We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Wildwood Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wildwood Snowmass
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Terrible! This property has no SPG standards. Worst than an "Econo Lodge" but with high prices. Yes, its well located, adjacent to a mall where you may found ski rentals, restaurants, lifts... The heating during our check-in day was not working properly, inside of our room we had a temperature of 54 F; and housekeeping? no one came to our room to clean it during our two days stay. Dirty bath tub also. It seems that this 70´s old hotel was just refurbished and painted from the outside.The solution: pay the extra and move to the Westin. The personnel was really kind but without any experience.

Room Tip: Try to book at the adjacent Westin hotel, at least the heating works and you may found a clean room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdl_traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Wildwood Snowmass
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 279 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are just returning from a stay at the Wildwood and it was unfortunately the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Wildwood was recently "remodeled" but mainly in the bar/lobby area. The layout is similar to a 60's motel where your door opens to an outdoor hallway. This would work well in most locations but not where the temperature can be -10 and allows a draft into your already cold room. The noise level is HORRIBLE as they have no mats/carpets to absorb the sound of ski boots/luggage banging up and down stairs/walkways. The elevator has no heat and doesn't go to the top floor, you need to carry your luggage up an outdoor staircase that is icy. (Without any bellmen to assist you with luggage or parking).
The staff expresses no concern over major problems such as no hot water, no heat, and no housekeeping. There is a "what do you expect me to do about it?" response.
The bar doubles as a "place to grab food" if you are starving but takes forever. The breakfast is well below a budget motel offering only four options, order by number with no exceptions. Dirty plates and glassware are left all over the lobby/lounge area.
The location earns them one star but stay anywhere but here! It is not up to Starwood standards.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
7  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This just opened so there are some kinks being worked out. The rooms are small, but they are really inviting. The bed is comfortable, there is a ton of storage space and the design is cozy and thoughtful. The Lobby, Lounge and Bar are also really nice and laid back. Kids are playing, people are drinking and hanging out by the fire and it has a great vibe. The hot tubs are awesome. It's a great price for the area and we are looking forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madealotofstops101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

No hot water. No heat. Toilet clogs daily. Terrible attitude from employees....And you dont know who the employees are because they dont wear unifirms. Zero customer service. Front desk doesnt answer phone. No housekeeping - we took out our own trash after 2 days. No fresh towels or linens. No bottled water. No recognition of Starwood status. Basically, the wildwood opened way too soon and is not fit for people to stay yet. Great skiing though... Love Snowmass :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a business traveler, I travel every week and have stayed loyal to Starwood Properties. So loyal, in fact, that my husband I were married at a Starwood property this summer. We were so excited to hear about another Starwood property in Snowmass and excitedly booked a trip for us and our two sons. Upon our arrival we were given a room and when we got to the room it was a disaster. The bed was not connected to the wall, there were dirty towels and cups all over. My husband got us a new room- apparently this room had not been completed. It didn't get better- double charged for beer at the bar, poor service at the bar, they ran out of hot water or had a boiler break, our door was not put together well and we had a freezing cold draft 24-7, our room was not cleaned and we were kicked out of the lobby because we wanted to have a snack. If you don't want people to eat in your lobby, make the rooms bigger than a shoe box. As a Platinum member of SPG, I am thoroughly disappointed in Starwood on this one. My advice- spend the extra money to stay somewhere else. The only reason I didn't give one star was because the pizza was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It's probably our first and last visit to Snowmass/Aspen as we live in Australia.... don't stay here... it's expensive and the hot water ran out by 7.30 pm with no advice from anyone that there was a problem. We had requested a cot for a 1year old only to find out that there were 6 cots between this facility and it's brother Westin 50m away... for a mere 300 plus rooms, and none available. To make matters worse the Wildwood is touted as child friendly. I have used Sheraton before and found them great.... the Wildwood is hugely disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JutlandDalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Beer wasn't cold and wine was hot. Ok remodel the bar is downright heinous. Picture teal western theme. There's also a door directly behind the bar that was open showing a gross service station. Yikes. Not in a hurry to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cougarcubkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
188 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Snowmass

Address: 40 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Snowmass Village)
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Price Range: $88 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wildwood Snowmass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrill seekers, explorers and nature lovers unite! Whether you're hitting the slopes of Colorado's most popular mountain, hiking its verdant summer trails or indulging in Snowmass/Aspen's year round cultural events, we're your perfect home base. There is no shortage of things to do at the Wildwood itself, read a book in a chaise by the pool, warm up in European-inspired hot tubs or visit the Fitness Center for a quick workout. Walk to the slopes and hiking trails, or enjoy the many shopping, dining and entertainment options at Snowmass Village Mall. Relax fireside in the lobby or The Bar, featuring Colorado's New Belgium Brewery or Enjoy Double Black Noodle Bar, a Japanese-style ramen restaurant featuring unique noodle bowls ready to tempt your taste buds. With a variety of fresh herbs and vegetables, our chefs have created imaginative dishes with tastes and flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildwood Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing