We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, new resort with its own gondola.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trailhead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, new resort with its own gondola.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed Trailhead Lodge over a long weekend. Very well appointed rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the boot room and ski storage. Pool and hot tubs were just right. The gondola is a fun way to get to and from the base. Shuttle drivers quickly got us around since we had no car. Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found our units well appointed and the staff friendly and helpful. We hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
138
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

When your wife's first word upon entering the room is "wow" you know you have chosen well. Modern, nice, clean, new units. Great location. Private gondola to the base area is uber convenient. Staff was great with shuttle service when and where you wanted to go. Will definitely stay here again on the next trip to Steamboat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rswheeler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to hear that you found our units modern, nice and clean. Our staff strives to provide our guests with the best experience possible and since you plan to stay with us again upon your next visit to Steamboat, I will assume we accomplished our goal!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This lodge is a gem!! This was our third ski trip to Steamboat and the Trailhead Lodge is by far the best place we have stayed. The staff is very helpful and extremely friendly. Our studio condo was just the right size for my husband and I. Having a stacked washer and dryer in the condo was the best. We could have packed half of what we did. The Lodge does provide a small box of detergent, but I brought my own "all in one sheets" to be on the safe side. Trailhead Lodge is not within walking distance to anything, but no worries, the very prompt on-call shuttle will take you to wherever you want to go. A couple of our favorite amenities were the grotto style hot tubs and the boot dryer. Granted, this place is a little pricier than other places you can stay, but remember, you get what you pay for. I can guarantee that when we return to Steamboat we will stay at the Trailhead Lodge again.
Food recommendations: Ski down to the Slopeside Grill for lunch. It's better and cheaper than anything on the mountain. Head to Carl's Tavern for dinner. This place is fairly new and fantastic!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to hear that it is the best place you have stayed and that the staff took such good care of you. We strive to provide exemplary customer service in every way. We look forward to having you with us again upon your return to Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I had read tons of reviews (not just on Trailhead) and wanted a relaxing, quiet, romantic week in Steamboat. We were looking for a hotel/condo with an outside hot-tub, quiet/cozy furnishings w/ fireplace, not too expensive, shuttle service, within 5 to 10 mins to good local dining, and if possible, ski-in/ski-out. Lot to ask out of a resort right? Trailhead met all of these.

Trailhead is located just outside the hussle and bussle of the bottom of the mountain, but only 5-10 mins away from downtown shopping and dining. Our studio w/kitchenette was perfect and nicely furnished (hardwoods, granite countertops, garden tub and lots of other amenities). Each of the units are decorated differently as each has its own owners who have bought into the complex. We woke up to a beautiful mountain view each morning. Also realize you are not staying in a “hotel” but a condo complex. Housekeeping isn’t coming by to clean your room everyday and turn down the bed each night (which we knew coming in and didn’t expect otherwise). But should you need fresh towels or anything else until housekeeping shows up (every 2 days), the staff is very compliant. If I had to nit-pick about anything, it would be that the bathroom and shower didn’t have a soap dish (and that’s digging).

Each time we returned to the condo from snowboarding, dining, shopping, hot-tubing; we were always greeted kindly by the front desk attendant. Every staff member went out of their way to ensure your stay had no complications. The free shuttle service is also very convenient. I don't think we had to wait more than 5 mins anywhere within the Steamboat/Steamboat Springs area for a shuttle. And the drivers were top notch; all locals and all having very good recommendations. They even took us to the local supermarket to buy groceries and beer our first day (recommend you don't by beer from Safeway and buy it from the nearby liquor store as the alcohol content is lower at the markets, another tip). Just take a GoApine shuttle from the airport and don't rent a car; you won’t need one.

Despite the fact Trailhead is not quite "at" the slopes (maybe 400 yards), the private gondola takes you right to the lift ticket booth and main Steamboat Gondola. It was ideal. You were greeted every time you got on by one of the attendants. They have overnight (secure) boot and ski/snowboard storage which is very useful.

Bottom line, when we do return to Steamboat, we will definitely be staying at Trailhead Lodge again.

Recommendations: Slopeside (great pizza and calzones), Ore House (great steaks), Cantina (awesome margaritas and fajitas), Creekside (rated #1 breakfast restaurant and we can attest).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockystiks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that we met your expectations and that you had such a good visit. We will discuss the matter of soap dishes and I appreciate you bringing that to our attention. I will certainly pass along to all the staff your comments, and look forward to having you with us again the next time you travel to Steamboat.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I've stayed here many times, and it's the nicest place in town without a doubt. Nice & clean new units, good service, no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased that you have stayed with us on so many occasions and that you find the Trailhead Lodge the nicest place in town. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

As a Florida resident, who is surrounded by pretentious types, I have been to Steamboat numerous times, and travel there specifically to escape the Southeast Florida, NY and LA snobs. It is a great escape because Steamboat can never be considered a second tier location, and boast Five star restaurants, great shopping and arts.and attracts well off folks who, unlike the Aspen crowds, don't flaunt their net worth.

The visitors, often multi millionaires, visit to escape the "phonies" of the other upscale Colorado ski areas and tend to blend it with average, down to earth, friendly visitors and even more friendly locals.

It is an ideal getaway for me because I am cursed and live in Boca Raton, FL, which is exactly the opposite of what Steamboat represents. it is my personal escape to spend that week to get back to core family values.

We've stayed in Steamboat numerous times over the years to "escape" pretentious people and never left feeling we didn't reap the benefits of every penny we spent.

This time took the cake.....this resort, not exactly on the slope but unique in they have their own lift to the main area, which is constantly runniig made us feel we had our own resort, yet getting to the ski area was a cinch. Plus, they have their own boot and ski storage for the guests

And, don't bother wasting your money on a rental car here, because the longest we waited to get picked up after a last minute call to their shuttle was 94 seconds.

As someone who has been fortunate to have had some success in the travel industry, I have travelled to all States and over 80 countires.I have some experience in rating customer service, and this resort is at the tops for me.

Todd Siefken, and his wonderful staff, made this vacation incredibly memorable, and at this very moment, we are looking to book my 9 year old's spring break in March. (Todd, if you ever want to leave the beauty of Steamboat and come work for a cruise line, you;d he hired tomorrow)

In summary, this resort offers first class service and hospitality, "uber" immaculate rooms, incredible pools and fitness centers, and, something that is missing for the last few years in resorts......staff who actually like their jobs, while at the same time, are "real" people.

We will be back here, numerous times.

Kudos to all at Trailhead.


Steve Novello
President - North American, All Discovery Cruising
www.alldiscoverycruising.com

Room Tip: I was told the higher floors are better, but we had no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snovello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Mr. Novello. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I can not tell you how pleased I am to hear that your visit put us at the top of your list of properties visited around the world. We take great pride in our customer service and will continue to strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. I will be certain to share your comments and kind words with the staff. We enjoyed having you with us in December and look forward to your return visit in March.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hotel is great, feels like home. Staff was very friendly and greeted us by name every time we walked through the doors. We traveled mid March (2011) for a 5 day trip & had awesome powder. (it snowed 18" during our trip) We had a great 2 bed 2 bath and awesome balcony with view of the gondola. Layout of suite is ideal, rooms on opposite sides and common area is spacious. Kitchen is well stocked with all the necessities. One night we used the grill and made a wonderful dinner! The pool and hot tub were a great way to wind down after skiing all day. Locker rooms were relaxing and clean. Multiple hot tubs allows kids to play with out bothering others. Gondola to slopes was great. Much easier than loading up in a car or shuttle. You do have to walk a little to get to the lifts from the hotel gondola but no further than some of the ski in/out hotels. Heated locker room for boots and gloves. It's always nice to put on warm, dry ski clothes. Ski valet right out front, just grab your skis on the way to the gondola. Hotel shuttle was always available to take us into town and staff had great recommendations for restaurants and bars.
We ski every year in Colorado and LOVED Steamboat. The Mountain is great for all levels of ski. My husband and I were able to ski in the same area of the mountain even though I am a blue and he is black & diamond.
The town has a great vibe and everyone was very nice. Great shopping and night life. One evening we went to Strawberry Park Hot Springs. It was amazing! You can even get a massage at the springs if you get there before 8. It is a good distance from the hotel (& you must have 4 wheel drive) but well worth it. If I remember correctly kids are not allowed after dark because clothing is optional.
We are currently planning our trip for this March & have decided to return to Steamboat and Trailhead lodge!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueAxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased that you found our units, amenities, and service enjoyable and we look forward to having you with us again in March.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
EagleRidge Lodge
EagleRidge Lodge
#10 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canyon Creek Condominiums
Canyon Creek Condominiums
#19 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and Spa
Trappeur's Crossing Resort and S...
#2 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboat Hilltop
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Steamboa...
#12 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge At Steamboat
The Lodge At Steamboat
#7 of 80 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Property: Trailhead Lodge
Address: 1175 Bangtail Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-1819 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, a 3 bedroom or a 3 bedroom + Den. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes(winter season), Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, a Bar-B-Que area, and shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing