We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allington Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Colorado Springs USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star resort, keep looking! However if you want a clean, comfortable, low cost place to sleep in South Fork while you ski, this is the place for you. The breakfast buffet was basic, they had the usual waffle maker, bagels, cereals etc... they could use more fruits and juices though. The hotel is pet friendly for a small fee, and they have pet designated rooms so you can get a non pet room if you have allergies etc... The pool and hot tub were quite welcome after a day of skiing.

Downsides were a) wifi did not work outside the lobby and b) you can hear some hallway noise

Hint if you make your reservation on line directly from the hotel, you can get a $57/night rate! This is outstanding especially during the height of ski season, to get this rate you need to request "COLORADO'S BEST KEPT SECRET" rate in the comment section while reserving the room, your confirmation will reflect this rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    32
    9
    17
See reviews for
59
39
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Even though we are staying there on business, my colleagues and I feel like family. We have been staying at this hotel since Nov. of last year and plan on staying here until the end of the job this Spring. The staff has bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. I recommend this hotel for business or play. I see many annual return skiers that leave happy also, that says alot for the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsimota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the Allington Inn the first night of a weekend skiing Wolf Creek. Front desk was friendly and hotel was easy to find. Rooms were old, dirty and all around gross. I had read mixed reviews before staying there, but thought it couldn't be that bad.....until I pulled back the sheets to find dark short hairs all over the supposed clean sheets. Next time I travel to small town USA I'm bringing a sleeping bag.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Fork hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Good Breakfast, Large Rooms,Friendly service
All in all- a great value
My Family loved the hot tub after a day of skiing

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

The only thing I liked about this place was the dog, Jack, I met when checking in. It all went downhill from there. The woman who checked us in, Becky, was more concerned with getting a photo ID than with welcoming us to the establishment. We were laughed at when we asked where the elevator was ("Everybody knows hotels in Colorado don't have elevators") and told repeatedly, by Jill the manager, when asking why the Internet connection and the heater in our room didn't work that this was South Fork and the Allington was the best we could hope for.

The room was filthy with worn, smelly bed spreads and blankets, a carpet so dirty we didn't put our bags on it, and the previous guests hair and used wash cloth left in the bath tub. There was also a dark stain on the wall paper next to the toilet. That's room 111, folks.

When I went to the front desk to tell Becky we would not be staying past our first night (we had reserved three), she informed me we would be charged for the next night because we didn't give 24 hours notice to cancel. Twenty minutes later when I went back to complain about the teenagers running wild in the hall way, she didn't remember who I was. Facing another night in the Dorm, we cleaned our bathroom so we felt comfortable using it, and put the do not disturb sign on the door.

After returning from skiing the next day, we found our do not disturb sign had been removed from the door and the portable heater we'd been given the night before (to compensate for the lack of heat from the window unit) had been removed. When we complained to Jill about it, she responded that it was "industry standard" to investigate complaints. Funny, nothing else in the place was up to "industry standard."

That was the last straw for us. We told Jill we were leaving and we were only paying for one night. She agreed and we left. We went to a place with a friendly staff, working heaters, and elevators. Yes, elevators do exist in Colorado, no matter Jill says.

Stay elsewhere, really.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wineknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

I have stayed at the Allington Inn at South Fork, Colorado several times and have never wrote a review before for any where. As I have gotten to know the staff and General Manager Jill Clement ,I knew it was time to express my sincere appreciation for the care I recieve at the Allington. As you enter the lobby Jill and the staff make you feel welcome. I am a big believer that things go wrong but the difference is how pleasantly they are fixed. I have overheard other guests at the front desk and was surprised how many know Jill and the staff by name and comment they come back (as I do) because of them. I always call the Allington asking if they have space for me and Jill always puts me somewhere even if the pass is closed to Pagosa Springs and all the skiers stay on the South Fork side so they can still get to Wolf Creek Ski area. I totally recommend everyone stays at the Allington to ski Wolf Creek or just enjoy the area 12 months a year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTWO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed for only one night and it was a pleasant stay. Rooms were clean and the staff prompt and friendly. The golf package special was a very good value. The breakfast was limited but good and the Swiss restaurant nearby was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Fork hotels
1.4 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#2 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
8.1 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
Snowy Pine Cabins & RV
#9 of 15 in South Fork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allington Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allington Inn & Suites

Property: Allington Inn & Suites
Address: 182 East Frontage Road, South Fork, CO 81154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Allington Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Closest Hotel to Wolf Creek Ski Area! Offering Deluxe King & Queen Rooms, Double Queen Suite, Jacuzzi Suites & Extended Stay Suite, along with the most amenities including the Only Indoor Pool in Town, Hot Tub, Complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Complimentary WIFI, 24-Hour Guest Services, Cable Television with Premium Cable Channels, Gourmet In-Room Coffee, Iron & Full-Size Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Guest Laundry, Complimentary Newspaper, Business Center, Group & Meeting Facilities, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Allington Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allington Hotel South Fork
Allington Inn & Suites Colorado/South Fork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing