We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some folks not so welcome!”

Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in South Fork
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some folks not so welcome!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

During a recent visit to Creede, Colorado, one of our favorite places to visit in Colorado, we stopped for lunch at the Blue Creek Lodge (address: South Fork, Colorado) a place most visitors to the area would recognize. It was lunch time and the restaurant was full of what seemed to be pretty friendly folks. The lunch was pretty good, we enjoyed it and talked to a table beside us. When we went to the restrooms we noticed the gift shop with Tee shirts on a rack. They looked innocent enough. My husband had been talking to a lady at the next table and she was going to buy a "Blue Creek Lodge" tee shirt. She asked my husband if it suited her; he returned to our table and whispered "I didn't know what to say, she had the back of the tee shirt up to her and it read "Take Gun Control and Shove It Up Your (democratic donkey pictured). He was shocked. Later I looked at the tee shirts and they all said that on the back. We had looked at rooms there, but were not inclined to stay there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creede, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A great family restaurant right along the Rio Grande River. They have a lodge, cabins and RV spots. Reminds me of the movie "The Great Outdoors".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Don't go expecting a three star, white table cloth dining experience. If fresh trout expertly prepared, friendly and prompt service and very reasonable prices are of interest to you then put The Blue Creek Lodge at the top of your list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samftla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff overall excellent place to eat”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My hamburger was not cooked throughly. They apologized over and over. To that I am much pleased. I wiil go back there again because they were so nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Vista, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and Delicious”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A+ for atmosphere and food...service a bit slow and inattentive...but hey...no hurry...we're in the mountains!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant also viewed

 
South Fork, CO
South Fork, CO
 

Been to Blue Creek Lodge and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing