We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, really neat atmosphere, and tons of outdoor activities in the area.”
Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spruce Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
1 review
“Great place to stay, really neat atmosphere, and tons of outdoor activities in the area.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staying at the spruce lodge was a great luxury. The service exceeded expectations and went above and beyond in customer satisfaction. The room was always cleaned to perfection and well supplied. Never had to worry about asking for anything extra because everything and more was provided.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2112bobfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    49
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
75
66
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The property is very well maintained and has wonderful antiques throughout including in our room which was well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was minimal but adequate. Had fresh coffee available just outside our room which was nice. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place was so adorable. The room had a rustic old feel to it. It was neat and comfortable. The service was great! They were so nice and helpful with finding things to do. They are funny too. The breakfast was good too. Cereal, danishes, poptarts, yogart and so much more! I absolutely loved the spruce lodge! My family wants to go again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtontraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked a room in the Bed & Breakfast. However, the breakfast consisted of nothing but cold gas station type food -- plastic wrapped muffins, pop tarts, granola bars, etc. The only real cooked food was some hard boiled eggs, but the same group of eggs sat out the entire weekend we were there. Gross!!! They didn't even bother to restock the pre-packaged food either and things were pretty slim pickings by our last day there. This is not at all what a bed and breakfast is supposed to be like!

The rooms were barren and had no amenities - only 2 towels, no water in the water basket, nothing!! We had to forage everything from a local store.

Their hot tub was not to be found anywhere even though they still advertise they have one.

The front desk staff was also very rude!! They treated you more as an inconvenience than anything else. And their kids were running around causing havoc all weekend.

The only good point was the whirlpool bath tub!

I will NOT be going back to this place even if you paid me to.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabbieram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and had a great time with so much to do in the area with the Spruce Lodge in the heart of it all. Great owners, always helpful to make your stay special. The remodeled rooms were perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Rob & Dee took super care of our group. There were 15 of us, and they accomodated every need....and every want! Our Youth Group enjoyed the large rooms, clean grounds, river rafting, included breakfast, and friendliness of the staff (family). We had some special needs, including the need to cook for our group. Whether pizzas and corndogs in the oven, or burgers on the grill, Dee never flinched about letting us use her kitchen. They made the rafting safe and convenient. I know we were a complicated and needed group to host, but you couldn't tell it by Rob & Dee's smiles.
We would highly recommend Spruce Lodge!!

Room Tip: The upstairs bunkhouses are connect, and sleep lots!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canoga park
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Spruce Lodge felt like staying with family. I stayed for 3 weeks and felt completely at home. Rather than wondering the hills, Dee took a friend of mine on a 20 mile guided hike. We stayed up telling ghost stories over glasses of wine and was given privacy when needed. Thank you Rob and Dee!

The Lone Ranger Crew.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fork
1.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
155 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
1.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 18 in South Fork
174 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Property: Spruce Lodge
Address: 29431 US Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154-9501
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, historic, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and Suites make up our unique and cozy property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge Colorado/South Fork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing