We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivals ski in/ ski out”
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
denver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rivals ski in/ ski out”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We've stayed at slopeside at Steamboat for the last 2 years, but we decided to give Trailhead Lodge a try this winter. While you can't ski in/ ski out, the Wildhorse Gondola picks you up in front of Trailhead Lodge and drops you right in the main plaza at the base. It was an easy walk with kids (over age 8) and skis, and more convenient than boarding a shuttle bus. At the end of the day, take the Wildhorse Gondola back down to Trailhead, drop your equipment on racks at the front, and leave your boots in the boot drying racks before heading up to your condo -- couldn't be easier. Unlike slopeside accomodations, It is quiet at night -- no waking up to hear the snow groomers beeping or running by your window at 5:00 am. The condo itself was new construction, clean, with nice touches like terry robes and good quality bedding. I think we may have found a new winter favorite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. The staff has worked hard to make sure all guests have a memorable, relaxing stay and hopefully that is reflected when you say that you may have found a new favorite place to stay during your winter visits.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    38
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
142
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Trailhead Lodge was a great place to stay while skiing at Steamboat Springs. Facility was clean and functional. Staff was excellant and met us at the front door when we arrived. Outdoor hot tubs at the end of the day felt great. We rented studio and it was perfect for the two of us. A big plus was the resort Gondola to the slopes, it was only maybe 75 yards from the front entrance. If we go back to Steamboat would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found the property clean and functional. I am also pleased to see that the staff took good care of you and that the hot tubs helped after a day of skiing. We hope to have you with us again if you make it back to Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Having returned to Australia just this morning after staying at Trailhead for 11 nights, I thought while it was fresh I would like to let you know that we had one of the best family holidays we have ever had. Everything was fantastic and the kids had a ball. Not only was the accommodation 10 out of 10 the staff really went out of their way to make our stay what it was, from Kat and Bob on the desk, the guys at the gondola to Mike in the shuttle it was really special.

So the summary is we loved it and will return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms in trailhead are great, wether it is a view of the private gondola, the pool/hot tubs or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am very pleased to hear that you had one of your best family vacations while staying with us. That means a lot to us! I will be sure to let all of the staff know how happy you were with your unit as well as the service they provided. We look forward to having you with us next year upon your return to Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The building is only 2 years old. Currently it is very nice, and most people probably would not notice the small details that bugged me. My husband and I rented a 1 bedroom condo. It was appropriately furnished, however usually condos are owned and have a more personal touch. This one did not, it was more "hotel" feel. All the photos were stock photos that we saw repeated in the lobby and in the boot room down stairs. The unit was clean. The kitchen was well appointed with cooking necessities (only 2 days worth of coffee, but the lobby had free coffee each day). The room was quiet. In a 5 night stay, I only heard the neighbor talking one time (I have exquisitely sensitive hearing) and we did hear children running down the hall once at 8:30pm. My only true complaint is that our room was on the 4th floor and we had to leave the balcony door or a window open to keep the temperature below 70 degrees (it was in the 20s outside). There was a deck of cards, a board game, and a puzzle in the room. There was a TV in the living and the bedroom. Sheets had a small amount of pilling on the sheets. Housekeeping came every other day on week days while we were there. We really liked the washer/dryer in the room. There was a multi-use box of detergent.
There is storage for your skis and a boot room for ski boots with a dryer/warmer for the boots. We did not use parking, but the shuttle from the hotel to anywhere in town was far beyond my expectations. Once we wanted to go someplace downtown and the shuttle would be a few minutes coming back and the manager drove us in the condo's private van. We did not try the pool, but there are three hot tubs with a fire pit in the middle. We used these daily and were impressed. There is a thick cotton robe in your room to make the run from the tub to the locker room more tolerable in the 20 degree weather. We used the game room frequently to play pool. Only once were we run out of the game room by a gaggle of young children. In the game room there was chess, checkers, bat-gammon, a cantankerous Wii with only Wii fit and Wii Sport, and a pool table.
The second greatest asset of this lodge is the gondola that is steps from the hotel entrance and drops you about 100 feet from the gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain. It ran from 8am - 6pm. We had a ski-in condo last year for lots more money and this was just as good and quieter as it's farther from all the activity.
The lodge's greatest asset is their front desk staff! The staff was always professional (even when being accosted by an anxious father-of-the-bride). The staff was always helpful and professional. I have no complaints of the staff including the shuttle drivers.

Room Tip: Our room was 4106 and it was about 2-3 doors from the elevator and was very quiet. It was not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased that you found the property clean and that the kitchen in your unit was well appointed. I am sorry to hear that the heat in your unit was a challenge. I will certainly look into that matter with our Maintenance department and I will also review the pilling on the sheets with our Housekeeping Manager. Lastly, I will be sure to forward your comments onto the front desk staff and the bellmen as I am sure they will be happy to hear their services were appreciated.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

A top notch property. Very nice staff, gorgeous rooms and the facilities are the best. From the boot storage room with the very nice boot dryers, to the skis being valeted to the front door, and then crowned with the private gondola to take you to the Steamboat base, it's all marvelous.

Room Tip: The one bedroom, with a den and hide-a-bed, is a great value if you don't mind sharing a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewP5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found the property, the staff, the units and the overall facilities top notch. We would certainly love to have you with us again in the future.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edison nj
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a wonderful property. In the morning, you can put your boots on in the boot room (where they have been stored overnight on drying shelves!) Then take the private gondola that is located on the property to whisk you to the main base.After skiing, soak in one of the three hot tubs. There is also a heated outdoor pool, and a nice gym if skiing wasn't enough exercise for you. A car is not needed. There is a shuttle to take you anywhere you'd like to go nearby or into town (only about a 10 min. drive.)
Supermarket is nearby. There are even some BBQ's on the property if you want to grill your dinner. All the furnishings and finishes are of the highest quality. Marble and granite throughout, double sinks in bathroom, wood floors, etc. Staff is professional, courteous and very helpful. If we return to Steamboat, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found the features of our property to be so nice. I am even happier to hear that the staff was professional, courteous, very helpful and that they took good care of you. We hope to have you with us again if you make it back to Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We just got back from staying and Skiing a week at Trailhead Lodge or Some call it WildHorse Meadows. The property is great! The property is new and neatly furnished. The resort has a private Gondola that takes you right to the base of the Steamboat Ski Facility. The rooms are clean, the amenities (Outdoor Hot tubs, Game room, Exercise room, Pool etc) are great! The staff (especially Kat, Cerison, Todd and Mike) were friendly and very informative. Trailhead has a private shuttle service to take you into town to shop, dine or for sightseeing... The Facility is worth going to. We are defiantly going to return...:) A++++++

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom with Den has lots of space with twin Queen beds..(Fold out in Den)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased that you found the property to be neatly furnished, clean and that you enjoyed our amenities. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff and especially the individuals you mentioned. We look forward having you with us again upon your return.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#4 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torian Plum Condominiums
Torian Plum Condominiums
#8 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#6 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#1 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ski Inn Condominiums
Ski Inn Condominiums
#28 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
The West Condominiums
The West Condominiums
#24 of 78 in Steamboat Springs
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing