We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite sure it is worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Snowmass Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite sure it is worth the price”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location is outstanding. Pure ski in and ski out in the heart of Snowmass Village. Overall the service was decent. I felt the ski valet, wait staff, bartenders and bell hops were all courteous and helpful. Although Aspen/Snowmass is expensive I felt the hotel was overpriced. It is around 500 dollars per night for basic room during peak ski season. For that price I expected luxurious rooms and I felt the rooms were fairly basic. Hallways and carpeting were old and outdated. In addition, if you are above the 5th floor you will spend a long time waiting for elevators. By day 2 I just started taking the stairs as I waited nearly 5 minutes every time to get into packed elevator. Also, hopefully you don't get delayed into Aspen by weather as they will not reimburse or credit you anything if you miss a night due at the hotel due to weather delays. I think a better deal may be to stay next door at the Wildwood. The location is just as good for half the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMZ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, General Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your experiences during your recent visit here at the Westin Snomwass Resort. It is great that you enjoyed our slope-side location and the service you received from our team. The Westin opened in November 2012 after an extensive renovation to all guest spaces. It is disapointing that you did not enjoy the finishes of the new guest room and I will be sure to share this feedback with out owner. The hotel, as you point out, is built up the ski slope, giving it the great ski-in/out location you enjoyed. You are correct, that guest rooms in the Alpine wing require a bit more walking and or more elevators to arrive. Next visit, you may enjoy a room in the Pinnacle wing, the central location of the hotel. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    238
    127
    75
    62
See reviews for
279
252
30
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had 10 wonderful days at the Westin Snowmass. The property is in the best location with easy ski in/ski out and great restaurants nearby at the mall. The 2Q room was not huge but we loved waking up to our beautiful view of he mountain and the village express lift! The lobby is hip and the fireplace cozy. It reminds us of the Westin in Beavercreek if you like that property but with a much better location!! We enjoyed our breakfast in Snowmass kitchen but only ate there once as we wanted to get onto the slopes as soon as possible in the morning. So the Starbucks right outside the door was good for us most ski mornings. We also had a nice dinner at Snowmass Kitchen. But I would not recommend lunch for skiers as the hardwood floors are dangerous in ski boots. One of our children slipped and had to take one day off skiing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, admin assistant at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. We're so glad to hear that you had 10 wonderful days with your family at The Westin Snowmass Resort. We hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

(+) Location is great, right on the slope of Snowmass Mountain and the mall. Bell-staff, Ski-valet, housekeeping and front desk staff were extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. (-) Getting to the room was inconvenient, had to take two set of elevators and stairs. Parking was not on-sight...Would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Air S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, admin assistant at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our location right on the slopes, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a great stay at this resort. Rose from the Kids Club made such a huge difference in our vacation. Our girls had such a good time that they cried when we returned home because they wanted to return to the kids club at the hotel. She took them on a little field trip and they enjoyed it so much that they insisted on taking me to see the mammoth museum.

Also Mike from the valet is awesome as is the entire valet team. Our car with stuck from the snow and the helped dig it out. Could of been a close call with the drive to the airport.

Room Tip: Try to score a room with a view of the ski hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_obvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, admin assistant at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for posting this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to hear that your kids had such a good time at Kids Club and that Mike and the entire valet team provided you with awesome service. We hope to see the whole family back again for your next ski vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I recently attended a conference at the Westin Snowmass. We had a few special requests and needs as my wife was pregnant and for the staff at the conference center and hotel to be more that accommodating. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and more than willing to go above and beyond to make our stay as great as it could be. One of the conference center and hotel managers, Michael Pastore was really helpful. We needed some assistance getting checked in, and getting our gear for off-time snowboarding and Michael really did a great job introducing us to the right people and ensuring our stay was amazing. The pride taken in the job was very evident and it made our trip all the better. We appreciate craftsmanship quality and attention to detail and this was a shining example. We will most certainly be back next year for the same conference.

Room Tip: Our room was slopeside and a great bonus for ski-in, ski-out. Ask for a slopeside room it will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, admin assistant at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after attending your conference at The Westin Snowmass Resort. We're so glad to hear that both you and your wife felt that everyone at the Westin was willing to go above and beyond to make your stay as great as it could be. We look forward to welcoming you back for your conference next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We are Platinum SPG members and as a family have stayed at 25+ Westins worldwide. The Westin Snowmass is the best we've ever experienced in terms of service.

Reservations: Candice Palmer -- we have eight thumbs in our family and all are 'up'. Thanks VERY much for sorting us out on what is probably the busiest weekend of the year for you guys.

Restaurant: Floor manager and wait staff all attentive and involved, unfazed by the hordes of kids, ours included.

Valet: Awesome, guys. Got our luggage organized and expedited in and out.

It's a great location - ski in, ski out and the village is there with dining and now even a bowling alley steps away. And there's a ski valet, just like the Westin Whistler.

The lobby lounge is a great place to hang out for a bit after the slopes to play backgammon with the kids. Hot tubs spacious and several outdoor fireplaces to sit by.

It's properties like this that make us want to give our business to Starwood. Thank you very much.

Minor quibbles: Need more elevators.

Thanks again Candice for the cookies!
Alex & Dylan and family

Room Tip: Anything above 2F ending in '05' should give you a decent view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, admin assistant at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate your loyalty as Platinum SPG members, and we are thrilled by this 5-star review. Thank you for the accolades for our hard-working associates, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome the whole family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This experience was such a let down. My husband and I wanted to go on our first solo vacation since the birth of our second child. We did lots of research on here, and really thought some of the reviews on here seemed a little harsh. We fancy ourselves pretty low-maintenance and thought maybe others were being a little dramatic. Turns out, we should have listened to the negative reviews on here:

For the positives:
-The location is truly impossible to beat. We loved the convenience of being on the mall and it was the ultimate ski-in/ski-out location.
- The ski valet was great. Staffed by a bunch of nice guys and never a wait or problem.

For the big negatives (won't go through everything we were disappointed in):
- The room was a huge letdown. For two people, on a romantic trip at a "luxury" resort, you couldn't tell from the room. Not only was it limited on space, storage, and ambiance, but it was incredibly poorly made. We put a towel under the door each night so the light from the hall wouldn't keep us up (not exaggerating), and the acoustics were as bad as other reviews implied. It made us feel like we needed to keep our voices down at night so we didn't disturb others. I almost cried our first night I was so disappointed I had spent $450 on a room that needed a towel under the door!?!
- The food was pitiful. $25 gets you a cold buffet and one cup of served coffee. From there, you are on your own as the staff have zero interest in serving you.
- The entire check-in process should have been a red flag. We pulled up in our rental and no one was at the bell/valet desk. There was one person working the check in desk for a four deep line. One person ahead of us was checking out and complaining and the next two guests were just in line to complain about their issues. After a 30 minute wait, we were handed keys and a map. No explanation of the property, no offer to get us help with our luggage, no orientation to the room... just "here are your keys." I had to ask about the reserved lift passes ("they aren't ever here. You just need to call the lift ticket office tomorrow." I had to ask about the car parking situation. I had to correct their booking error. Then my husband had to carry our luggage. In contrast, our $100 a night airport hotel in Denver involved a door man greeting us and getting our luggage, a warm welcome and hotel orientation, and a request for parking by the registrar. For $100 by an airport! It was truly salt on the wound.
- Housekeeping. They made the bed and threw some towels on the rack. They didn't restock our water one day, another day they forgot the coffee, and one day we ran out of toilet paper. Pitiful.

I really can't tell you how bummed I was. I booked and planned this trip for the most part, and felt the need to apologize to my husband on our way back to Denver. Luckily, he is a prince and we enjoyed our kid-free time together and had great snow for our skiing. Would return to Snowmass, but NEVER return to this property. May reconsider the Westin brand for a while after this.

I really only gave this more than a one for

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCD4983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Director of Rooms at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello WCD4983, and thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Westin Snowmass Resort. We understand that this was a very important time for you, and are truly disappointed that we did not meet all of your expectations throughout your experience. The opportunities that you mentioned are not the experiences or level of service that we want to provide our guests. We should be very attentive to your needs whether it’s pertaining to your room, your experience in our restaurant, waiting in line to check-in, luggage assistance, Housekeeping service, and all other services. We sincerely apologize for each of these inconveniences. Your feedback is truly valuable to us and is being shared with every department involved. We know that this experience has left you with some doubt about our property and the brand. But we certainly hope that if your travels bring you to Snowmass Village in the future you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with the more instinctive and attentive service that we strive to provide for every guest. Please feel free to contact us further with any questions or additional feedback that you may have. Again, we are very sorry that we were so inconsistent throughout your stay. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
7.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Snowmass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Snowmass Resort

Property: The Westin Snowmass Resort
Address: 100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Snowmass Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Snowmass Village, the Westin Snowmass Resort offers guests ski-in/ski-out access to Snowmass Mountain, which has more trails than any other mountain in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Snowmass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silvertree Hotel And Conference Center
The Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village
Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing