We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a trip back in time to the old soda fountain!”

Lyon's Corner Drug & Soda Fountain
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Steamboat Springs, Lyon's offers the unique services and welcoming atmosphere of a genuine, old-fashioned drug store. Having been home to a pharmacy, gift shop, and soda fountain for over 100 years, this iconic location at the historic Squire Building is guaranteed to evoke the spirit of the cherished but nearly-extinct American family drug store.
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Like a trip back in time to the old soda fountain!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I love to have lunch at Lyon's Drugstore! They have excellent tuna melts and grilled cheese sandwiches. Their sodas are amazing and it's one of the few places that serve Orangeade - fresh squeezed oranges (instead of lemonade or limeade). My kids love the cherry limeades and blackberry sodas too.

Warning - service can be slow - the soda fountain only seats about a dozen people and then there are alway others just coming to get a cone, shake, malt or ice cream. Have patience - it's well worth it!

One of my favorite places in Steamboat. . . a little piece of Americana to savor!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KearneyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    26
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, CO
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit of Americana”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wasn't sure the very young women could pull it off but they'd made a few ice cream sodas! Yummy treat to share w/ our kids!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mamaknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned fun”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's just that: An Old-Fashioned Soda Fountain! Shakes, malts, egg creams, sundaes, etc., along with some basic meal choices (hot dogs, grilled cheese, etc.). We had two sundaes (Raspberry topping and Blackberry topping), served to us by a young lady who was scheduled to be off that day, but due to another employee calling in, had to work, and couldn't have been more friendly, given the circumstances. If you (or your kids) are too young to remember the old soda fountains of the 50's and 60's, you MUST stop by!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We've visited Steamboat Springs 4 times in the past few years. Every time we come we have tried to get a seat at the Lyons Drug Store but couldn't because it was so packed and we didn't want to wait forever. This time we lucked out and got seats for the 3 of us. We had root beer floats and they were perfect. I'd love to have one of everything. Other people seated around us all said they totally enjoyed their ice cream treats as well. It really is a treat to come here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Moose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“14 cones in 14 days”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Where else can you get a scoop of good ice cream for a buck? About 12 flavors to choose from and they vary day to day. Such a fun way to beat the summer heat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon's Corner Drug & Soda Fountain also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Lyon's Corner Drug & Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing