We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Gwyn's”

Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An on-mountain family tradition for 34 yearsGwyn's High Alpine has consistently been voted North America's best on-mountain restaurant by Ski, Skiing, and Powder Magazine. Vanity Fair writes that Gwyn's is not to be missed when you visit Aspen and Snowmass. For the past 34 years, visitors and locals alike have returned to experience the creative cuisine, with menu items from the Alps to the Pacific Rim. Kick back on the deck with an Angus burger, enjoy a steaming bowl of Brunswick chicken stew in our cafe, or welcome the opportunity to take off your boots, slip on some slippers, and tempt your palate with a three-course meal at Gwyn's. No meal is complete without a bottle of wine from Gwyn and George's wine cellar, which boasts an impressive collection accumulated over the past three decades. No matter which of our many options you choose, we promise exceptional food and service at our family restaurant.The dining room opens at 9 a.m. for breakfast. Lunch seating begins at 11:30 a.m. and ends at 2:30 p.m. Get George's "No Bull" Snow Report and daily specials every morning at 7:30 a.m. on Facebook.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience at Gwyn's”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited Gwyn's twice during a Christmas ski trip. Loved the crocs (other than having to put the ski boots back on), food & wine. Gwyn was also very friendly, stopping by tables to converse. This is a fun sit down experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stumbalina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    52
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Family run makes the difference”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is so good because the employees have been there so long. They know how to beat out the Skico run restaurants which have taken over every other restaurant on the mountain. Gwynn out works and out manages Skico. They are working on their third generation of family. Gwynn and George treat their employees as family too. Yesterday I saw George go outside and greet one of his long time customers. That kind of personal service you don't get in any of the other Snowmass mountain restaurant as they are staffed with short term employees. The controversial Crown family of Chicago has done a good job of taking over the various distressed businesses from John Denver's Tower Restaurant to Ullrhof restaurant, and the former Timbermill restaurant where John Denver played, the Limelight in Aspen, but the well run Gwynn's High Alpine has remained such a popular attraction that Skico has allowed them to stay privately managed although they do take their per cent off the top as I was told by the former mountain manager. When I was coming down the stairs yesterday in my ski boots an employee offered to take my tray when I had finished another was there to take it away. I had the beer cheese soup the server guaranteed I'd like it and he was correct. The ullrhof bar used to be a popular place with their long time bartender but when Skico took it over they fired all the former bartenders and last time I was there it was not even staffed. That's never a problem at Gywnn's. They are always staffed by a well trained and often long term employees. Gywnn's dedication to good food is evidenced by her publishing 3 cookbooks. And she is there to answer any questions you may have about them.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowmassbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best view on the mountain!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place has average food, but it fills you up and the view is 10/10! The staff and service are lovely and the food OK... totally recommend it for a hot chocy stop, if nothing else, but a great place to take a break from the slopes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingerbabe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our absolute favourite in Snowmass”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Dined here twice- breakfast and lunch. We went to the table service area, and enjoyed the attentive service and amazing food. The blueberry pancakes were to die for! It 's kind of old fashioned, like an English B&B, and the staff make you feel so welcome and special. Loved it and hope to get back there again soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stormie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Dining Experience!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is the best restaurant you will find in the Aspen area hands down!!! The atmosphere cannot be beat. From the minute you walk through the doors, you are surrounded by attentive staff and a family that loves to share in making your visit extra special. Once you take your boots off, slip on a complimentary pair of crocs (that I was assured were washed after every use :)) and sit down to a five star meal, you may never want to get back out to the slopes. The views are spectacular and the food is to die for! You must try Gwyn's legendary Seafood Puffs. My Seared Ahi Salad was delicious (Gwyn came by our table and mentioned that they fly fresh seafood in daily!) and my husband had the Elk Medallions with a Wild Lingonberry Reduction and said it was the best meat dish he had ever had. Our kids are a bit picky at 8 and 11, and our waitress ran right out to the more casual cafeteria side of the restaurant to bring them chicken fingers, fries and jello. We ended the meal with a sinful (yet gluten free) Chocolate Gateau and a coffee and khalua, and it was one of the best meals I can recall ever having, let alone in the middle of a ski area!

It was amazing to find such an incredible fine dining experience over 10,000 feet above sea level. My only complaint is that the restaurant is not open year round...for if it were my family and I would return every week! We are heading back in tomorrow for champagne breakfast while the kids are in ski school.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing