We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a lovely little botanic garden”

Yampa River Botanic Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A six acre gem of ponds, berms, and over 40 gardens. It is one of the jewels of Northwest Colorado and one of the few botanic parks in the state. Free to the public, where visitors can learn about local wildflowers and fauna. Open Spring, Summer and Fall from dawn to dusk. Closed in winter. Amphitheater, available for rent, Core Trail access, drinking fountain and nature/hiking trail. Can be rented for a special event. No pets.
colorado and ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is a lovely little botanic garden”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A great place to bring kids or to just walk around yourself - its a nice spot for picnics too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank moac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    110
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the beaten path”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great place to stop with your family when walking or biking on the core trail. Plan on 1/2 hour, longer if you want to find all the hidden sculptures.
Do not miss the free concerts on Thursday at noon in the Summer, but make sure you take an umbrella with you for the sun.

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant garden along the Yampa River”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

In late September, we spent a weekend in Steamboat Springs, hiking and enjoying fall colors. After one of our hikes, we stopped at the Yampa River Botanic Park (YRBP). Dusk descended shortly after we got there, so we had very little time to explore the gardens.

I agree with another reviewer that the flower displays in late September were disappointing. However, we enjoyed our quick walk-through, particularly the sculptures and reflections around the pond.

NOTE: Several years ago, we spent July 4th in Steamboat. We spent more time at YRBP then and we were very impressed by the summer flower displays. I guess timing is everything when visiting gardens in areas with such short growing seasons!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJ_Longmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not any better than my own backyard garden. Just your every day go to the nursery and plant it.”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We went late September most flowers were dead, what flowers were present were duplicated throughout. Not wel kept, could be time of year. But it was free, what else could you ask for.

Helpful?
Thank KarlayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
402 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Attractive Walk”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This walk is a pleasant place to spend an hour or two walking along the Yampa River. It takes you to the beautiful Steamboat Springs Library, the Depot Art Gallery, and several hot springs.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yampa River Botanic Park also viewed

 

Been to Yampa River Botanic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing