We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness we didn't go for the condo.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Thank goodness we didn't go for the condo.....”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We travelled to Colorado to spread mom's ashes and to enjoy a ski vacation at the same time. My brother initially made reservations at the Nordic Lodge in Steamboat Springs because both families could afford it. A month later, we discovered, quiet accidentally that there was a time share condo available for the same time period and at the same price. We debated and thought that a condo might be more luxurious so he attempted to buy it. It didn't work. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU, because our stay at the Nordic Lodge was the most wonderful experience!. Greg, the owner and main desk person is so concerned about his guests having a good experience. He is a fountain of information about the Steamboat area, including where to go for the best food (and some of the least expensive too), where to rent ski equipment and best of all, he understands what people who are on a ski vacation need and what they want. He is all about customer service and most importantly, he is all about helping his guests enjoy their experience in Steamboat. If he didn't own a hotel, we thought he would be just about the best Chamber of Commerce member Steamboat could have. The hotel is clean, well maintained and if there is anything you need, you can call him and he either has it or knows where to get it. We would definitely go back to this hotel. It's right in the heart of downtown Steamboat, giving you easy walking access to numerous restaurants and shops and if you want, you can even take a bus to the ski slopes, from right across the street.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gislady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    165
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
176
293
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bryson City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Taking a snowboarding trip to Steamboat Springs seemed too expensive, expecially after checking package deals online... I chatted with Greg over the phone and booked 5 nights at the Nordic Lodge.

Greg made us feel welcome and at home. His service was A+, we overheard him several times giving great advice to guests looking for something to do, as well as giving us all the information we needed.

The location was great, shoping and dining were all within walking distance. We were only a few steps to the free bus route which took us directly to the gondola, after having a great continental breakfast provided by the lodge. Returning on the bus after a cold day on the mountain we were treated to a great hot tub to soak in and relax the tired and sore muscles.

The snowboarding was excellent, but I would also recommend taking a dogsledding trip (flyier is in the lobby) as a adventure you don't get to experience in many places. Also the hot springs in town were great, and not too far to walk to, or take the bus if it's too chilly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boaterofhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We have stayed at the Nordic Lodge several years in a row and will continue to book our vacation travel to Steamboat Springs here. The hotel is in a great location with clean, functional rooms (refrigerator and microwave en suite) and they are dog friendly, which is an important factor to us!

The best part of the Nordic Lodge are the owners, Greg and his wife. They go above and beyond any expectations to ensure convenience and make sure you enjoy your stay! We needed to do a load of laundry and Greg gave us detergent and coins for the machines onsite so we didn't have to get cash and buy detergent. We needed vouchers for lift tickets and Greg allowed us pay cash upon our return from the resort that evening instead having to run to the ATM and get cash that morning. When we attempted going home from our Steamboat Springs vacation during a blizzard only to return an hour later, Greg had our sames rooms ready for us (probably suspecting we'd be back) :-)

It's these small touches that make a big difference and will keep us coming back to the Nordic Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea7669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Four nights with teenagers in a ski town can be a lot of things including hectic and expensive and overwhelming. The owners of the Nordic Lodge went out of their way to make our stay just the opposite. When I first booked with them in October and explained that I was booking for my family of four as well as another couple, Greg the owner went over the options and actually gave us a better rate than the advertised rate online. When we arrived he gave a review of Steamboat's features that would have made the Chamber of Commerce proud. He helped us with coupons for ski rentals as well as directing us to numerous restaraunts that were exactly what we were looking for. He was full of stories about his travels all over Europe but was clearly in love with Steamboat and wanted all his guests to fall in love with it as well. The rooms were as advertised. While not on the mountain and seconds from the ski lifts, they were clean, comfortable and less than ten minutes from the gondola. The Nordic Lodge is a great value run by a couple who want you to have a GREAT stay in Steamboat Springs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saykso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our stay here was excellent from the outdoor pool to the heated lamp in the bathroom to the complimentary breakfast the next day. Next time we are back in steamboat we will be staying there again. By far the best value in the most central downtown location!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Clean, reasonable, right in the middle of the downtown action, tons of nearby restaurants within easy walking distance. Comfortable beds. Remarkably quiet, especially considering proximity to the main drag - great value, absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keatyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We turned up in Steamboat in the afternoon, and the Tourist Office recommended this hotel, for the bargain price of $59 (£45). We went straight to it without looking anywhere else and it was great. The reception staff were friendly and found us a room straight away, away from the road, which was lovely and clean, and quiet. The hotel has a small pool area and some loungers around it. We had a nice quiet rest until a family of seven came and ruined the peace for everyone else……. But that's not the hotel's fault of course.

There is a small complimentary breakfast served in the reception area which was a good start to our long drive up to the Tetons - coffee, waffles, toast etc, which was put out earlier than the time we had been told it was ready, so that was handy as we weren't expecting to get any owing to our early start.

I would recommend this hotel because of the good value for money, the central location in Steamboat and the friendly staff and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
649 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#3 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
409 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#4 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
790 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#20 of 22 in Steamboat Springs
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs

Property: Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Address: 1036 Lincoln Avenue, PO Box 773118, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best lodging downtown Steamboat. Top rated hotel, motel and condo units, outdoor pool, indoor hot tub, refrigerator and microwave, Free Wi-Fi, walking distance to 30 restaurants, Yampa River, parks, kayaking, hot springs, skiing, ice skating, fishing, biking, snowshoeing, walking, hiking, running trails, shopping, movies, local markets, Colorado Mountain College, soda Creek Elementary, favorite place to stay, new rooms, great reviews, best location, newest rooms downtown, close, convenient, comfortable, very clean, discounted rates and packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Lodge Of Steamboat Springs Hotel Steamboat Springs
Nordic Hotel Steamboat Springs
Nordic Motel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing