We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average- book if you are on a budget”
Review of Wildwood Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wildwood Snowmass
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Fraser, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Average- book if you are on a budget”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went to Aspen to see the Xgames. All the hotels were outrageously expensive. Lucky for me I got a fantastic rate on hot-wire for $122 plus tax. The rate beat all the other hotels in Aspen and Basalt. For the price I paid I was fine with the accommodation and was glad I didn't pay the price advertised on Expedia. Yes I would prefer the Westin but I did not want to pay the price to stay there. On this trip it was only for 1 night and we didn't plan on spending much time in the room. The negative is that parking is an additional $30 and I didn't know until I arrived. There isn't a bellman and we just got a cart and toted our stuff to our room so it wasn't a big deal. The lobby and restaurant feels like a dorm or hostel. The new makeover gives a retro kind of vibe to the place. Although it has had a new remodel the exterior old and the floor plan is funky. The rooms feel a little dated and I wasn't big into the retro funky decor. I think they are trying to appeal to a younger, hip, cool crowd. If you enjoy luxury this is not the place for you.
Our room was average, the bed was comfy and the bath felt a little dated. I liked the duvet cover and down comforter but I wish they had given a blanket between the sheets and comforter. They have cubby space and a flat screen in each room. Another perk was a small refrigerator that was in the room. It's a basic clean room at a good price.
The staff is good and the service of the front desk and in the restaurant made the stay a lot nicer. The burgers are good in the restaurant. The new restaurant bar area reminds me of the living room of a hostel. I think they show movies and have live music sometimes. They have a ping pong and arcade room but I didn't go in it.
All in all it was a decent stay. It's great for the younger crowd. Would I stay here again? It depends on the vacation- for a romantic getaway no- but if price is an issue and I am not going to spend much time in the room or hotel- then yes.

Room Tip: Book on hotwire to get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    59
    51
    81
See reviews for
72
71
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just some things to be aware of when booking this hotel.

I didn’t think it would be necessary to call ahead and see if our room was ready because we didn’t checked until 3:30PM, on their website it states check in is at 3PM, I just assumed this was guaranteed like any other hotel. I wish I would have called because our room wasn’t ready until after 5PM, which was a result of me asking 3 times when our room was going to be ready and informing them we had dinner in Aspen at 6PM and both of us wished to clean up after our long day of travel. We still ended up having to cancel a reservation at Steak House 316 (a reservation I made 3 weeks prior because this is an extremely popular restaurant in Aspen). Once we were provided a room, without being informed of the change we had a room with two queen beds not a king room as booked. However, the room was located right near the bus station which was convenient for us.

I was also told when making my reservation (directly with the hotel) that parking was free because I specifically asked. I was curious if this would be an added fee when we checked in and if so how much. when I mentioned this at check the front desk agent said she didn’t know why reservations would tell me that and informed me it would be 30 dollars. No apology, and a look of “what do you want me to do about it” on her face. So that was helpful.

Don’t expect a bellman, we had to take our bags and skis to the room ourselves (bell cart does not fit well into elevator), which we weren’t provided any direction or orientation to locate room/facilities. At check-in I asked if we could leave our skis with ski valet for next day and they said the easiest would be to give them our equipment the next day after skiing and they could hold them over night. This really didn’t make sense to me because the easiest option would be to give them my skis now so I didn’t have to carry them up to my room, which was a pain trying to fit a bell cart and skis in their extremely small elevator. So since we were a two night stay with one day of skiing this service was not available to us.

From reading other reviews, I can agree that it does look like a glorified dorm room and you can hear everything (thin walls). There also wasn’t a trash in our room and there were still towels and an ice bucket on our balcony from the previous guest. I didn’t want to bug the front desk anymore so we never informed them of either. However, it was a clean large enough room with a comfortable bed. The interior and thin walls didn’t bother us, was just more annoying after our frustrating check in and having to change our plans that first night.

Basically if you are traveling on a budget and looking for a hotel with good location to the snowmass mall, the bus stop, and is also clean then this is a good hotel for you. My boyfriend described it as a good hotel for a ski trip with all his guy friends. I would only stay here again if I got a cheaper rate and wasn’t looking for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend, but next time will upgrade to the Westin Hotel. I wasn’t aware amenities such as a bellman, check in at guaranteed time, ski valet, more adequate service at the front desk, etc. would not be included at the Wildwood and this was my mistake in assuming and not researching the property. If you want better service and overall experience then you need to pay another $80 plus to stay at the Westin. I wasn’t expecting this to be a 5 star hotel but I also don’t think the issues mentioned above are too much to ask for at any hotel in Snowmass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skibumm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Wildwood is as close as you can get to ski in- ski out without technically being so. It's a bit of an older motel, but they've spun that into an endearing kitschiness that is kind of fun. The evenings include a fun bar with live music and movie nights. The two hot tubs, heated pool and arcade also make fun bonuses. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time to Snowmass and first time on tripadvisor. The Westin was terrific resort built inside a cozy town which replicates Belgium. Lot's of cool locals. New Belgium Brewery has one of the best pizza's I've ever had. The mexican pizza was off the hook!!! Femanda Palvin waited on us... great service with a perfect smile and really entertaining.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

“CLOSE TO THE SLOPES, good value on hotwire at $100 a night”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 NEW
- positives: close to lifts and the mall
rooms are adequate but dated - the whole facility is very dated, but they try to work with this to make it hip - it falls somewhere in between.
nice pool and hot tubs.
rooms were comfortable.
lobby is interesting.

cons: bar serves terrible wine
food is not great
parking is $30 if you are staying a day or a week

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

- positives: close to lifts and the mall
rooms are adequate but dated - the whole facility is very dated, but they try to work with this to make it hip - it falls somewhere in between.
nice pool and hot tubs.
rooms were comfortable.
lobby is interesting.

cons: bar serves terrible wine
food is not great
parking is $30 if you are staying a day or a week

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useotheracct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Wildwood for almost one week on January and to be frank, I believe this is not the season to visit it. They converted the property over 2012 but it seems to be "not quite there yet".
The pros:
1)Close to ski
2)you can use the Westin hotel's concierge and ski valet (which is literally next door)

The cons:
1)We went with our toddler and they literally took away our crib in the middle of our stay! there were no apologies and the explanation was "well, you know it's not guaranteed, right?"
2)You can hear people walking in the floors above you. We lived on the third floor and heard the people on the fourth floor walking in their hotel room all day long.
3) The Wildwood and the Westin offers free car service for some destinations. On one night, we asked for a car to pick us up at a hotel. It's a short distance walking but it was uphill and cold so we didnt want to expose the kids to the cold. Well, it took us 3 phone calls and over 45 minutes for them to arrive. In retrospect, we could have walked it in about 15 minutes but whenever we called, they would say that someone was coming to pick us up.
4) Elevator is old. It's a small property so there is only one elevator. At one point, I was with two other people waiting for th elevator and we thought it was broken because we had waited almost 7 minutes. Turns out, it's just REALLY REALLY slow.
5) We paid extra for adjoining rooms and they did not give us the rooms when we arrived. Took them another day to re-jiggled and get the appropriate rooms.

Summary:
Just be aware. The can be a good property and it has a great location. It's not supposed to have a lot of amenities but from our trip, the service certainly needs more work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMuch?NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, Manager at Wildwood Snowmass, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
The Wildwood Snowmass is certainly not typical of any of any of Starwood Hotel's branded properties. It is a throwback ski lodge that was built in the early 1960's that has recently received a cosmetic renovation with emphasis on style and skier convenience. We are working to set a very well understood expecation of the building and the limited services associated with this property. The Wildwood does offer it's own great amenities such as the Bar at Wildwood, a beer hall partnered with New Belgium Brewery, a great outdoor pool and hot tub area and a throwback arcade above the lobby. Wildwood guests also have access to the Westin, next door, and the amenites, ski valet,. retail outlets and restaurants associaated with the Westin. So, if you are looking for a great location at a great rate, then Wildwood is for you! If you require a more full service experience, come see us at the Westin. Either way, you have access to great amenities and the best ski mountain in Colorado, Snowmass!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowmass Village hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
187 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Snowmass

Property: Wildwood Snowmass
Address: 40 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Snowmass Village)
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wildwood Snowmass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrill seekers, explorers and nature lovers unite! Whether you're hitting the slopes of Colorado's most popular mountain, hiking its verdant summer trails or indulging in Snowmass/Aspen's year round cultural events, we're your perfect home base. There is no shortage of things to do at the Wildwood itself, read a book in a chaise by the pool, warm up in European-inspired hot tubs or visit the Fitness Center for a quick workout. Walk to the slopes and hiking trails, or enjoy the many shopping, dining and entertainment options at Snowmass Village Mall. Relax fireside in the lobby or The Bar, featuring Colorado's New Belgium Brewery or Enjoy Double Black Noodle Bar, a Japanese-style ramen restaurant featuring unique noodle bowls ready to tempt your taste buds. With a variety of fresh herbs and vegetables, our chefs have created imaginative dishes with tastes and flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildwood Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing