We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confortable and nice welcome”
Review of Laurelwood Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laurelwood Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2011

In the middle of the mountain, a small studio apartment at a good price and very comfortable
Inviting place, where one feels good, a bit hot spa but appreciable
an ideal place to cut some of the world and the stresses of everyday life, change of scenery, warm welcome ...and so close from the center wher you can find all you need.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cécile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 246 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2011

I am Brazilian and I stayed a week at the hotel.
It seems that there are two types of rooms, those who have already been modernized, and those who were not. I was not in modernized.
The room is large with fireplace, full kitchen and grill on the porch. The shower is not the greatest, but fulfilling its function. Everything in the room works, but is of 1970/80 ... it's funny to use a blender, a microwave or a refrigerator with more than 30 years ... The dishes, cutlery and glasses were not very clean, being necessary to fill the machine and wash everything at the beginning of the stay.
The bed is horrible. The pillows are horrible. The sofa bed is horrible. In fact, the main problem is this. Other problems described are not prevent new stay.
Internet for free.
CALLING TO ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD FOR FREE.
Ski in and out.
Parking rate of $ 25.00 per week.
If you changed the beds and pillows I hostel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFloripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed in a studio for 7 nights and we skied 5 days. The Laurelwood staff was friendly. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Have a wood fireplace was nice and there was plenty of firewood available. The kitchen was updated, but there was not enough glassware, no soup ladel and only one pot lid. The best thing about Laurelwood its easy access to the slopes. The access path through the snow is just outside the back door and less than 50 feet to where you can put your skis on.

The downside of Laurelwood is that some units are close to the parking lot. We heard the high pitched (beep-beep) back-up noise from the snow plows every morning at 6am (and one day at 5am). BRING EARPLUGS. The condo is a 5 minute steep walk down to the Snowmass Mall, which has numerous ski shops but pretty limited eating options (and no grocery store). The carry-out bakery at the mall has delicious muffins.

Snowmass is a skier's paradise and it is huge. For intermediates, it is comparable in size and variety to Vail's front side and Blue Sky Basin combined. The drive from Denver was about 5 hours in the snow..not too bad, but seemed long compared to driving to Dillon or Vail. I recommend renting a car in Denver instead of flying into Aspen. The Aspen airport was closed from Friday night through Sunday due to low visibility during 3 days of snow.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We booked a week’s skiing between Christmas and New Year late in 2009. As you can imagine, this was not the best way to get a low cost trip. We decided on the US because you can virtually guarantee good snow conditions, but we needed to avoid paying top end fees. Having originally planned to return to Vail, our American friends persuaded us to go to Aspen, having spent 11 years there as ski instructors. It was a late booking; if you have ever looked for late availability, you will know there are top end prices or bargain basement away from the action.

Interestingly, around 20 minutes drive from Aspen is Snowmass, which we now think is a better skiing for intermediate skiers such as ourselves; 4 peaks of sufficient variety to keep an interest. Prices were more reasonable although it was never going to be a super cheap vacation.

We stumbled on Laurelwood Condominiums after an internet search on the usual sites. We did some more research, but can now say their own website does not do the standard of accommodation justice. So often, hoteliers describe their rooms as luxurious, but the quality of the Laurelwood's rooms, thick bed linens, quality towels, crockery and full kitchen facilities really deserve this accolade. We knew our room would be a studio but it was very comfortable, with an open fireplace; an abundance of wood close at hand. We paid for a premium condo, which included a fireplace and mountain views, and would recommend this. We are not sure if the premium condo meant it was accessed from an outside corridor, but if not, know that some condos are accessed from inside the main building, so have people walking by. Luckily, ours was not - we were in #114.

Upon arrival on a Saturday evening, we were warmly welcomed by Jamie who spent time introducing Snowmass, facilities of the town and also the condos. We were a bit jetlagged, tired and confused given the flight from Europe and then the 4 hour drive from Denver, but she was so sweet and patient. The genuine ski-in and ski-out facilities are a true asset; the secure ski racks positioned ideally for this. The condo has discounts with local ski firms which helped with the budgeting for skis.

The skiing in Snowmass is great, although beginners may find Buttermilk a better option. There is not much in the way of après ski, so if this is your thing, then Aspen would be better. Did we mention there is a free shuttle bus between Snowmass and Aspen that runs throughout the day until past 2am? Incredible isn’t it? It even ran on New Year’s Eve. Isn’t it rare to find things that are genuinely and usefully free? We went to Aspen a few times, but were happy just to be in the condo in the evening taking in the films on cable with the usual fare of beer and takeaway pizza.

After each day skiing, we were able to join other guests in the outdoor hot tub; safety first: no glasses around the tub, so keep the water fountain cups you use in the restaurants on the slopes (think of it as recycling). Snowmass was regularly at -10C, so you come out of the hot tub with freezing hair whilst your body is boiling. It’s lovely under the stars at night and we certainly met a few characters, most of whom were surprised we had made the trip from Europe.

You may ask what could make this place better? We can only think of a separate communal room with warm air to dry the ski boots and to store skis and kindling in addition to the provided logs for the fire. A full deep bath tub would benefit, rather than only a shallow bath and shower. It’s fair to say these were not promised in our booking and they’re at the margins of quality, so rest assured we were otherwise satisfied.

One final point is that the condo is on a steep hill (all-the-better for ski in and ski out) but even the short walk up from the village is a trial at this altitude. So, be prepared to take the free shuttle bus up the hill, or to question your own fitness if you find it difficult to make it the few yards to your front door.

Happy skiing and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I couldn't have been happier staying at the Laurelwood which I chose because of wanting a full kitchen condo for us. The staff was very accommodating and the condo was beautifully decorated. The kitchen was outfitted with only the best utensils and appliances. The grill on the patio was a bonus. We were able to park very close (the pics and descriptions had me worried). My ONLY negative critique was that the hot tub was only open from 1PM to 9PM and it was locked after hours. The walk down hill to the mall was easy but walking back uphill took a little effort.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Location, location, location....perfect! Clean rooms, fully furnished and updated; storage for skis, walking distance to Mall and friendly efficient service. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank granderuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed at Laurelwood for three days and we had a wonderful experience. Not only had the unit a brand new kitchen, but it also had a 40" LCD and a very comfortable bed.
We really enjoyed it. We travelled with our 2 year old baby and we asked for a crib. First, they told me they charge 10 usd a day for it but when they saw my face they decided to waive it, so please ask about this cost in case you need it.
The complex is about 15 minutes from Aspen downtown, it's very quiet and the scenery is just great.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Diego_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowmass Village hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Timberline Condominiums
The Timberline Condominiums
#4 of 23 in Snowmass Village
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Studios

Address: 640 Upper Carriage Way, PO Box 5600, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range: $107 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurelwood Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LAURELWOOD offers spacious, recently updated ski-in/ski-out condominium suites. Each individually owned and decorated suite has a private balcony or patio with an electric barbeque grill, wood-burning fireplace and full kitchen. The 540-square-foot studios accommodate up to four people comfortably. For privacy, a floor-to-ceiling partition wall can be pulled to enclose the bedroom, which features a queen-sized bed. Two doors to the bathroom - one from the bedroom, one from the living space enable greater privacy and convenience. Each studio also includes a queen sleeper sofa. Enjoy the convenience of free wireless internet, free worldwide calling and satellite television with multiple HBO channels. At the end of the day relax in our spectacular two-tier stone hot tubs. Available in premier or deluxe room types, our condominium suites are based on interior decor, regardless of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laurelwood Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Studios Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing