We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spruce Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge(South Fork)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$15
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Meadows(South Fork)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
151
51
17
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
51
17
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastjacuzzi tubwolf creekbox fanrustic feelqueen roomcinnamon rollsscreen doormain buildingyogurtchain hotelbeds were comfortablerio grandelove this placewill stay there againhome away from homegreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 248 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Spruce Lodge in the dorm room. This room can sleep as many as 12 but only has 1 very small bathroom. The 6 of us were comfortable sleeping and got by with the small bathroom. The owners were friendly, we had the fridge die on us and they immediately replaced it. The hot tub was great. Very few places to eat in South Fork so I will get accommodations with a kitchen next time I go there. Easy 15 minute drive to Wolf Creek Ski Resort if the highway is clear.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Those dorm rooms are big! Large enough to sleep 12 - we usually use them for Youth Groups during ski season. With only 6 people, you have plenty of room to move around - and even a foosball table!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us! We have connecting hotel rooms that offer almost as much space as the dorm rooms, and with that option you get two bathrooms, two TV's and two refrigerators.

THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had an awesome time, friendly people and soft beds!!!!! and the breakfast was the BEST, much better then most other places i have eaten breakfast at. Great place for R&R, with neat and Clean rooms will be going back again soon!!!

Room Tip: back rooms have a very sweet setting!
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Our continental breakfast is amazing isn't it? Really the best free breakfast available anywhere. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Loved Spruce Lodge. The food was incredible! The value and location to Wolf Creek Ski area were awesome. The family that runs the lodge was so helpful and hard working. We were there with a large group of teenagers. The boys had the upstairs bunk rooms - 9 in each room with only one bathroom in each room. I'm glad I was downstairs with the girls! Complaint: Some of the rooms are very dated. Wish they would remove the antiques and fake flowers from the rooms so the rooms could be cleaner and less cluttered. But the rooms were decent, the food was delicious, and the price was great. Hubby and boys are returning there this summer to hike and fish.

Room Tip: The rooms across the back were more updated, less cluttered, cleaner. However, the blinds didn't really block the light in those rooms so don't plan on sleeping in!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

My husband is an amazing cook. It's funny....I can cook the same food on the same grill and it's not nearly as tasty. That's why he's the ONLY one who does the cooking around here! We had to buy a treadmill because I eat too many of those cinnamon rolls.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed Wolf Creek. It really is the best ski experience anywhere.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very cute bed and breakfast w so much charm. Since there aren't many lodging options when you ski in Wolf Creek, I relied on Trip Advisor reviews. This place is a short 25 minute drive to the slopes. We stayed in the South Fork room and it was different but fun. It is an old, old building (1926) so it creaks whenever you walk around - it was not annoying though,... It just adds to the experience. My first requirement on a ski trip is a comfy bed after the long day of skiing. The beds are OK, not great but not too bad. Great bathroom w jacuzzi tub!

The breakfast was simply amazing! The 6 inch cinnamon roll was absolutely one of the best things I have ever tasted. The cheddar biscuits w gravy were a close runner up.

The owners are great! Very accommodating and welcoming. We loved their dog, Tuesday! What a fun experience. They also have free wifi throughout the place. This is a huge thing because we couldn't get good cell reception anywhere up here with Verizon service

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Outrageous value.... I LIKE THAT!!!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We work tirelessly to ensure our guests are comfortable. These nice reviews mean everything to us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I would give the hotel 3 stars as the rooms are dated and walls a bit thin. But the breakfast was a solid 5 stars. Great job. Would stay again no problem. just in the morning, when the people leave to ski, you hear it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dplucinskihotel, Owner at Spruce Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

It looks like you stayed with us in a pet friendly room over Spring Break. That was probably the last room we had available. Those rooms seem a bit more dated because we have the traditional fold-over-the-pillow bedspreads because they are easy to wash and quick to dry - important for the pet friendly rooms.

Please come back and see us when it's not quite so crazy or book your reservations for those dates far in advance. We will make sure you get a newly renovated room with the feather duvet comforters and expensive new carpet.

Have a great night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews