We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!”
Review of Zane's Tavern

Zane's Tavern
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great place to grab a drink with friends. The Cuban and Philly cheese steaks are delicious! Great service too

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slarnaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bar with good food.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great local bar with suprisingly good food. Good tacos, burgers, and drinks. This place is not fancy and is pretty much a locals spot.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but effective”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Chicken tenders are delicious went back twice during our weekend visit. Was the only place open to get food after 9pm on a Friday night and one guy was running the whole place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chencha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Stop, but don't make a special trip for it”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After attending the JAS festival last weekend, we were looking for some "nightlife" to finish our evening. We were told by locals to make a stop at Zanes. Honestly, there was nowhere else to go, so we didn't have choice but to go. The one bartender was stressed and busy, definitely not paying attention to who has been waiting. Fine, I can wait, but don't be a [--] when I order 10 drinks. The inside of the bar was so packed, we made our way outside. There was no seating, so we sat on a bench in front of the steak house next door. We felt bad for the family eating dinner 2 feet from us, because both parties were expecting different atmospheres. We ordered some food, and knew it would take a while. But after a trip to the bathroom we saw our food waiting in the window. We didn't say anything, we just waited. After another 15-20 minutes, we did finally ask, got snareled at, and our nice cold food was delivered. Thanks. Did we have drinks, yes. Did we have food, yes. Was it a bar full of people our ages, yes. Had we had another bar choice would we have gone elsewhere, yes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTNKRISTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate here on a Monday night and it was great. We visited in July so it was fairly quiet. Great wings and drinks. We were also able to listen to great music. The wait and bar staff was great. It was very relaxing and just what we needed. We recommend it if you just want to hang out and get some good 'bar' food that tastes much better than any bar.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zane's Tavern also viewed

 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Zane's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing