We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location on the mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“The best location on the mountain”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

The Mountain Chalet at Snowmass is the most perfectly located hotel on the mountain outside of the Silver Tree Hotel. This hotel literally is 20 steps out the front door of the hotel to skiing down to the lift lines. Its also a 1 minute walk around the corner and up the stairs to the snowmass village bus station (free) and to the Snowmass Village Mall with all the shops and small restaurants and the free Shuttle into downtown Aspen. Couldn't be more perfectly located, you don't need a car, but we rented one anyways and left it in the lot across from the hotel for $25 for the week, never took it out. Its about a 90 min ride from the Vail Eagle Airport, shorter if the weather isn't icy or snowy.

The Hotel: Awesome. You walk in the front door and the ski rack holders is on your left, in a small closet with your room number on the slot, and the front desk is next to that. Opposite the front desk go up 2 stairs to the lobby/sitting area, quaint but huge couches and tabels and chairs, a great big fireplace, windows and a large tv that all watched the Olympics on. The fire place, anyone can light it, plenty of wood. Free access to the internet in the lobby for guests, no kids under 16 for business use, but you can check your email quick if need be. They had free coffee/tea. hot chocolate and water in the lobby next to the only 1 elevator, its small, but it works. The main floor is the 3rd floor. 2nd Floor is where breakfast and lunch is held, included in the price, awesome. Each day a different food fried eggs/scrambled eggs, pancakes, french toast with either bacon or sausage, they give your tea coffee, juices, and a choice of oatmeal or cream of wheat that they serve, otherwise they have cold cereal, toast, fruit and yogurt and each day was a different coffee cake, blueberry, peach, strawberry, apple cinnamon etc, all very good. Tables sat 8 so we always sat with other people. This hotel is known for families that have been coming here for 40-50 years and the breakfast menu hasn't changed they told us. Can't beat it.

Our Room was 410 and 411, 1 flight up from the lobby. There are 4 of us 2 kids ages 11 and 15. The kids had the room next to us, a queen bed with a pullout sofa, ceiling fan, humidifier, full bathroom with toilet shower separate from sink area, etc. Ours was the same but a king bed. If you wanted robes for the pool just get them at the front desk and hang onto them for the time your there. We had balcony's in both rooms with chairs and we overlooked the mountains and the chair lifts. Bed's were comfortable, TV's antiquated but worked nonetheless, had a fridge in the room and the furniture was rustic, headboard looked like tree's and the tables had tree legs etc, kind of neat. Clean and great room service.

The pool was on the first floor, had a little heater outside the door before you dashed to the pool and the hot tub was in the corner of the pool so you could jump over the side into the pool, perfect water temp too, overlooking the skiers coming down the mountain.

Great hotel, its not the Ritz but it was clean, neat, the staff was friendly, the location was awesome and the lobby sitting area was great.

Outside the hotel were gondola's that you could use at night to go down to Sneaky's Tavern or the Sweet Life for dinner and dessert. Free.

We ate at Big Hoss, awesome food and service, ate there a couple of times. Sneaky's Tavern was very good and the ice cream at Sweet Life is all home made. We went into Aspen for dinner at the La Cantina, excellent service and Mexican Food. Ate at the Steak Pit one night, that was good, avoid the prime rib and stick to the Filet. The prime rib was fatty. Salad bar, bread and sides were all good, pricey but worth it for a steak house.

Avoid Brothers Grille in the Silver Tree, it was just awful, service was good, food awful.

Skiing on the mountain, you must eat at Sam's Smokehouse. Get there right at 12pm and you won't hit a line. Just amazing pulled pork sandwiches, a great meal. They have ribs too. The other restaurants ont he mountain we didn't have a bad meal, all cafeteria style, but really good food.

If you get a chance to hike up to LONGSHOT (Blue trail) do it when its groomed. It was awesome, otherwise its a lot of work on the way down.

Aspen downtown had a lot of shops/galleries and fur places, not too many family friendly shops. Wasn't impressed with the shops in Aspen, Breckenridge, more family friendly atmosphere and better shops. There were a lot of other Restaurants that we never got to but looked really good in Aspen. Don't eat at the Mountain Dragon in Snowmass, just bad food and service, that was a mistake and do make reservations if you go to any restaurant, really needed them most places. Make them before you go.

Mountain Chalet, we all would go back in a heartbeat, couldn't beat the location and the skiing was great. Vail still tops Colorado for skiing, but Snowmass is a close 2nd.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 46oceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    61
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
58
42
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madison, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Pros: It's right on the slope, near the town center and is perfect for skiing. Rooms come with a refrigerator. Has a complimentary breakfast and lunch which I can imagine would save A LOT of money if you're traveling with kids or a few people per room. I don't know what happened with the other reviewers but I found the staff to be perfectly accommodating to all of my questions and concerns.

Cons: The building is very dated and kind of smells, definitely not a romantic getaway spot. The ski storage space is pretty small. Apparently they have complimentary shuttle service from the airport but they do not say this on their website, would have saved me 30 dollars if they had... Oh and the walls are pretty thin so you will hear your neighbors if they're loud...

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onehappybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We just returned from one of our best vacations ever. We skied at Snowmass and stayed at the Snowmass Mountain Chalet. Chris at the front desk was as nice, knowledgeable and helpful as anyone could be - with great suggestions for dinner and activities. The hot tub was convenient. The front lobby was welcoming and the lounge in front was such a great hangout, with the nice fireplace to keep us warm and games to play. We also enjoyed the granola bars waiting for us in the lobby.
The location was perfect, too. Right on the slopes and steps away from the 'mall' area, with shops and restaurants. It got cold at night and so we really enjoyed being so close to everything!
The meals were perfectly situated, with breakfast included every day. The soup lunch was perfect for most of us, but not filling enough for my son, so he just went and picked up a $7 sandwich at the mall, which is steps away. The advantage of having the soup lunch available was that there was a table waiting for us... the one day that we ate at a place on the ski mountain, we had to fish around to find a table and it cost us $65, which, of course is typical... instead, the rest of the days we skied right back to our hotel - what a pleasure!
We met another family on the second day who told us this was their 16th year vacationing here at this hotel. We could see why! Hopefully we be back also!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Party0fF0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed during the off season, but the whole reason for our trip was to visit Woody Creek which is 5 minutes away. For the money, it is in a great location. The rooms are basic, but clean with a little charm to them. We had an issue with our toilet not flushing properly & even though it was 10:30 pm, we still were able to reach a maintenance person who temporarily fixed the problem until the next morning. While we were out sight-seeing the problem was permanently fixed. We were offered another room if it couldn't be fixed but that turned out not to be necessary. Snowmass is also about 10 minutes from Aspen, which is nice since it's very expensive to stay anywhere in Aspen. The breakfast was included, was freshly cooked and tasted pretty good. I might try a different hotel the next time we in Snowmass just to see something different to compare to, but I would probably return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombshelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Not easy to find, Check in receptionist made us feel very welcome, Room comfortable, Bed hard, Lovely fan above bed,Fridge in room, Tea/Coffee in lobby 24hrs, Free internet in lobby 24hrs, Swimming pool and hot tub,
Parking 2 blocks away "Free" in summer, Breakfast OK!, have to share with others on table, Beware middle of September after 5.00pm could'nt find restaurants open, only option was to drive or order pizza.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjames03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The rooms were clean but they are very dated. If you like a FIRM mattress you will be happy with the beds. The living area space was definitely not designed for King beds and I had about a foot between me and the wall on my side of the bed. The separate area for the toilet is very small and when in a sitting position your shoulder hits the toilet paper holder.

Did not care for the fact that we had to park our SUV two blocks away from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thoroughbredlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to book on this place for our summer getaway. The location was great. Close to everything in Snowmass. The staff were very friendly. However, for relaxation and romance it was ok. The beds weren't super comfy and didn't have great ambiance. We heard kids running in the hallways and a baby crying throughout the night. The warm breakfast was great in the morning. If you're going for a family type vacation, this is your place. The rooms were spacious.
If you're looking for a comfy romantic, rustic place, you should maybe consider another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonaVSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#1 of 13 in Snowmass Village
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
182 reviews
6.8 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
7.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowmass Mountain Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowmass Mountain Chalet

Property: Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Address: 115 Daly Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowmass Mountain Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Snowmass Mountain Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowmass Mountain Chalet Hotel Snowmass Village
Snowmass Village Mountain Chalet
Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing