We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Timberline Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in unit 117 on the ground floor. It was very small. Comfortable bed, but it took up most of the condo, Small fold out table, with 2 wicker chairs. Had to sit on the bed to watch TV. There were no dressers or storage for clothes except for a very small closet rod. It was billed as having a kitchen, but it consisted of 2 small burners, (no oven) a microwave and small sink. The refrigerator was about 2 ft square with no real freezer. We brought food to cook including frozen items which we tried to keep frozen outside. On the plus side, the room was very clean, and the staff was very friendly. There was a nice hot tub, and gym. We will not stay here again, as it was little more than a hotel room

Room Tip: May have bigger rooms with full kitchen, if so that would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 teens) stayed for a week in unit B1D over X-Mas and we had a pleasant stay. Unit: It is on the ground level of one of the bldg., and I found it exceptionally quiet. Large living room with a gas fireplace, 1 kids room with 2 beds facing a bathroom/toilet, 1 master bedroom suite (shower/toilet). The kitchen was well equipped, fridge and oven almost brand new and a lot of cooking ustensils. The DVD did not work properly -it scratched the DVD the kids got for X-Mas. Some units face each other and may not have "a view" but we could see the mountains which was nice at sunset.
Ski: I agree with other reviews that you have to lock your skis outside on a rack by the condo building but it doesn't look very secure.Talking about ski-in/ski out, there is no valet so you have to carry your skis from your condo to the slope, but I still consider it ski-in/ski-out, and you can access the slope (easy green) to the main gondola for anyone who is not a total beginner. We took our skis at a rental shop in the mall, walking there was easy.We have always had good snow in Snowmass and we really enjoy the all-levels slopes.
Shopping: We could walk 2 blocks down the hill to go to the mall but had to take the shuttle to go to the grocery store (from the lower level of the mall) and took another shuttle back to the condo entrance. Shuttles run every 20mn. I had made some on-line grocery shopping before arrival and everything was nicely put in the fridge and counter, which was very convenient as we got in the condo around 9:00pm. There is a restaurant (The Edge) on the 2nd floor of the lobby bldg. Didn't eat breakfast there but had the X-Mas eve diner. It was a nice menu, smooth service and reasonably priced considering the event. Quiet atmosphere suitable for a family diner.
Hot tub: hot tub and pool, was never too crowded even after ski, facing the slopes as pictured on the Web site. Had to walk (or run!) from condo with our towels.
Overall, it is not the most luxurious place to stay in Snowmass but a good budget compromise for a quality stay, easy access to mall and slopes. No hidden surprise!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetlifeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We travel quite a bit and have been to many ski towns and condos. We constantly look for easy access to the mountain with ski in and ski out. We are used to nice accomodations and great service. We have found a mixture here.

First the good. We were met at the airport by a driver. Took then 15 minutes to get there and was perfect from the time we exited the plane to getting our luggage. Had luggage problem actually and the driver was so chill about it. Easy and nice. We checked in which was a breeze. We stayed in A2D on the second floor of building A. Condo is comfortable, but smaller than it appeared or we expected. Staff has taken us by shuttle to restaurants in snowmass and grocery store. They are always available. Also nice is the large selections of DVD's in the lobby and a restaurant that had great oatmeal that came in handy before we were able to get to the store. Cleaning crew is great as well. Very nice and good at their jobs.

Now the bad.... There is no laundry in the condo. And the laundry is coin operated. In all our travels to condos in ski areas, this is a first. Never thought to even check. The beds are fine, however the linens were pilled. The feeling this against our bodies was not comfortable at all. When we mentioned this to the receptionist, she did have them changed out to better linens. Next the A building is not quite ski in ski out, which would be fine if there were a valet for your skis and boots at the lobby building. There is a place to lock your skis outside on a rack by the lobby building but it doesn't look very secure. And with new skis we didn't want to chance it. So daily we would walk along a path and then crawl a small hill to access the mountain. I would have requested to stay in a lower building. The worst is bringing your skis up a flight of stairs in your ski boots. Also being in the A building, to access the hot tub and pool it is a bit of a distance when you are in wet suits. Robes in the rooms would have been nice to buffer that issue. Another negative is the noise level. There was a dog who barked constantly every time someone walked by the lower unit (often) and woke my kids every morning. When that family left and another moved in the new noise was a drum beating (that we say through their window was used as an end table). Then in the unit above us it sounded like they were bowling each morning when they were getting ready to leave or playinig marbles at night whenever something dropped on the floor.

All in all, we would never stay here again. It was not worth what we spent. At least the snow was incredible.

Room Tip: Do not pick building A - too far from the nountain, pool and lobby in skis. Be on a top floor so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The studio was just perfect! Beautiful , clean , the full kitchen have everything u need to cook a nice dinner , fireplace it's a plus!! Great location just a step to the slope , the front desk personnel are very friendly and they to what ever it takes to make ur vacation more enjoyable ! We stay a week before the season start but any ways the provide the slides for my daughter so she can play in the slope. The only this was the bus drivers from RFTA was rude and not friendly at all , but that was nothing , anyways was the perfect vacation for us!! We will come back next year and we will choose the Timberline again!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nany7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our family of 6 got a 1 bedroom loft, which had 4 beds for about $245 (taxes inc.). It was a lovely space with the added benefit of being able to save some money by cooking our own meals in the full sized kitchen. The master bedroom and living room were spacious and the kids enjoyed their own space (and bathroom) in the loft area. It is just a short walk from the mall and there was usually free parking available close by. If you go to the area make sure to check out Maroon Lake and the grottos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The 2 bd + loft, 2HC? - was wonderful. Super clean, spacious, comfortable beds & furniture. Beautiful kitchen. No view from this 2-story unit, but the comfort more than made up for it. FYI- Purchase your own condiments/spices, in case you use the kitchen, as there is not even salt . Front desk staff was so very helpful & nice, gave great info on hiking & sights to see. Convenient walk down 2 blocks to a little mall with stores & restaurants. Great hikes on property. This would be a perfect, centrally-located ski unit.

Room Tip: No elevators, but higher floors are quieter so you decide what's more important. First floor see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSKOCH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great central location, great condo, very helpful staff! A group of old college buds decided on a fishing get-away and decided on the Timberline due to its proximity to Snowmass Village and closeness to many outdoor activities. We were not disappointed. The views were great, the rooms were spacious and we had a spectacular time. A free shuttle into Aspen and other places int he area was also very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.2 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crestwood Condominiums
The Crestwood Condominiums
#3 of 13 in Snowmass Village
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pokolodi Lodge
Pokolodi Lodge
#4 of 13 in Snowmass Village
226 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Timberline Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Timberline Condominiums

Address: 690 Carriage Way, across from parking lot 13, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range: $128 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Timberline Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timberline Condominiums offer a collection of ski-in/ski-out vacation rental properties in Snowmass Village CO. Located on the slopes of Snowmass Mountain, guests enjoy the spacious comfort of a private residence with many services of a fine hotel. Services include complimentary Aspen airport shuttle, complimentary wireless internet, housekeeping and more! Enjoy the new slope side pool and hot tubs. Visit the new Fitness Center and steam room. Located on Snowmass Mountain and a short walk from the Snowmass Village Mall with shopping, restaurants and more. Snowmass Mountain offers over 3,000 acres of skiing, plus Aspen (just 9 miles), Aspen Highlands and Buttermilk (approx. 7 miles) are accessible from the free bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Timberline Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Timberline Condominiums Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing