We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Convenient”
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Interlaken
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New and Convenient”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a 5 night stay in early February. The gondola and resort shuttle were excellent, and the drivers were so friendly and helpful. We used the shuttle to go to the supermarket and also to visit downtown Steamboat and look at the shops and bars. The room was well equiped and modern, not quite as nice as in the photos but still very nice. Housekeeping was non existent (it was supposed to be every 2 days but they didn't even make the beds even when I mentioned to the front desk), not a big deal but a bit disappointing, there were lollies and rubbish from the previous guests under the coffee table and sofa. Hotel was half empty, I think they still have a few condos which haven't been sold, meant it was nice and quiet. The gondala makes it easy to get up the mountain first thing and looking at some of the other condos in town it wasn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I sincerely apologize for the sub-par housekeeping services that you received. It is our goal for each department to exceed every one of our guest’s expectations, every time. If you allow us another opportunity to have you with us in the future, I would expect our services to be flawless.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
139
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We generally plan two ski trips each season. It was our first time in Steamboat and Trailhead had great reviews so we decided to give it a try. We reserved through Steamboat Resorts and got a 3 bed plus den (which has a queen pullout sofa) 4 bath unit.

Once we arrived on property check in was a fast and easy. They had our lift tickets at the front desk as requested. We were the first family to stay in the unit. Beautiful view of the mountain from 2 of the bedrooms, the living room/dining room and kitchen. We had a minor hiccup with the phone but it was fixed. As we were the first family there were a few items that were missing in the kitchen but the staff brought everything up right after we called. The only downside to staying at Trailhead is the cleaning service that comes every other day. It is not consistent-one day terrible and another day great. I brought it up to the Manager and I think he took it personal. The Manager takes great pride in the property and genuinely cares about his guests. I saw him clearing ice off a sidewalk during a snowstorm!! The rest of the staff is great as well. Very helpful and always smiling and offering to help.

The property is right next to the gondola which will take you right to the base of the mountain. It is just as good as ski in ski out!! In the morning there is coffee and donuts in the lobby which our kids loved and is a very nice touch for all guests. Don't hesitate to book this property.

I would highly recommend Truffle Pig at the base of the mountain for lunch or dinner. We also enjoyed Old Town Pub, Creekside, Freshies and Oar House.

We liked Steamboat so much we bought a fractional at One Steamboat Place.

Room Tip: Obviously request a room with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imafrequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. your review. I do take the operations of Trailhead Lodge seriously and appreciate your feedback. We constantly address the service levels in each department and hope to remedy any deficiencies. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much that you now own real estate in Steamboat.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Really just a wonderful place to stay. Incredibly convenient with a fantastic staff. A few of the touches that put it over the top. The shuttle really removes any need for a car (or any other vehicle support). They get where you need to go as soon as they can, and they get you back quickly and efficiently too. The hot tubs/pool are great, and the robes for kids are really nice touch. The boot drying room, and incredibly convenient ski storage are wonderful.
BUT it is the spectacular staff who really make the place. Big thanks to Chris, Merlin, Cat, Kate, Corrine, Bob, and everyone else I missed...for making it one of best stays anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardscrabble34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for the review. Making you comfortable and creating the experience that allows you to enjoy your time at our property and in Steamboat is what we’re about - thank you for allowing us to do that. The fact that we were able to make your stay one of the best anywhere means a lot. I will be sure to let the individuals you mentioned know of the impact they had on your visit and hope to see you again real soon.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went to Trailhead on our honeymoon, they put us in a top floor one bedroom unit with a seperate tub and shower and vaulted ceilings, my wife loved it! The staff was extremely curtious and helpful and they have free shuttle service to anywhere in town. The gondola to the hill is right outside the door and very convienient. Hot tubs were great (there are 3, which is nice) and don't make it feel crowded. Overall it was great, I would highly recommend staying here, best bang for your buck if you want a a great hotel without spending through the roof.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerbs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you decided to stay with us for your honeymoon and that the staff was courteous and helpful. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed our gondola and amenities. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to get the opportunity to have you with us again in the future!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The staff at this resort consistently went out of their way to be helpful. We arrived with a slight problem with our reservation( which was our fault) and they immediately went out of their way to help us and find us a room. I loved the skiing but I really loved the hotel and the people!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found the staff to be so helpful and accommodating. It is certainly our goal to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful time while visiting us, and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you with us for a future visit. If I can assist with your planning in anyway please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This lodge had the best customer service I have ever had, people were wonderful, perfect views, very convienent place to ski and have a night out into town. The shuttle service was amazing! I would recommend this place for any family! I look forward to coming back here as soon as I can!!! Had a BLAST!! Everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrinkles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am extremely pleased to see that the staff at Trailhead provided you with the best customer service that you have ever experienced. I will be certain to forward your comments to everyone, we all take great pride in what we do and reading your comments affirms our commitment to providing the best in customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Trailhead Lodge.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have been skiing as a family for 5 straight years now. We have visited Beaver Creek, Aspen and Steamboat. Hands down our experience at Trailhead Lodge has been the best yet.
First is the staff. The greeting at the door, the check-in and help to room are all what we would expect from a 5 star hotel. Once in our 3 room unit we knew that this was a very special place. Our home for the week was large and comfortable. It seemed to be quite new and it had everything we needed.
Kids loved the doughnuts and hot chocolate in the lobby each morning and the cookies in the afternoon. We all loved the spas (there are 3) and the swimming pool.
Shuttle service is highly organized by the front desk staff. During President's Week we never waited more than 10-15 minutes for a shuttle (by contrast we had many nights in Beaver Creek of waiting over 45 minutes for shuttle service during the same time last year).
Everyone here is so very nice and no request is overlooked. The property is immaculate. The gondola on site right to the middle of the ski area base makes this literally the perfect location- especially with small children when the parents are carrying loads of ski gear each day.
We will be booking again for next year. Thanks to all here at Trailhead Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkracerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that your recent visit was so enjoyable and that the staff provided you with 5 star service. They are very customer service oriented and I am pleased they took such good care of you and your family. We look forward to your visit next winter!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#2 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#7 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#12 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#24 of 79 in Steamboat Springs
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing