We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenth Year At Fun Valley ... Looking Forward To More!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Fork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fun Valley Family Resort
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was our family's tenth year in the last thirteen going to Fun Valley. In the beginning, we would rent a cabin or motel room, then we rented one of the travel trailers, and now we take our own fifth wheel trailer. Where to begin ...

Fun Valley is a giant family park. Accomodations include full hook-up RV spaces, cabins, a motel and a bunch of 26' travel trailers that have been permanently installed. There is a restaurant that serves great breakfasts, lunches and dinners cafeteria-style. There is also a snack shack that serves burgers, hot dogs, pizza and the best ice cream! There is a gift shop and recreation building with all of the pool tables, air hockey and video games a kid can play. They also have a grocery store with an amazing inventory of stuff, a gas station, including diesel, a laundromat, two restroom / shower buildings, a "Funatorium" and the dance hall (where they do dances, small concerts, etc.).

The whole facility is secured - security staffs the front entrance and you must be a registered guest to enter. At last check, you also had to be a couple or a family to get in ... they do not allow overnight transient travelers. This is the only place our family has ever felt comfortable "turning the kids loose" to go play.

As far as things to do there, you can play putt-putt golf, rent a bike if you didn't bring one, rent a paddle boat on one of their dozen or so small lakes, go fishing on any of these lakes, tube down the Rio Grande River (the Rio Grande River goes right through the property!) or go for a two-hour horseback ride through the beautiful mountains. Best of all, the kids can take a walkie-talkie and explore the whole place, meeting new friends and spending time in the great outdoors.

The staff are mostly retired folks from Texas and Oklahoma. Their personalities, charm and friendliness are unmatched. They do this because they love to, not because they need a job. You always feel welcomed at Fun Valley.

There is so much more to this place than I can put in a review ... if you are thinking at all of going, you must try this place. You can reserve anything EXCEPT RV spaces ... these are on a first-come basis only. While the majority of spaces are taken during the summer, they always seem to find a way to fit you in. I believe they are open from May through September, but you'll want to double-check that. We have recommended Fun Valley to a lot of people, and nobody has been disappointed.

We look forward to going back again next summer, and for many summers to come.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We just returned from Fun Valley and all in all it was a great time. I had read of rude people, but for the most part everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. My husband did have a run in with a rude man in the grocery one night, but he was one out of the many friendly faces we saw each day.
There are many things for the kids to do, float in the river, play mini golf, pool, fish, hike... We even took a 2hr horseback ride into the mountain that was well worth the money. We enjoyed our stay, this place makes a great base camp to drive out and do other things in nearby towns. The only negative thing I would say is that there are so many people there, the campers are almost touching....and with all those people the bathrooms would get a little dirty from time to time, but at 11am there was always someone there to clean, so it wasn't too bad. We would return to FV because we had a wonderful time.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Bastrop_TexasMairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were at fun Valley this past week and let me tell ya, it was horrible!!! The employees are mostly composed of volunteers and doesnt respect anything and expecially YOU... "Fun Valley is a place for Happy families, Not unhappy singles or couples" This is the concept there.

If you have questions for them, they WILL NOT help you over the phone. You must walk down to the main office and ask. We called them about available horse rides. All i wanted is to see if there was an opening for 4:00 the next afternoon. I was in Shock when the man on the phone said, " You will just have to come down to the office and see" .... They acted like i was asking them to do something impossible or something.

The whole staff seems to be very rude when it comes to asking them something. Simple questions turn into frustration.

I will never go back due to this

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank bawhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I have been coming to Fun Valley since 1999. She has been coming since she was a little girl. Every year our trip gets better. The atmosphere is exceptional. Friendly people all around. There are kids everywhere so my three make plenty of friends every year. My kids get so excited when we start packing and almost cry when we leave. This place is definitely a tradition that my family will keep. The scenery of the surrounding areas can not be replaced by any other place. We have seen large Elk, Moose, Big horn Sheep, and even Bears in our campsite. We love it and will always come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lnewton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

10 years of our lives. My Daughter grew up at this camp and yearns for it all year long. 1st night in a tent; 1st camp fire; 1st fish; 1st day on her own; 1st bear seen; 1st horse back trip; 1st day falling asleep in a hot tent; 1st summer snow storm; 1st time watching grandma ride a bike; 1st street dance; 1st kiss; 1st break up. We would go nowhere else. Who knows what else?

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank dawn145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We participated in the a week of square dancing with meal included it was very reasonable with good food. Not fancy but quality. It was right on the Rio Grande River and the Travel Trailers you can rent were right next to it. Perfect to have your coffee in the morning. This family resort has lots of RV spaces, many are close together. There are motel units to rent too. Get the ones with a kitchenette. they have two small bedrooms. The motel unit without a kittchenette had no river view. Our unit #14 was above the laundromat and was very warm until the middle of the night. It had steep large steps up to units 14 and 15. There was minature golf, horseshoes and paddle boats to rent. Many of the families brought their kids bikes too. There are also horse ride and entertainment too.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the river, motel or travel traile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

A lot of the people camping at Fun Valley had been vacationing there every year since they were children. They knew other campers and had wonderful memories. They saw the place the way it was 30 years ago and didn't seem to realize that it had become old and rundown. I don't think the owners are putting much money back into it. The workers are people who spent many years vacationing there and are now retired and want to spend their entire summer there. If you notice the other reviews, many have been going there for years. There is a lot of potential to the place and I'm sure in it's day it was the best.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
8  Thank pawneecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Fork hotels
5.1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
268 reviews
4.7 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
162 reviews
5.9 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ranch Ski Lodge
#2 of 2 in South Fork
22 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
Wolf Creek Ski Lodge
#1 of 19 in South Fork
178 reviews
5.1 mi away
South Fork Lodge and RV Park
South Fork Lodge and RV Park
#14 of 19 in South Fork
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Valley Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Valley Family Resort

Address: 36000 Hwy 160W, South Fork, CO 81154
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in South Fork
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Fun Valley Family Camping Hotel South Fork
Fun Valley Family Resort Colorado/South Fork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing