We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has only been open for 7 weeks....needs work...great potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Snowmass Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has only been open for 7 weeks....needs work...great potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are an SPG Gold family of 5, and booked our stay using reward points. Our request for "connecting" rooms was cancelled by Management inexplicably just prior to our arrival. We never received an explanation. This is puzzling since: 1) we personally spoke with the Assistant Manager Rob Dario (sp), two months prior to our arrival, who arranged our accommodations....and.. 2) exactly 1 week prior to our arrival, knowing that they were likely going through some "growing" pains, I telephoned the hotel to confirm our connecting rooms. I received verbal confirmation that everything was in good order. Upon check in, i learned that the connecting rooms were "were not available" and we accepted two rooms across the hall from each other for our family.....not ideal, but workable.

The Ski Valet service is excellent. The staff are responsive and friendly, handling numerous requests with grace and aplomb. The Front desk team are polished and warm, however, with only three attendants, we experienced frequent waits...especially since the bell staff are generally under staffed, causing us to go to the front desk for all requests. The Spa is excellent and its staff is professional and knowledgeable. Our rooms were very nice, modern, and clean! The remodel is VERY well done!

As I mentioned, the hotel is working the "bugs" out: 1) bell staff and the "service express" desk is overwhelmed and poorly trained. They bungled, or even outright ignored numerous tasks including, our "check in" baggage, and our "check out" baggage, One staffer totally "blew off" our request for help when we were unable to enter the room occupied by our children because the battery on the door needed replacing. Were it not for us flagging down a manager, (Kevin), we would have missed our New Years eve dinner reservations. 2) the restaurant service is slow and generally unresponsive. 3) there are no laundry service on site. In addition, if you want to pay for laundry service, the hotel can only offer "two day turnaround" for items. This is simply unacceptable for a Ski Hotel. 4) the heat in the rooms is difficult to regulate, and at times "goes out." 5) the hot tubs are lukewarm, and sometimes "out of order".

The Hotel is in a great location, extremely convenient to restaurants and shopping. Once the Hotel works the bugs out...this will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: request a room close to the lobby to avoid using multiple elevators to get to the ski valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokester7306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, General Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback of your recent stay at the new Westin Snowmass Resort. Great insight here to how we can improve our service and now that the busy holiday season has past, we can take time to re-organize and energize improvments immediately. I am confident that your next experience with us will be vastly improved as our new team becomes practiced and comfortable in our systems and location. We do have amazing potential and I appreciate your taking time to give feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    224
    120
    73
    54
See reviews for
268
239
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

As noted in multiple reviews, this "new" Westin has multiple issues. We booked two rooms (connecting) for Christmas week. As we were traveling as a family with 3 small children, I specifically called and verified connecting rooms with the hotel management prior to arrival. Upon arriving, we were informed that our rooms were "on the same floor". After a one hour ordeal, connecting rooms were found. Upon entering the rooms, trash, dirty mops and garbage still remained (i.e. the rooms were not fully cleaned - 7:30 pm). Once the rooms were subsequently cleaned, we experienced the worst night sleep we have had in a long time. When the hotel was redone, there was no modernization of the plumbing or insulation. As a result, you can hear your neighbors, the hall, outside, above and below you. In addition, the plumbing did not work well, and every time someone flushed a toilet it was heard through the ceiling/walls (also, our toilets did not work well, running for 10 minutes after flushing). My eleven year old daughter, who can sleep through a hurricane, came into our room at 2:30 a.m. because she could not sleep from the hotel noise. After a horrible night, the front desk management informed us that we were stuck in our current rooms. Based on other comments, I suspect our rooms were not unique in the issues noted. As a result, we checked out after 1 night of a 7 night stay (despite the fact that we were staying for free on points - it was that bad). Of note, as I was checking out, the gentleman behind me was also leaving early for similar reasons.

In terms of the quality of the hotel, I have stayed at several other Westin ski resorts (i.e. Beaver Creek and Whistler) as well as the St Regis in Aspen and Deer Valley. This property does not compare to either of the listed Westin resorts - the rooms are cramped, dark and confining. They fit 2 beds - no where to sit. The ceilings are maybe 8 feet high. The redone lobby was airport like in its vibe. As best I can tell, the redo of the hotel was mainly cosmetic (the building is from the 70's).

The location is excellent for skiing Snowmass. However, the Viceroy Snowmass is a far superior property (we have stayed there as well), more in keeping with what a Westin ski resort should be.

I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for any sense of upscale luxury, space, modern design, or a good night's sleep. The overall quality was more in keeping with an inexpensive chain motel (think redone older Hampton's Inn, only noisier and not as nice).

Stay at your own risk - you were warned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made a quick trip over the Christmas holiday. Don't believe all that the reviews say. There was definitely a slight learning curve going on, but the staff were very helpful and were genuinely trying to accommodate everyone. For example we had a bit of an issue at check-in. The room was not ready even though it was after the check-in time. However, Jamal came right to our aid and straightened things out immediately.

Dinner at the Kitchen was delicious. The waitstaff and manager were all completely "on." The food was impeccable.

Overall I would say not to pass up the Westin. The site is beautiful and the skiing cannot be beat. Loved it and would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for Jamal for help with room problems. He was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Westin turned a tired resort hotel into 21st century state of the art operation. On the slope location can't be beaten and the rooms have been smartened up. The only problem is that not all the staff have been sufficiently trained and while all are willing, it would be better if more time had been devoted to getting them up to speed so that they can fulfill guests expectations. I am sure that it is only a matter of time before this is sorted out,and am confident it will be before our next skiing holiday. We will definitely be returning to this Colorado gem, if for no other reason than to spend more time in the spacious lobby with its futuristic style decor overlooking the slopes.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but slope side ones are so much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just completed my second annual trip to Aspen Snowmass, and was very pleased with the level of service, accommodations, food, atmosphere and location of the newly renovated Westin Snowmass. Last year, my family and I stayed at the St. Regis in Aspen, and this year we tried the Westin. We found the entire staff from the front desk, to the restaurant, bar, and ski valet to be incredibly helpful. Upon arrival, front desk employee Dave Palazzo quickly and professionally rectified an issue with our room. In the room, we were pleased with the space that we had to hang ski gear, the refrigerator, microwave (we requested one) and the view of the slopes. The beds were very comfortable and consistent with the heavenly bed at other Westin hotels. We also enjoyed the newly renovated lobby area which had hot cider each afternoon and a lovely fire. The lobby bar staff was expedient and friendly in servicing us. We dined in the Snowmass Kitchen twice and sat at the bar. Both bartenders were very knowledgeable about the area. We even had the opportunity to speak with the chef as he greeted customers. The restaurant had a nice selection of dishes native of Colorado and a nice atmosphere. It is definitely worth trying if you are looking for a quiet, nice evening and more of a "foodie" type meal. You are not going to see hamburgers on the menu at this restaurant. It was nice to have a good alternative for a high quality meal without having to trek into Aspen. The ski valet was convenient as it is located right on the slopes at Snowmass. Lastly, we parked a car and the attendants in Westin valet warmed it up and scraped all of the snow before handing us the keys. In summary, I found the Westin to be a great experience and a comfortable hotel to spend our family ski vacation. We will certainly return next year. We appreciated the relaxing feel to the property and the convenience to the slopes, shops at Snowmass and the bus service from Snowmass to Aspen. I would recommend this hotel to people who are looking to ski for the better part of the day, and who are looking for a relaxing place to stay. The Snowmass location is probably not great for those looking for the social scene in Aspen. We did that last year and stayed at the St. Regis, and for a ski holiday, the Westin was convenient and perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, General Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Lisa! Thank you for taking time to give a very comprehensive review of your recent stay at the new Westin Snowmass Resort! Very happy that you enjoyed your stay, our new staff, the amenities and new look of the hotel and the convenience to skiing Snowmass. We look forward to your return next December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Extremely Disappointed!!

As a Platinum SPG member, we must have received the worst room possible at this hotel. Obviously they did not plan ahead for our arrival. We almost left and went to the Viceroy down the street which in hindsight I wish we had. Our view was into a hallway of another part of the building. I ask to be moved 4 times and each time completely ignored. Each time I called down, they said they would call me back and never did. Caution: don’t expect a room with a view at this hotel. From what I can tell, it appears there are many rooms without much of a view. They just acquired another hotel here and completed a renovation. The renovation is nice and tastefully done. The staff is nice and pleasant but feels like they weren’t prepared.

I liked the location for sure. But so many other issues would prevent me from recommending this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel. There are far too many better options here.

I valeted parked the 1st night but later found my car out front of the hotel with the door of the car open hours later. Needless to say, I parked the car myself the rest of the week in designated parking.

The heated swimming pool is a waste.. it’s a splash pool. The Jacuzzi’s outside were never hot…just warm. The setup outside at the Jacuzzi was just awkward to use it. Only a single bathroom outside so only 1 person at a time could change, etc.. Obviously not much planning went into this design.

Our room was in a separate building which I think was the hotel they acquired which meant we had to go up 3 floors from the lobby, walk a mile, then up another elevator to our room which took forever to get to our room. We finally figured out how to get out of the hotel and walk around it so much quicker than navigating inside. Pretty ridiculous.

I won’t go back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I had a fantastic time here at the Weston Snowmass. The staff, amenities, location, service and accommodations were excellent. Everyone was helpfully and wanted the hotel guests to be happy and special thanks to Jack Healy who made sure my family had everything we needed. We are looking forward in returning in December of 2013 to the best hotel and location in Snowmass.

Eric R

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurnow, General Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Eric, thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the new Westin Snowmass Resort! Very happy you enjoyed your stay and noticed how hard our team is working to extend great guest service. The holidays were extremely busy and our team is learning every day. Thanks also for mentioning Jack who does a great job. Look forward to seeing you again next December and hopefully in between!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
6.6 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Snowmass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Snowmass Resort

Property: The Westin Snowmass Resort
Address: 100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Snowmass Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Snowmass Village, the Westin Snowmass Resort offers guests ski-in/ski-out access to Snowmass Mountain, which has more trails than any other mountain in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Snowmass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village
The Silvertree Hotel And Conference Center
Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing