We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Dog Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great for Dog Owners”
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Snowmass Mountain Chalet for four nights with our two dogs. The hotel gave us a room on the ground floor, with direct access to a quiet grassy area right off our room. It was an excellent set up for pet owners.

We were accompanied by four other people, who stayed in different rooms. They all approved of their rooms and of the hotel accommodations.

The room was very clean when we arrived, and was kept clean during our entire stay. When we had to leave the dogs in the room unattended and undisturbed, the staff would leave fresh towels and glasses by the door for us to bring into the room ourselves. The beds were comfortable.

The room had PLENTY of storage for the excessive amount of stuff we brought with us. There was a nice sized refrigerator in the room for storing our snacks and drinks. The bathroom area was a little small, but we made do.

We used the pool and hot tub one night, and they were warm and clean. The dogs weren't allowed in the pool area, which kept us from using it more often. The hotel and pool back right up onto the ski run, which made for a nice quiet setting at the edge of Snowmass Village.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room. Breakfast in the summer when we were there was basically one or two hot items each day, with breads and cereals and fruits every day. It was decent, but it would have been nice to have a little more choice of what we ate. Diners are seated as they arrive at tables of 8 seats, so you may be seated with strangers each day. We had to specially request to be seated with our friends on a couple days when we arrived at different times.

The hotel has a large lounge area off the lobby that made a great place to meet up with the rest of our party. There was a computer with free internet access located there, as well as a book with a copy of all of the menus of the restaurants in Snowmass Village, along with a few from Aspen. We enjoyed Montagna and Rustique in Aspen, and Il Poggio in Snowmass Village.

Parking leaves something to be desired. There is no guest parking at the hotel - you have to walk a block or two through the village, and up/down a hill to get to the parking lots. Parking is free, and was readily available, but it was a bit of a hike. They do allow you to load and unload your vehicle at the door to the hotel when you arrive or depart, though.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It's nothing really special, but I believe it was a good value for the price we paid, and it met our needs rather well.

  • Liked — The direct access to grass for our dogs.
  • Disliked — The hike to the parking lot.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2FlyingYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    61
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
58
42
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Stayed here with family for a couple of nights . I will never ever stay here , the attitude of the front desk manager is disgusting . she never smiles , not responsive , not helpful . The hotel is ok.. but this kind of attitude from the hotel staff just spoils the vacation .. i would not recommend this hotel ....

  • Liked — Snowmass , Aspen - Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Attitude of the Front Desk Manager ....
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

The hotel is tucked into Snowmass Village, close to pretty much everything in the area (that we did anyway!). The room was clean, very spacious, and had a ski lodge feel to it. It had a small balcony and refridgerator, two huge pluses in our book. The breakfast, which is included, was a perfect start to our days and the internet in the lobby was of great use. Just down the drive, a quick walk away, is the Village Mall, which houses cute shops and restaurants (Nardi's was excellent for dinner). Also, the hotel was convenient to the biking trip we had booked through Blazing Adventures - only a 5 minute walk to the meeting spot!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sandradt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bay Area
Level Contributor
389 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I've stayed in the Mountain Chalet several times and my experience has been universally satisfying. This is a decent hotel, with good (and unobtrusive) service close to the ski lifts. The staff was helpful, gave good hiking advice.

I especially appreciated free WiFi, although if you need to be wired, you should probably get a room close to the main router. My room was in a faraway corner and i had some access problems.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cuckatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2008

An absolute PERFECT week in Snowmass. The chalet is great! Our room had an awesome view. The pool was warm! Went swimming with it pouring snow around us! Nice big robes to wear to the pool are provided. Two meals per day provided...breakfast and soup for lunch is perfect.....Ski in and ski out....ski rental shop is right next door...shopping village is also right next door...you have to ride a free tram to a grocery store....exercise room...very nice lobby and fireplace room to relax in....hot chocolate all the time! PERFECT trip! short ride to aspen....free ride..

  • Liked — ski in/ski out was easy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TNgirlChattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

We stayed at the Mountain Chalet because of reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not sorry. This is a great place to stay and ski. Ski in/ski out. Free shuttle to and from the airport. Good breakfast, homey atmosphere. The bathrooms are a little small as others have noted but we found we weren't in our room much. The hotel is set up so you can meet others - family style breakfast and lunch and a nice cozy large livingroom type of lobby. We met people from all over the US. Great skiing (most snow they have had in 25 years). You do need reservations for dinner at most of the restaurants in Snowmass Mall which is across the street. The hotel will give you suggestions and make them for you. Eat at Il Poggio (authentic Italian) and The Brother's Grille.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank italygirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed one night. Our room and the common areas were very clean, the service/staff was great, and the breakfast was good. The bed and the linens could use an upgrade. Our room was chilly but we never inquired about getting the heat turned up, the common areas were comfortable.

  • Liked — The service and breakfast.
  • Disliked — The bed.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#1 of 13 in Snowmass Village
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
182 reviews
6.8 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
7.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowmass Mountain Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowmass Mountain Chalet

Property: Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Address: 115 Daly Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowmass Mountain Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Snowmass Mountain Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowmass Mountain Chalet Hotel Snowmass Village
Snowmass Village Mountain Chalet
Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing