We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hike this or else”
Review of Mount Werner

Mount Werner
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the popular Steamboat Springs Resort area, this majestic mountain provides skiing in the winter and hiking in the summer.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hike this or else”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The best spot on the Mountain after a snowy night is Mt. Werner. To get there, take Morning Side lift, get off and proceed to the right, Hike up a few hundred feet and take North Saint Pats to powder heaven!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cjskilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Awesome Skiing”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had 40" of snow over our 8 day stay. We stayed in real ski-in/out condos on the mountain at Storm Meadows. There are many awesome green runs for the beginners with the longest being over 3 miles long. Then lots of blue and black diamond runs to explore. In my 30 years of skiing this is the best place to bring your kids to learn to ski. The lifeline staff were very joyful, helpful and never waited in a line for more than 5 minutes. For the experienced skier, highly recommend in the "First Track" lift ticket after new snow fall. It is worth the extra $30 to be first on the mountain for 1 hour before anybody else.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A mountain with something for everyone”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The great thing about this mountain is the way the trail system is laid out to give every level of skier access to ski almost every lift from top to bottom. They groom some great black and blue-black runs daily or every other day. My favorites are Sunnyside, Longhorn, One O'Clock, Ted's Ridge, Rolex, Westside, Vagabond, Valley View(s), See Me, and Vogue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Even if you don't ski.....”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We purchased foot passes for the gondola while our daughter skiied. Super fun to go up and have lunch at the top. Although it's $20 per pass, our passes each had a $10 food coupon for lunch at the top . Also kids 5 and under ride free (still need a pass). Highly recommened if you want to see what it's like at the top but don't want to ski. Warning, the lodge at the top has lots of stairs and is at high altitude, so be prepared. The fast food restaurant is on the very top. Starbucks and the nicer restaurants (as well as restrooms) are on the first floor. On busy weekends, wait until after 10am to ride, otherwise there will probably be a long line to board the gondola. Also, they let you ride up and down without getting off as many times as you want, patricuarly later in the day when there is no line (after lunch) so, if you have a small child who's there for the ride, it's great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familytravels2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Access to Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Steamboat on Saturday and found out the gondola only ran on weekends. It cost $50 for 2 adults and 2 children. Not cheap, but we enjoyed the ride up on Sun. Once on the top, there are numerous hiking and biking trails. We enjoyed walking around and decided it was worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank cathys997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Werner also viewed

 

Been to Mount Werner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing