We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An on-mountain family tradition for 34 yearsGwyn's High Alpine has consistently been voted North America's best on-mountain restaurant by Ski, Skiing, and Powder Magazine. Vanity Fair writes that Gwyn's is not to be missed when you visit Aspen and Snowmass. For the past 34 years, visitors and locals alike have returned to experience the creative cuisine, with menu items from the Alps to the Pacific Rim. Kick back on the deck with an Angus burger, enjoy a steaming bowl of Brunswick chicken stew in our cafe, or welcome the opportunity to take off your boots, slip on some slippers, and tempt your palate with a three-course meal at Gwyn's. No meal is complete without a bottle of wine from Gwyn and George's wine cellar, which boasts an impressive collection accumulated over the past three decades. No matter which of our many options you choose, we promise exceptional food and service at our family restaurant.The dining room opens at 9 a.m. for breakfast. Lunch seating begins at 11:30 a.m. and ends at 2:30 p.m. Get George's "No Bull" Snow Report and daily specials every morning at 7:30 a.m. on Facebook.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great food, patio, music! Great place to stop on a sunny beautiful day for lunch. As with all on mountain dining it's expensive-$60 for lunch for 3, but you can't beat the view.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    52
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a great ski dining experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful sit down dining on the ski mountain. Fine food, fine wine. But if you want to eat fast, the cafeteria is also great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gwyn's is the best food on the mountain”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It is wonderful to sit down in the lively restaurant after taking off your ski boots and putting on the Crocs that have been provided for you The food is nothing short of spectacular. We have been there multiple times and have never been disappointed by the ambiance, the service or the central thing, the food. You may think you don't want to sit down in a restaurant while skiing, but this is a highlight of our annual trip to snowmass. I can guarantee that you will never be disappointed by anything you eat on the menu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than average”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food at Gwyn's is definitely better than the food you generally find at mountain huts. We particularly like the soups and the coconut rice bowls.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
725 reviews
598 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We are regulars, and have been sold on Gwynn's for years. It's our favorite spot on the mountain, with ample charm. We'll lunch here most days while skiing over Christmas. Family owned & run. A quick lunch (cafeteria style), but done very nicely. The prices are high, but no more than others places in the area. We find Gwynn's a delightful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pineapples-a-Plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant also viewed

Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Gwyn's High Alpine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing