We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Folks.Wonderful accomadations.Nicely Located.Reasonable Prices”
Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We arrived very late in the evening,on a very cold night dec.10th,2009..What a warm welcome we received at the Spruce Lodge from DEE & ROB the owners..
A young couple going out of there way to make you feel right at home. There room rates are more then fair & in excelent condition..Made it tuff to say goodbye on departure.
We are looking forward to going back to see DEE & ROB just as soon as possible..
Wolfcreek is quite the SKI area...It,s a Skiers Mt. If you enjoy lots of POWDER & TREE SKING & no crowds,, this is the place..
The Spruce Lodge & it,s owners make it a Unbelievable Destination that you will most definetly have to revisit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 241 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

We love the Spruce Lodge. It is a perfect old-time mountain lodge with wonderful scenery, great food, and a very hospitable staff. we hold our family reunion here year after year. We always look forward to our time at the Spruce Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I almost detest super fancy, non-mountain, hotels in the mountains. Spruce Lodge is for real. It is genuine. You feel like you are in the mountains and staying in a cabin or lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdisbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

This place was hard to leave, we stumbled upon in Route to Wolf Creek for the most Powder in Colorado! The accommodations we more than expected, thanks to the owners Dee and Rob's hard work and efforts. The beds were very clean and comfortable, the water was hot, complementary continental breakfast; this place is perfect for die hard skiers, snow boarders, and hunters, who want to come back to a warm relaxing family style rustic lodge at days end. The rooms were clean,tidy, and done up with a personal touch. We were all glad we picked the the Spruce Lodge! Coming back next season to stay at the Spruce, and ride the 72" of new snow in 72 hours, I'm not kidding, overall awesome adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsrider77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Owners Rob and Dee provide a warm friendly enviroment. Cabin spotless and cozy. Spruce Lodge combined with Wolf Creek Ski Area are the perfect combination for the casual and also the serious skiier . Saved hundreds of dollars over aspen area. Way more snow and half the price in South Fork. This is a family safe destination where you and your loved ones will create lasting memories. The best secret in Colorado. Klaus

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiierNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

An amazing place put together with love, loyalty and lots of hard work. Managed and owned by a couple that believe in what they do and not only want you to visit, but actually look forward to your return.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamp062400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Location is beautiful. Very nice family-run business. They have put a lot of time and effort in the renovation of the old lodge. Easy access to rafting, skiing, hiking and many other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
1.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
164 reviews
1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
272 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
184 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Lodge
Four Seasons Lodge
#16 of 19 in South Fork
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range: $55 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge Colorado/South Fork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing