We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lunch”

Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An on-mountain family tradition for 34 yearsGwyn's High Alpine has consistently been voted North America's best on-mountain restaurant by Ski, Skiing, and Powder Magazine. Vanity Fair writes that Gwyn's is not to be missed when you visit Aspen and Snowmass. For the past 34 years, visitors and locals alike have returned to experience the creative cuisine, with menu items from the Alps to the Pacific Rim. Kick back on the deck with an Angus burger, enjoy a steaming bowl of Brunswick chicken stew in our cafe, or welcome the opportunity to take off your boots, slip on some slippers, and tempt your palate with a three-course meal at Gwyn's. No meal is complete without a bottle of wine from Gwyn and George's wine cellar, which boasts an impressive collection accumulated over the past three decades. No matter which of our many options you choose, we promise exceptional food and service at our family restaurant.The dining room opens at 9 a.m. for breakfast. Lunch seating begins at 11:30 a.m. and ends at 2:30 p.m. Get George's "No Bull" Snow Report and daily specials every morning at 7:30 a.m. on Facebook.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Skiing on Snowmass and stopped at Gwyn's. The Kale salad believe it or not was out of this world. We mixed it with the tabouli. And the pizza with the thick crust was outstanding. Add to that the special service. This was a high point meal!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    52
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

After starting your ski day at 9, it is time for a good llunch on the mountain. Treat yourself to great food and wine right on the mountain. Our group of 14 did so this week and it was terrific food and service. Don't miss a chnce to try it your self.
TB
Calgary

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Locals' Choice!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been frequenting Gwyn's as a local for three years now, and the establishment has earned a spot in my heart as a home away from home. Upon walking in to the cafeteria OR fine dining side, you immediately are made to feel welcomed by anyone and everyone who works there. In fact, it's striking just how unfailingly happy and accommodating the employees are.

As for atmosphere, the restaurant truly feels like an alpine haven. Cozy, yet spacious enough to accommodate a bustling lunch crowd, the caffeteria side is filled with items and photos marking the owners' fascinating lives (theyre there every day). The fine dining side offers a break from the usual on-mountain dining rush--we love to make a reservation and treat ourselves (on soecial occasions!) to a leisurely brunch complete with bloody Mary's or champagne.

And most importantly--the food! I can honestly say there is something for EVERYONE. Most on-mountain restaurants are limited in their menus, but Gwyn's goes above and beyond to offer anything from chicken curry rice bowls (I get the vegetarian version) to Colorado wild game stew to classic burgers and grilled chicken sandwiches (try a "gorgeous George"!!). A vast array of in-house desserts and fresh baked cookies and brownies are also a plus. They even make their own granola bars, and are accommodating to special diets (my daughter is gluten free and never has a problem). The fine dining side is a treat, and there are few other places where I'd feel so confident ordering sea food at 10,000ft! (Favorite: if you go for breakfast you get a complimentary basket of freshly baked pastries, etc mmmm).

Overall, these guys have been in business 30+ years for a REASON. Locals love to eat there and no other place on the mountain has such a good vibe (and no where else is still family owned!!). Ask, and you shall receive with Gwyn's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlpenGlow87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
222 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a treat at the top of the lift!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Gwynn's was our favorite place to eat while skiing at Snowmass. We were delighted about how good the food was, the variety of fresh and delicious options and how friendly and accommodating the staff were! It's really a change from what we are used to from on-slope options at other ski resorts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWithOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gwynn is real!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the hill...Gwynn, the owner was bussing our table and was just a warm friendly, smiling person amid the hubub of a busy lunch crowd on the hill.

I had the curry chicken bowl...Fantastic, new idea......Everything else, grilled or not was just as expected....Definitely a win, but that should be nothing new.

Gwynn, see the effect you have on others mood with excellent food and a great personality!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank redinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing