We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices skyrocketed after last year. Ask about all the hidden costs before booking”
Review of Wildwood Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wildwood Snowmass
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Louisville, Tennessee
1 review
“Prices skyrocketed after last year. Ask about all the hidden costs before booking”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

On-line pricing is deceptive. Extra person is $85.00 nite. Internet fee of $20.00 nite.
Many extra fees they do not advertise.
Hotel was old but had been updated. Not much you can do with the room size or the size of the bathrooms.
Bar area was nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Dear Bill M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the bar area. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Your comments about the corresponding fees and room size have been noted and will be used to improve our guests satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    59
    51
    81
See reviews for
72
71
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

You have to have proper expectations staying at the Wildwood. Yes, you are near Aspen....and No, you are not at a 4 Seasons. The Wildwood is a motel - you enter rooms from the outside and you can't get room service. It is a renovated motel though. It has the feel of an old ski lodge - it's better than a Super8 or Comfort Inn. The rooms have new and inexpensive furniture.

The Wildwood is an unbeatable value...I paid around $200 per night during Christmas - New Year's. My bed was clean, the tv was great, the maids came every day, etc. My only complaints are the hotel grounds could be a tiny bit cleaner - there was a weird nook on the way to my room that looked like it had old trash in it, there was a corridor that was poorly lit, and the heat was not adjustable in my room. My girlfriend and I burned up each night and we deadbolted the door open to let cold air in. I did not attempt to resolve the problem with maintenance.

The location is great. You walk 75 yards to skiing and you use the same Ski Valet as the Westin. The staff is also great. They even helped move my bags from the Westin to the Wildwood (I had 1 day at the Westin and 3 at the Wildwood). Parking is also a breeze. It's just steps away.

The bulk of the people here were a little bit younger or they had kids. I didn't have any issues with them though. There were no noise problems at all and the children I saw were playing in the motels game room. I mostly walked straight from my room to skiing.

I'm an SPG Gold member and I've stayed at all ranges of motels / hotels from Super8s to the $8k/night Oriental (Presidential Suite) at the Mandarin in Boston, and I believe that this stay was extremely positive and I'd stay here again without hesitation. Ignore the other people on here who want the Little Nell for the price of a Super8.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drog321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, admin assistant at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Nailed it! The Wildwood really is a great option for people visiting Aspen/Snowmass, but it's not for everyone. So glad to hear that it worked for you and that you will be staying here again in the future. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We actually stayed here during our Colorado honeymoon adventure. We didn't book until the day of, as we were unsure of where we wanted to spend our honeymoon. I found this place online when we were a few hours out, and the main reason we picked it were the advertised prices. They advertised a certain percentage off during the low summer season and a percentage off with a three night stay. Upon calling the resort to reserve, we were transferred to a "reservation service", or people working somewhere, not on location at the resort. We were told both the advertised specials posted on the web site were no longer active and changed depending on the availability at the resort. I was frustrated taking to the first person/"machine", so hung up, re-evaluated our options and decided to try to call the resort directly again. I talked to the front desk person, who then immediately transferred me to the same reservation service. Still frustrated with the false advertising, the prices were still the cheapest we could find for decent quality. We arrived at night in a downpour. Parking was close and free. The front desk person was nice and helpful. The rooms are those you get to by waking on outdoor sidewalks. We were in the second level. Our room had three areas, an entry way with fireplace, a "living room" with couch and television, a bathroom and then the bedroom. The room looked newly renovated. It was clean. It was very much 70s-styled. The bed was comfortable, and to be honest, we really didn't care much what our room looked like as long as it was clean, comfortable and appropriately temperature controlled, as we were planning on spending most of our time outdoors exploring. We slept well all but the last night when a large group of bikers stayed in the same hotel and spent most of the night partying loading and practicing animal calls/howls into the wee hours of the morning. It went on for over an hour before a staff/security? person knocked on their door and told them to quiet down. The location of the resort is great, right in the Snowmass mall area and near the lifts. Snowmass is fifteen minutes tops to Aspen and close of Carbondale area. We did lots of hiking while in the area. Many thanks to the two Wildwood staffers who told us about non-touristy hiking areas and recommended good places to eat. We probably wouldn't stay here again, but would recommend it to others with young families or teens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorslover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, administrative assistant at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your summer stay at Wildwood Snowmass. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the Wildwood's location, but sorry to hear that you experienced some frustrations trying to make your reservations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the Westin or what ever the main property was called a couple of years ago and thought that was where I'd be staying again but after being told thats not the case I came over to this hotel,
Lobby looked like fun but the room was very much like a cheap motel in Texas, good job it was just for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room at Wildwood Snowmass. The Wildwood is a great option for the more budget-conscious, but for a more upscale hotel experience you may be more comfortable next door at The Westin. We hope to see you there the next time you visit Aspen/Snowmass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This Westin run property is a throw back to the 70's, the decor is fun and funky. The rooms are really small and pretty basic a little loud as most of the rooms face the driveway or street. Clean and a great convenient location to the slopes and Snowmass Village. Nice game room, pool and jacuzzi as well.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street and the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for posting a review after your recent stay at Wildwood Snowmass. We're glad to hear that you found the decor to be "fun and funky" and that you liked the game room, pool and jacuzzi! We hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit Aspen/Snowmass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location of this resort. The bar had the best service and most reasonable food in the area. The rooms are "Ikea meets Hot Tub Time Machine" and may not be ideal for those looking for the mountain resort/lodge type stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the convenience of this resort and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're excited to hear that you thought the Bar at Wildwood had the best service and most reasonable food in the area. You'll love the location even more in the winter when you can walk to the ski-slopes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is not a bad hotel, but you do need to know what you are buying. This property was built in 1967 and is adjacent to the Westin. You can use the Westin amenities such as their workout room. However think aLoft in a 60's structure. The lobby and bar are new and my room had been redone. This was a summer stay. So, I can't comment on how the heat works, but it looked to be hot water radiators. There is no AC, but it wasn't a problem for our stay. The staff was good and the rooms were clean and functional with bright colors and a 60's retro vibe. All rooms open to the outside and some have balconies. My only complaint was that the mattress was a little low end and very soft, but all in all it was a good stay.

Room Tip: 4th floor offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregRCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear that you thought the staff was good and that your room was clean and functional. We hope to welcome you back when the snow begins to fall and you can experience the some of the best skiing around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
187 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Snowmass

Property: Wildwood Snowmass
Address: 40 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Snowmass Village)
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wildwood Snowmass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrill seekers, explorers and nature lovers unite! Whether you're hitting the slopes of Colorado's most popular mountain, hiking its verdant summer trails or indulging in Snowmass/Aspen's year round cultural events, we're your perfect home base. There is no shortage of things to do at the Wildwood itself, read a book in a chaise by the pool, warm up in European-inspired hot tubs or visit the Fitness Center for a quick workout. Walk to the slopes and hiking trails, or enjoy the many shopping, dining and entertainment options at Snowmass Village Mall. Relax fireside in the lobby or The Bar, featuring Colorado's New Belgium Brewery or Enjoy Double Black Noodle Bar, a Japanese-style ramen restaurant featuring unique noodle bowls ready to tempt your taste buds. With a variety of fresh herbs and vegetables, our chefs have created imaginative dishes with tastes and flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildwood Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing