We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski in and ski out. Thats perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Snowmass Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ski in and ski out. Thats perfect.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excelent hotel location. Poor room distribution. I had to walk almost half mile to go to hotel lobby and restaurants and ski door. Best deal in the region. I would like to thank Francesca and her colleagues at breakfast room for excellent service there

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Director of Sales at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are working hard to improve our services and pass along your feedback to each of the team members involved. As you mentioned, our property is situated on the side of the mountain in more of a linear design compared to the traditional stacked design of many city hotels. While that does create better access to the slopes and more units with views of the slopes it does create a longer distance between rooms and the lobby and restaurants. While we cannot change the layout of the property, we are working on ways to better describe the layout to guests prior to their arrival so they realize it is not a traditional hotel design. Please be sure to request a location close to the lobby on your future stay and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes. Thank you for allowing us to be your hosts on your visit to Snowmass. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Summer and winter are both great seasons to visit Snowmass. If you have never been to Snowmass/Aspen in the summer, it's definitely worth the trip. Amazing weather, endless activities, great music festivals and cultural events. Come see us in the summer as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    224
    120
    73
    54
See reviews for
268
239
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The best thing going for this hotel is the ski-in, ski out location - which is great. The ski valet service is excellent. Other than that, it"s clear that this is an old hotel building which people have tried to remodel to Westin standards and not always succeeded. Decor is good, but public areas (reception, lobby, Snowmass Kitchen) are not really spacious enough to cope with large numbers of guests(especially when a conference is being hosted) and it"s true what previous reviewers have said about too few elevators; and poor soundproofing/low ceilings/small bathrooms in rooms. Also, while some of the hotel staff are very professional and friendly- sometimes service is patchy. We're in a slope side premium room, which is large and has an excellent view of Fanny Hill, although can be noisy. There is an over-bath shower in the bathroom and little space for storage in there. One thing - the Westin has no laundromat facilities (which other reviewers have mentioned) but you can step out to the Wildwood (just a minute's walk down the road), where Westin guests can use the washers/driers there, free of charge (get complimentary soap/detergent from the Wildwood reception desk). Overall, a good holiday - but for reasons given above and additionally given room rates it didn't seem that this Westin quite merited a 'very good' rating quite yet.

Room Tip: Try for one near an elevator (may save you a bit of time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Director of Sales at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our newly renovated hotel. As you mentioned we are working within the dynamics of a renovated hotel facilitiy built in a linear fashion up the side of a mountain versus a traditional stacked design, which provides convenient access to the slopes and more rooms with views, it does create the need to travel further from rooms to the common areas of the hotels. While we cannot change the physical structure, our goal is to improve our guest services to provide a pleasant experience for each of our guests. With this being our inaugural season, we have had a learning curve, but your comments on service will be shared with our teams and we will do everything in our power to improve our services for your next visit...so we can earn that Very Good rating from you next time. Thanks for your feedback and allowing us to be your hosts. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are continuing to enjoy our trip to Snowmass. My husband came one week early for a conference and the rest of the family came to extend the trip as the kids are off for the President's Day holiday. Love the renovations, even if the changes were cosmetic (roof leaking on our floor)- the lobby is lovely. We are staying in a lovely suite (521) and couldn't be happier with the room amenities and decor. We are able to see the slopes, hot tubs etc from our windows. I do agree with a prior reviewer that slopeside rooms might not be for everyone as the snow cats are outside the window a lot throughout the night with their beeping which unfortunately sounds just like one of my old alarm clocks. Location is great! Easy ski in /out. Can ski down or take a cute gondola to the ski school in the morning.
Now for the plan ahead stuff:
-the hotel only has 2 elevators and thus far they are both working, but it is faster to take the stairs during peak demand.
-the Westin Kitchen has a great breakfast, but there are issues with seating and table turnover efficiency. We had to wait nearly 40 minutes to be seated yesterday and they seemed completely overwhelmed. A bit stressful as we got there at 8 and had to have the kids at ski school by 9:30.
-issues with room service persist. Menu only on the TV and hard to find. My husband ordered room service and after an hour of waiting called to see what happened. They called back to say the food would be there in 5 minutes and would be free. When it came, it was good. Another family on the gondola today said their breakfast came an hour late (stressful due to ski school check-in deadline) but it was also free due to the problem.
-not a tremendous number of breakfast choices near hotel- Fuel gets great reviews on Tripadvisor, but my kids don't like breakfast burritos and bagels so it's unlikely we will try it, but may be a good alternative. Starbucks coming soon just outside the Westin on the mall.
-air in rooms very dry - they will bring a humidifier - had to wait over an hour for ours, but after 2 calls it came.
-try to beat the 9am rush at the ski valet, but they are the most efficient part of the Westin we've seen so far!! We've always gotten our own stuff back without any problems.
-had back to back reservations in the same room. When first reservation ended, our keys no longer worked and had to go down to the front desk to get rekeyed - not a big deal, but with kids exhausted and hungry after a day of skiing, this was a small unexpected hassle that could have been avoided.

I have to say, all things considered, we've had a great stay (I really love our room) and would love to return. However, for the expense and with the reputation of Westin and my prior experiences with them, there is room for improvement here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day vacation/business trip in Snow mass. We stayed at the Westin Snowmass and really enjoyed our stay. Obviously, the location is fantastic right on the slopes very convenient to ski in and out. The hotel is located in the Smowmass Mall as well, so shopping and dining are just steps away. We had great service from the moment we checked in until we departed. Since our reservations were somewhat last minute we had some problems with availablility; However, Kevin Viggers the express service manager was exceptional in making our stay come together seamlessly, this helped take the stress out of our stay so we could concentrate on having a great time. The room and amenities were very nice and comfortable. The spa and pool were roomy and always accessible they are located on the mountain side so the views are nice. The food at the Snowmass Kitchen is the best in the area and dinner is a must. Michael Pastore ensured our dinning experience would be the highlight of our stay. Overall we had excellent time and would recommend staying at the Westin to anyone wanting an memorable experience in Aspen/Snowmass.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Starwood gold member so I try to stay at Starwood hotels. I would not stay here again. It is in a great location and everyone is very nice, but it's lipstick on a pig. This is a very old building that they have updated. We had no air the first night and maintenance could not fix it so they brought us a fan. Only one window opened and the other was rusted shut. It was a miserable night. Not to mention our room (589) is at the bottom of the stairs where skiers come in. I was sitting in the room and had people knock on my window to let them in because their keys wouldn't work!!! Not my idea of vacation. The hotel did swap our room for us after we complained so the rest of our stay was good. This hotel needs a lot of work before its up to a Starwood standard.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaal S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Hilandl. Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and taking time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had. Your review has been shared with our property leadership team. We are working to address the opportunities that you pointed out with your initial room. Thank you for reaching out to our team during your stay and giving us the chance to provide you with a better room. I am delighted that we were able to provide a better experience for your after this move. We certainly would like to have you stay with us again in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss your concerns and to discuss a future visit should you choose to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

OK - want to be fair, so here are the facts.

Checked in today. Headline problems include (though there are plenty more):

- paid extra to guarantee connecting room types and had specific room types booked that were not delivered
- rooms were not ready at hotel stated check-in time

The Facts:
Reserved 2 rooms, both for over $400 per night. Paid $25 extra per night to guarantee connecting rooms. I have two little girls, and selected one room with 2 queen beds and the other king bed for the connected room. Have Westin reservation confirmation that confirms room types. Flight landed at about 1pm which is 2 hours prior to hotel stated check-in. Phoned hotel to request early check-in to let them the hotel know we arrived and will be at the hotel soon. Wanted associate on the phone to initiate the process to get our rooms ready when we reached the hotel. Arrived at front desk 45 minutes later (hour and 15 minutes prior to hotel policy check-in time) and nothing was done to expedite early check-in. Was told rooms were not ready and the front desk will call me when the rooms were ready. Took daughters to get fitted for skis and returned after the 3pm. Rooms were still not ready. Waited in lobby for 20 minutes, then only when I approached the front desk was told that one room was ready. Went to room and housekeeping was knocking on connecting door when I was entering my room and they indicated that the guests in that room hadn't even checked out yet. That was our other room.

At 5:00pm phoned the front desk to get status on the other room and was told it was ready and that they were sending somone up with the keys. 5:20pm no one arrived, had 5:30pm dinner reservations so had to leave. Went to front desk to collect keys, then went to dinner. Returned from dinner at 8:00pm and went into connecting room to learn it was not the same room type confirmed in my paper docs from Westin. Was king when booked 2 queens. Phoned operator who checked system which showed that booking was for two connecting kings (which is contrary to paper doc). Said manager was on the way up to discuss (they never arrived), and then was connected with some manager who said they would like to see the paper documention showing room types. Sent someone up to collect the confirmation. Indicated they could not accomodate reserved room type configuration, despite paying extra. Said they might be able to accomodate the next day.

Sent chocalate chip cookies and a few arts and crafts things to the room for the girls for the trouble.

There is an opportunity to make this right. Will they deliver. So far indications would say it's an uphill battle. Lot of money per night for this level of service.

Stay tuned...

Room Tip: elevators are unbelievably slow. request on that doesn't require you to use multiple elevators t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are having 11 nights at the Westin (I'm penning this at day 8)and it is fantastic, not perfect but very good. We are here for a medical conference of 5 nights, the balance a skiing holiday. The location is fantastic, being ski-in/out. The hotel has a free valet service for the depositing of your ski's, boots & poles overnight which is very convenient. The hotel has had a major upgrade & it's very comfortable. We have a mountain view room with skiers not 30 feet from our balcony, it's worth shelling out the bit more for this if you want a memorable stay.

The lobby is accomodating, very warm with great views of the mountain, slopes &village. The restaurant serves decent food, we had the buffet breakfast some mornings which offers a large choice of food at a decent price of $25 for the buffet. Also the dinner menu is quite reasonable too. There is better eating available outside the hotel but for convenience we had dinner a few nights "in". It was pleasant & reasonably priced.

Another plus is the free transfers offered to & from Aspen airport. Also theer is free wireless access in the lobby & guest rooms. The new beds, pillows & bedding are exceptional...you will sleep soundly.

There were few negatives & they were inconsequential. The lifts are a bit slow & the renovation in the bathroom could have been better if only they'd replaced the (repainted & peeling) bathtubs & the old toilet suites...a silly cost cutting exercise that marred an otherwise very good renovation.

If you're staying in Snowmass, it's a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, General Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Stephen M! Thank you for taking time to post a review of your current stay here at the Westin! Very glad you are enjoying your stay, the staff and the renovation. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you to make the rest of your 11 nights perfect! Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#1 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
6.6 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Snowmass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Snowmass Resort

Property: The Westin Snowmass Resort
Address: 100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Snowmass Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Snowmass Village, the Westin Snowmass Resort offers guests ski-in/ski-out access to Snowmass Mountain, which has more trails than any other mountain in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Snowmass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village
The Silvertree Hotel And Conference Center
Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing