We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just left Trailhead Lodge at Steamboat. It was more money than I had hoped to pay, but it was worth every penny. We had 2 families one of 4 and one of 5. We each had a one bedroom plus den and had plenty of room. The place was fantastic! The rooms were huge, clean and very stylish. The kitchen was stocked with everything and the appliances were new and nice. Very quiet, never heard a sound from anyone in the place. I loved having a washer and dryer in my room. The service was excellent. The private gondola up to the main square was very easy and fast. We rented our gear at Fleischer Sport which is just as you get off the gondola from the hotel. When you wanted to go somewhere else, the FREE shuttle took you anywhere and was just a call away. My only complaint was the pillows were too soft for me. (had to dig deep to find that one) We go to Steamboat about every other year and I WILL stay here again and again. Great job!!!!

Room Tip: take advantage of the washer and dryer and don't over pack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you decided to stay with us and you found your decision to be worth every penny! It is great to hear that you found your unit to be clean, stylish, well stocked, and that you found the property to be quiet during a busy spring break time period. Upon your next visit, please do not hesitate to ask the front desk for another set of pillows and we will deliver them promptly. I look forward to seeing you again soon! Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    38
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
142
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First of all, thanks to everyone else who provided feedback about their experience at the Trailhead Lodge. This way, without a doubt, the most convenience ski experience I've ever had--and it's not even a ski-in/ski-out property! You literally put your boots on in a secured storage area where they're warmed overnight, ride an elevator up a floor, grav your skis off of a rack, and walk 50 feet to a private gondola that drops you 100 yards from the Steamboat gondola entrance--unreal!

We stayed in a studio; perfect for a couple, manageable if you had a young child that could sleep on the couch. Furnhishings in each unit are excellent; hardwood floors, granite countertops, the kitchenette was perfect for our needs.

Common area facilities were also terrific; the gym, heated pool, hot tubs, and locker rooms were great. There's also a gameroom with a pool table, foosball table, and other board games for use.

The hotel also provides a free shuttle to take you into downtown Steamboat or up to the base area--super convenient; we enjoyed having the choice of a car (free parking) or the shuttle.

We plan to get back here one day soon--and I'm planning to find out about the availability of units to purchase in the other buildings!

Thanks to Todd and his staff for a trip we won't be forgetting anytime soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found Trailhead to provide a convenient ski experience with our boot drying room, our gondola, our amenities, and our shuttle service. I certainly hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another memorable vacation sometime soon and I thank you for staying with us. Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from a six night stay in a 3 Bedroom 3 Bath Condo at Trailhead Lodge. It was the best ski vacation we have ever taken. The facility is beautiful - New and Clean. Location is great. Gondola makes life simple. Shuttles are nice, but enclosed parking is also a plus. Will stay here again in the future. Pools and Hot Tubs are great. A nice quite atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a great view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFamilyof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am so pleased to read that you had the best ski vacation you have ever taken while staying with us. I am glad you found our property new and clean, the location and our amenities great, and that we provided the atmosphere you were looking for. I am glad you plan to stay with us in the future and look forward to your next visit.-Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Somewhat shattered by the pace and chaos of life in the San Francisco Bay Area, I was soothed and pampered by the extraordinary staff at Trailhead Lodge. The 1 - bedroom accomodation of owner Neil O'Keeffe was spacious, immaculate, with stunning worked wood stained mahogany floors, and equally glorious doors. Other condos go up to 3 BDR and 2 Bath for larger groups.

Three hot tubs were a constant "must"; never made it into the pool, nor the game room and newly equipped gym. But used the private woman's locker room. Fully accoutered kitchen complimented by lobby coffee and doughnuts. And where else is there a private gondola to the center of the ski area? Or free shuttle to wherever you need to go whenever you want it. I am fully uplifted by having stayed here.

Dr Alexandra Post

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am so pleased to see that you were pampered by the staff during your respite from the Bay Area and that you were uplifted by your experience. I will certainly share with the staff your comments, and I hope to have you with us again for a future visit! Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After a great stay last year, we couldn't wait to return! It was so nice to be welcomed by many of the staff who remembered us from last year. The facilities are fantastic-the hot beverage bar in the lobby was a favorite of our daughter who loved having hot chocolate after playing in the snow, swimming and hot tubbing or skiing. The Trailhead shuttle was super fast picking us up at the Ice Castle when we were freezing! Our only recommendation would be to add recycling containers in the units to make separating trash and recyclables easier. Our condo was wonderful-the beds were comfortable, kitchen was well equipped and our view was incredible. Already looking forward to our next visit. Many thanks to the great staff for making our stay so great.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is great-higher ceilings and no one overhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtocameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am very pleased you decided to come back and visit us again this year and that the staff welcomed you upon your return. I am glad you again found the property, shuttle service, and units up to par. Many thanks to YOU for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again for your third visit! Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Trailhead Lodge was great. Access to the slopes couldn't have been easier via the adjacent gondola and the boot room with ventilated shelves was a nice touch. We had a studio room for two of us and it was well sized but could have used some additional storage. I would recommend and return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDonlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see you found our property to have great slope access and a friendly staff. Our boot drying room is certainly a great feature after a long day on the mountain. Please come back and see us again upon your next visit to Steamboat.-Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family and I vacationed in Steamboat springs for a week 2 winters in a row. We decided to give Trailhead Lodge a try due to all the good reviews from Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. From beginning to end, we were always well treated by an attentive staff.

The public areas of the lodge were always meticulously clean and our rooms were roomy with all the modern conveniences. We were upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom because of a travel deal we are enrolled in. Trailhead lodge didn't balk about it or try to dodge it. With availability they happily upgraded us. It was a day late but I believe there was just some misunderstanding. They apologized for it and we were were moved early the next day before our day of skiing even began. Even the studio room was nicely appointed and would have been a bit tight for two people but the 1 bedroom was WAY more comfortable and we were so happy to have been upgraded.

There is a free gondola from the entrance of the lodge that gets you to base of the ski resort. Your skis/board are housed in a rack right in front of the lodge so that you never have to carry your gear very far. Your boots are stored in a separate room with boot dryer racks. Both VERY NICE perk so you don't have to shlep all your crap back up to your room. You wouldn't want to anyway with the nice hardwood like floors in your room.

There were 24 hour hot fluids like coffee,tea, hot chocolate available in the lobby. Breakfast time, there were donuts available as well. There was a substantial outdoor heated pool. My husband used the hot tubs( I think there were 3)every evening after skiing. Warning....highly chlorinated! He smelled of chlorine for the rest of the night even after a shower. The gym facility was very nice. It had up to date cardio machines, free weights and weight machines. There were barbecue grills outside available for times you may not want to cook inside.

The free shuttle was another nice perk. No worries about renting a car to get around. In the lodge, you just call to schedule the shuttle and it will take you to the market to shop for food or into town to visit and shop or for restaurant reservations. Outside, If you plan it just right, you don't even have to wait long for the shuttles to come pick you up. One afternoon, the shuttle bypassed us twice and thus we ended up waiting about 45 min total for the shuttle to finally pick us up. That sucked, because it was uber cold that day. When we got back to the lodge, management called and again apologized for the miscommunication.

The kitchens in these condos are beautiful and for the most part well stocked as far as pots and pans and coking utensils. I mean we are talking about luxury 2 bedroom 2 bath condos, not a dinky motel room. We found that if we wanted to cook in, we woud need to buy all our seasonings as well. Our room didn't even have salt and pepper. We called down for them and they did bring that up. Usually condos have a kitchen that is somewhat stocked with some cooking oils and spices. We had to go buy everything and then what do with the extra? Drag it back home in our luggage or waste it and toss it?? So, that was annoying!

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Trailhead Lodge and we would gladly come back , but be prepared to bring our kitchen cooking needs.

Room Tip: We were in room 3112 and in the bedroom, we pretty much heard water running through a "water he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firepois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I was pleased to read that you found Trailhead to be meticulously clean, the staff was attentive to your needs, and that you had a wonderful stay. I appreciate your comments regarding our hot tubs and our unit spices. Our automatic feeders normally hold the chlorine levels very stable but they do require adjustments periodically and I will make our maintenance department aware. I hope to have you with us when you travel to Steamboat again.
Todd Siefken-
General Manager-generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#8 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#1 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ski Inn Condominiums
Ski Inn Condominiums
#39 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#24 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing