We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Denver & Rio Grande Railroad”

Denver & Rio Grande Railroad
Attraction details
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Denver & Rio Grande Railroad”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ride was very interesting; Guide informative. Lunch was great! Good way to spend most of a day in South Fork

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, GA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We did the route from South Fork to Wagon Wheel Gap that included the stop for lunch. The lunch was "okay" but the ride, views, and info along the way was awesome. It's an "open air" train ride and we were lucky to have sunny skies the entire time, but had it rained, we would've been caught without protection. I also recommend that you not take toddlers. There is nowhere for them to go but in your lap or on the seat next to you and the one that was on our ride pitched a fit for a lot of the ride. It took away from us hearing what the guide would stop to show and tell, and I don't think his parents had a grand time trying to keep him quiet and from throwing a tantrum. You'll see views of the mountains that you just can't see from the road. I totally recommend this trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank emalday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

this is a.great ride through a beautiful valley surrounded by spectacular mountains and special rock formations that frame a beautiful Rio Grande, chuckling clear azure waters the whole way. The aspen were glinting gold and adding to the experience. Our conductor, not only an engineer with the line but a principal with the railroad foundation, took us back in time to relive the history of passage and the rich mining history of the area. If going to Creede, this is a must as part of your overall experience in this special part of Colorado.

Helpful?
1 Thank 007Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Now this is a real train ride.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a way to travel, see gorgeous scenery and not have to drive mountain roads to do it [ok, you do have mountain driving to get to the terminal.] The new setup, South Fork to Creede/Wagon Wheel Gap, isn't so spectacular as the old Durango to Silverton [absolutely 5-star] route and I actually miss cinders in my hair from the coal-fired steam engines. But the wye is still the turn around method; no roundhouses built in the mountains. No restroom facilities or food for sale on the train but at stations and resorts. I packed a lunch so can't attest to the food at at the 2 resort choices. It's a great way to take a break from the fast pace required to see "things" in the expansive west.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Heathen71940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting ride”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I recommend this trip. I did the early ride because it rained every afternoon. We seen some deer. Was hoping to see a bear but no luck. The later trip may have been better. Very friendly atmosphere

Helpful?
1 Thank GmanOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver & Rio Grande Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Denver & Rio Grande Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing