We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This lodge was the most perfect, romantic stay for me and my husband” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“This lodge was the most perfect, romantic stay for me and my husband”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This lodge had the best customer service I have ever had, people were wonderful, perfect views, very convienent place to ski and have a night out into town. The shuttle service was amazing! I would recommend this place for any family! I look forward to coming back here as soon as I can!!! Had a BLAST!! Everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrinkles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am extremely pleased to see that the staff at Trailhead provided you with the best customer service that you have ever experienced. I will be certain to forward your comments to everyone, we all take great pride in what we do and reading your comments affirms our commitment to providing the best in customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Trailhead Lodge.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
138
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have been skiing as a family for 5 straight years now. We have visited Beaver Creek, Aspen and Steamboat. Hands down our experience at Trailhead Lodge has been the best yet.
First is the staff. The greeting at the door, the check-in and help to room are all what we would expect from a 5 star hotel. Once in our 3 room unit we knew that this was a very special place. Our home for the week was large and comfortable. It seemed to be quite new and it had everything we needed.
Kids loved the doughnuts and hot chocolate in the lobby each morning and the cookies in the afternoon. We all loved the spas (there are 3) and the swimming pool.
Shuttle service is highly organized by the front desk staff. During President's Week we never waited more than 10-15 minutes for a shuttle (by contrast we had many nights in Beaver Creek of waiting over 45 minutes for shuttle service during the same time last year).
Everyone here is so very nice and no request is overlooked. The property is immaculate. The gondola on site right to the middle of the ski area base makes this literally the perfect location- especially with small children when the parents are carrying loads of ski gear each day.
We will be booking again for next year. Thanks to all here at Trailhead Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkracerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that your recent visit was so enjoyable and that the staff provided you with 5 star service. They are very customer service oriented and I am pleased they took such good care of you and your family. We look forward to your visit next winter!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

this was our 1st time to Steamboat having done most of our family ski trips to Summit County (Copper, Breckenridge, Keystone). We were extremely happy with the whole experience and the Trailhead Lodge was a key ingredient. While not on mountain, the dedicated Wildhorse Gondola practically made it feel like you were on mountain. The staff is EXTREMELY customer friendly making the service outstanding. We did not have a car so had to make use of the Trailhead shuttle service which, like everything else, was provided at our convenience with a smile. We had other families (totalling 20+ adults and children) in the Trailhead this year and it was like one big sleepover with the rooms having enough room for community dinners. The game room, pool, hot tubs and free hot chocolate made it a kids delight. Our group have already decided that we will be coming back to Steamboat and Trailhead Lodge next year.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the pool and up the moutain. we had a room that faced the gondola so the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raoul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that your first visit to Steamboat was successful and that the amenities at Trailhead - and the customer service the staff provided - played such a large part. We look forward to having you with us again next year!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at Trailhead Lodge. As long as we are going to Steamboat , we will never stay anywhere else. The rooms are sleek, clean and comfortable. The location of the condo to Ski Time Square can't be beat with Trailhead's own gondola. And the staff?.---Awesome! It was so hard to leave for home that we're already planning a longer stay for next year. Thanks Trailhead Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JQTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found the property to be clean and comfortable, and that the location was ideal for you and your family. I am also pleased that the staff took such good care of you that you are planning to stay with us again next year. We look forward to seeing you again!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We've stayed at slopeside at Steamboat for the last 2 years, but we decided to give Trailhead Lodge a try this winter. While you can't ski in/ ski out, the Wildhorse Gondola picks you up in front of Trailhead Lodge and drops you right in the main plaza at the base. It was an easy walk with kids (over age 8) and skis, and more convenient than boarding a shuttle bus. At the end of the day, take the Wildhorse Gondola back down to Trailhead, drop your equipment on racks at the front, and leave your boots in the boot drying racks before heading up to your condo -- couldn't be easier. Unlike slopeside accomodations, It is quiet at night -- no waking up to hear the snow groomers beeping or running by your window at 5:00 am. The condo itself was new construction, clean, with nice touches like terry robes and good quality bedding. I think we may have found a new winter favorite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. The staff has worked hard to make sure all guests have a memorable, relaxing stay and hopefully that is reflected when you say that you may have found a new favorite place to stay during your winter visits.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Trailhead Lodge was a great place to stay while skiing at Steamboat Springs. Facility was clean and functional. Staff was excellant and met us at the front door when we arrived. Outdoor hot tubs at the end of the day felt great. We rented studio and it was perfect for the two of us. A big plus was the resort Gondola to the slopes, it was only maybe 75 yards from the front entrance. If we go back to Steamboat would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found the property clean and functional. I am also pleased to see that the staff took good care of you and that the hot tubs helped after a day of skiing. We hope to have you with us again if you make it back to Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Having returned to Australia just this morning after staying at Trailhead for 11 nights, I thought while it was fresh I would like to let you know that we had one of the best family holidays we have ever had. Everything was fantastic and the kids had a ball. Not only was the accommodation 10 out of 10 the staff really went out of their way to make our stay what it was, from Kat and Bob on the desk, the guys at the gondola to Mike in the shuttle it was really special.

So the summary is we loved it and will return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms in trailhead are great, wether it is a view of the private gondola, the pool/hot tubs or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am very pleased to hear that you had one of your best family vacations while staying with us. That means a lot to us! I will be sure to let all of the staff know how happy you were with your unit as well as the service they provided. We look forward to having you with us next year upon your return to Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#6 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.3 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#11 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#18 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#8 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboat Springs Suites
Legacy Vacation Resorts Steamboa...
#9 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing