We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspen Snowmass on a Budget”
Review of Wildwood Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wildwood Snowmass
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aspen Snowmass on a Budget”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For those who want to ski in/ski out at Snowmass at a budget, this is a good choice. It's not for those who want pampering. It's a nice, clean place to stay that is close to everything. The Village Mall is right there and you are less than 300 feet from the slope or a bus into town or one of the other three resorts. It is like an upscale motel. I got an expedia deal for $99/night peak season. I didn't expect the $20/night resort fee but it includes the free wi-fi, local calls and transfers to/from Aspen airport. Yes, you can hear people walking upstairs or cars driving in the street. I was so exhausted from hiking the Cirque and the Highland Bowl that I just fell asleep anyways. Would love if they had a microwave...otherwise at a budget, this place is nice.

Room Tip: There is a lot of walking and the elevators are slow. If you don't want to walk, find a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldtraveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    55
    50
    78
See reviews for
70
66
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Snowmass for a conference in March. We were a little reluctant about our choice of hotels when we read some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were met with friendly staff, they were very accommodating and were able to hold our luggage until our room was ready. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had tons of storage for unpacking. We brought ear plugs (anticipating the noise listed on other reviews) however, I only had to use them twice. For the most part things were quiet at night. When our flight was cancelled, they welcomed us back to our previous room, at a discounted price. The best advice I can give is... expect a clean, friendly environment. Very much worth the money that we paid. If you are looking for "The Ritz" type experience, then book somewhere else. This place was perfect for us and exceeded our expectations at a very reasonable price. You will be able to hear people walking around, and the people at the pool, and in village on Friday nights... so be prepared and bring earplugs! (or go join them!) We had a great time... hope you do too!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing the mountains are the best. Ours was on the second floor (same as the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgcpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco852
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great trip to Aspen but would not stay at WIldwood again. The hotel is advertised as ski lodge style and is a Starwood property. What we discovered is ski lodge=motel and a departure from every other property owned by Starwood. Here are some of the problems we experienced at Wildwood:
1. Cramped rooms with outdoor hallways, not what we expected.
2. Thin walls and room situated near pool made our stay miserable.
3. Motel style heat could not be controlled. We opened the window to cool the room, but the room would fill with smoke from people in the walkways.
4. Rusted fixtures in the bathroom. The hotel was painted.. But renovated? Really??? The shower handle fell off and had to be replaced b/c of rust.
We found that some of the hotel staff went out of their way to help with problems we encountered but there is no way to fix the real problem. We got a discounted rate at the hotel but still feel ripped off. I still can’t believe this is a Starwood property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, Manager at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
The Wildwood Snowmass is certainly not typical of any of any of Starwood Hotel's branded properties. It is a throwback ski lodge, and yes, in a motel style, that was built in the early 1960's that has recently received a cosmetic renovation with emphasis on style and skier convenience. We are working to set a very well understood expecation of the building and the limited services associated with this property as well as the older infrastucture associated with the buildings. The Wildwood does offer it's own great amenities such as the Bar at Wildwood, a beer hall partnered with New Belgium Brewery, a great outdoor pool and hot tub area and a throwback arcade above the lobby. Wildwood guests also have access to the Westin, next door, and the amenites, ski valet,. retail outlets and restaurants associaated with the Westin. So, if you are looking for a great location at a great rate, then Wildwood is for you! If you require a more full service experience, come see us at the Westin. Either way, you have access to great amenities and the best ski mountain in Colorado, Snowmass!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowmass Village hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great location within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping and the slopes. Clean rooms. Affordable price. Everyone just needs to be aware that the entrances to the rooms are outside and the walkways are made of some type of decking material which makes it extremely noisy as everyone is walking past in their ski boots and rolling their luggage. The windows are extremely thin and you can here everything outside your door. It's amazing how much activity goes on at all hours of the night. Didn't get good sleep due to that although the beds were comfortable. I had to stay in two rooms while here due to flight cancellation and there were issues with. The heat and not being able to turn down temp. Maintenance arrived promptly and I was told that heat was off and heat rises from the other rooms so had to open window too cool it down but NO SCREENS and right near elevator with lots of activity. .so I was too scared to keep window open..uncomfortably hot sleeping..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonkie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in March 2013 for the first leg of a ski trip in the Rockies. The hotel has been recently renovated by Starwood from an older place which I suspect was not the same class as this place is supposed to be. The design choice, an homage to the 70s and 80s ski scene I think, is an acquired taste. As I came to skiing after this period the clashing of colours reminiscent of the period brings back no memories, so left me cold. The heating in our room was faulty and we needed to get maintenance in to lower the temperature to something more bearable. We had to take two different lifts to reach our room on the second floor as well, which seemed strange. The location is great, however, and saved the place from otherwise being a frustrating experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_still
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Let me preface this review with the following: I am a avid traveler normally staying at W Hotels, Mondrian, Gansevoort, and other 4/5 star properties. So of course I enjoy luxury and 4-5 star standards, especially when in the Caribbean. However, while in Snowmass Colorado I was looking for more of a rustic true mountain destination and the Wildwood Snowmass encompasses that. This hotel is not a luxury 4-star property, however, if you want a cozy lodge like atmosphere then you will enjoy your stay here. The rooms are small and the bathroom basis but it truly feels like you are in the mountains on a ski vacation. Think camping or fishing trip. The staff is super friendly and the food at the bar is good. Despite what other reviewers have said this hotel isnt that bad. Again if you are looking for luxury you should stay in Aspen ( 25 mins away) at a 4 or 5 star property. However, if you are looking for rustic cozy accommodations in Snowmass close to everything ( the mall and a few restaurants/bars) then this is your best option outside of staying at a condo. Location is within walking distance to pretty much everything. In closing 4/5 star accommodations look elsewhere. Colorado rustic mountain hotel experience stay here! I hope this review was helpful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, General Manager at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay at the Wildwood Snowmass! Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the Wildwood for what it is....a true throwback ski experience centered around fun, location and great skiing. Oh, and great beer in our new Belgium themed lobby beer hall! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

An interesting place for sure. It was perfect for my solo vacation trip to ski Snowmass. The room was funky, in a retro kind of way, everything was clean and comfy. At first I didn't think I was going to like it, but overall it was good. Its different, that is for sure.
I liked the food and waitstaff in the restaurant, it worked out well to eat there.

Room Tip: be open minded if you want to stay here, it was a good deal, but not for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#1 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.4 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Snowmass

Property: Wildwood Snowmass
Address: 40 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Snowmass Village)
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wildwood Snowmass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrill seekers, explorers and nature lovers unite! Whether you're hitting the slopes of Colorado's most popular mountain, hiking its verdant summer trails or indulging in Snowmass/Aspen's year round cultural events, we're your perfect home base. There is no shortage of things to do at the Wildwood itself, read a book in a chaise by the pool, warm up in European-inspired hot tubs or visit the Fitness Center for a quick workout. Walk to the slopes and hiking trails, or enjoy the many shopping, dining and entertainment options at Snowmass Village Mall. Relax fireside in the lobby or The Bar, featuring Colorado's New Belgium Brewery or Enjoy Double Black Noodle Bar, a Japanese-style ramen restaurant featuring unique noodle bowls ready to tempt your taste buds. With a variety of fresh herbs and vegetables, our chefs have created imaginative dishes with tastes and flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wildwood Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing