howelson. Friendly management and very attentive and friendly wait staff.

Can't miss.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CTKoehrsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steamboat springs
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere on the river”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The outdoor seating was wonderful, in cooler temps they have a gas fireplace to sit by.
The inside seating was nice as well. It had a very chic feeling.
I was happy with the food, smiple selections tastefully done.
Do get a local's card when you are here.
And check the schedule for live music!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank mrdonlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Country, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Review only based on wine/cocktails”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Marginal wine list, and cocktails were weak and overpriced. I didn't eat anything so this review does not rate the food at all. Good atmosphere though.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ski_bum_momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Grill also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing