We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG MISTAKE!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildwood Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wildwood Snowmass
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BIG MISTAKE!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you like drunks beating on your door at 11:00 PM, a midnight party of college frat punks on the 2nd floor that the "management" will do nothing about, smelly elevators with nasty carpets, incredibly poor food, cracked bathtubs, sheets that don't fit the bed, TV's that don't work, irons that leak water, phones with shorts in the lines, doors that don't lock, outside walkways that sag and collect lakes of water for you to walk through when it rains, windows without screens AND MOST IMPORTANTLY a cleaning staff that leaves your door open ALL DAY LONG and your personal belongings unsecured for over 10 hours.....then this is the place for you!

After complaining time after time of these problems the only thing the front desk staff would do was offer free food vouchers. That's like getting robbed at gunpoint and the police offering you a cheeseburger for your troubles....and a crappy tasting cheeseburger at that!

After four nights of the above treatment the Starwood Properties "customer service" guy offered to give me 1 free night in another, or the same, Starwood Properties! Of all the unmitigated gall. These people who run this Wildwood "resort" are not interested in your comfort...heck, they lose 8 employees or more in turn over every 2 weeks (I overheard this between 2 managers and the Chef as they stood commiserating in the lobby), so this could be one factor AND they are only interested in filling what they call beds. I also don't think anyone that works the front desk is over the age of 30.

The rebuttal replies on this very website will say the Wildwood property was built in the 1960's and will have some mechanical problems well, the last time I checked, Starwood generates over 8 figures a year in revenue so, here's a tip, Starwood......TEAR THE WILDWOOD DOWN AND REBUILD! They will also, however, say that this "resort" is geared toward the snow crowd and is great for those who want a 'bargain' but, leaving your room open all day long while you are away on business? Yeah, a bargain for those who would burglarize your room! The funny part of it is the Westin Resort is directly next door and they utilize the same employees! The guy who would do nothing at the Wildwood front desk one night served us our food (from those very same free food vouchers he gave us) at the Westin restaurant the next night!

DO NOT GO TO THIS "RESORT" unless you really like being uncomfortable and taken severe advantage of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at Wildwood Snowmass. All feedback, both positive and negative, is greatly valued as it can be used to help us improve the guest experience for all future guests. I am so sorry to hear that you personally had a bad experience. All of your comments have been shared with the proper department leadership teams. We take all reviews very seriously and appreciate the time it took for you to write it. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations the next time you are in Snowmass - perhaps at The Westin for a more upscale hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    54
    49
    77
See reviews for
69
64
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Okay - silly me for going to a ski resort in summer. It is in the mountains so it cools off at night. But there is no AC and no fans in the room. So we had to keep the window open. Problem with that was there were other guests hanging out and they were getting drinker and drinker. Lets just say I didn't get much sleep.

The service in the bar/restaurant was really slow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We're so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at Wildwood Snowmass. If we hear that there are guests creating a disturbance, we do attempt to quiet them down so that everyone can enjoy a good night's sleep. I apologize that this was not taken care of while you were here. There are more traditional hotel rooms with air-conditioning next door at the Westin, and we hope to welcome you back there the next time you visit Snowmass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowmass Village hotels

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great time! Very convenient to connected mall for eating! Great price in the summer. It is a Westin hotel. It is a hotel for skiers next to the ski lifts. They do take pets. This was the main reason we booked, instead of Aspen.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is level to parking! Don't have to carry luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 118LovelyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for the great TripAdvisor review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wildwood Snowmass. Though not part of the Westin brand, Wildwood and Westin are both Starwood properties. Wildwood Snowmass is definitely a great way to stay in the middle of the action while traveling on a budget. We hope to welcome you back for skiing this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel has been a shock from our first step...room not ready when we arrived at 1130pm. Only after check in we're we informed of the no AC thing...this should be well advertised. No fan was available, we also have a room facing the very loud noisy pool area. Told to leave the window open...no screen so that means anyone would just have to reach into the window and open the door. The clerk said "don't worry...it's pretty safe around here". Glad she feels comfortable gambling on my personal safety.
Don't waste your money, unless you come in with all the info.

Room Tip: You could try getting a room away from the pool to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I had a 5-day reservation, but left after the first night. The room was clean, but very basic, lacking the amenities that usually come with a 3 1/2 star hotel. Pegboard was used for the backboard of the bed and the drawers of the cabinets. The room was very IKEA. The rugs in the elevators were absolutely filthy. The hotel was filled with 20 to 30-year olds, who I'm sure were willing to put up with the inconveniences for the low price, but we weren't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

No A/C and windows are facing common balcony (read outside walkway) so they can not be opened. Furniture is very outdated. We stayed in the summer time, pool was open till late with loud music. We were tired but room was hot and we could hear people walking right outside our door/window. You really had to slam the door in order to lock it.
We went to have a snack at the bar and chicken wings were terrible.
I really have nothing nice to say about this place.

Room Tip: If traveling in the summer check if they have any rooms where you can open windows. Don't take r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosnian1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We're so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Wildwood Snowmass. It is true that there is no air-conditioning, and we are trying to be very upfront about that. Because it always cools down in the evenings in the mountains, many of the older buildings were not built with a/c, but more and more people just can't live without it. I have passed along all of your comments to the Executive Management team, and we do appreciate the feedback. Please visit us next door at The Westin Snowmass Resort the next time you are in Snowmass for air-conditioned rooms and a more traditional hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

While the bed in my room was comfortable and the other amenities were nice, I would never return to this property for the following reasons:

(1) Security - I travel alone for business and need to stay in a property where the privacy lock works and I can feel secure;
(2) Plumbing - The room is not "updated" if the plumbing is old and does not work properly - tub would not drain and tub handle came off in my hand. The tile is cracked and dirty.
(3) Quiet/good night's sleep - I cannot believe Westin would take deliveries for this property and adjacent Westin property at 3:30 a.m. when its guests are sleeping in the rooms above the loud delivery truck. I woke from a sound sleep to hear the truck parked and deliveries ensue.
(3) Access - I had to park in lot 12 and walk 10 minutes to even get to the property. Shuttle service was only available to "Westin" guests. I booked through Westin's reservation service and yet could not get shuttle service. I did get plenty of exercise, however.

Room Tip: Go to anther property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
7.0 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
7.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Snowmass

Property: Wildwood Snowmass
Address: 40 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Snowmass Village)
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wildwood Snowmass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrill seekers, explorers and nature lovers unite! Whether you're hitting the slopes of Colorado's most popular mountain, hiking its verdant summer trails or indulging in Snowmass/Aspen's year round cultural events, we're your perfect home base. There is no shortage of things to do at the Wildwood itself, read a book in a chaise by the pool, warm up in European-inspired hot tubs or visit the Fitness Center for a quick workout. Walk to the slopes and hiking trails, or enjoy the many shopping, dining and entertainment options at Snowmass Village Mall. Relax fireside in the lobby or The Bar, featuring Colorado's New Belgium Brewery or Enjoy Double Black Noodle Bar, a Japanese-style ramen restaurant featuring unique noodle bowls ready to tempt your taste buds. With a variety of fresh herbs and vegetables, our chefs have created imaginative dishes with tastes and flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wildwood Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing