We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-rounder mountain”
Review of Aspen Snowmass

Aspen Snowmass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A favorite with families, this year-round Aspen resort means biking and hiking in the summer, and downhill and cross-country skiing in the winter.
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great all-rounder mountain”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in Snowmass at the Westin for 2 weeks... and skiied the entire time at Snowmass. The mountain is great - it has lots of runs for the intermediate to advanced skiier - and we heard many times on the ski lifts that the amount of terrain at Snowmass alone was greater than the other 3 of the 4 mountains combined. We'll be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    99
    19
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Ski & Snowboard Vacation”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Snowmass is one of the best all around ski/snowboard vacations that my Family has ever taken together. They offer all levels of runs, Double Black, Black, Blue,Green and Bowls and you van visit 4 mountains on one pass Snowmass, Aspen, Buttermilk ( Winter X Games ) and Aspen Highlands. They have Ski/Snowboard schools and GREAT teachers as well as plenty of Fun for the kids on and off the slopes. Stay on the mountain of off it has great transportation to get you anywhere you want to go. Take Family & Friends they will LOVE it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for Beginner and Intermediate skiers with plenty to keep the black run guys happy”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

this mountain is really about the green and blue runs but there is enough to keep the all black run skiers happy. A great mix to meet everyone's needs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A huge mountain, something for everybody”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Snowmass Ski Resort is really huge. This was the first time I have skied there. I have skied in many other places throughout the west (Utah, Colorado, Montana), so I have a relatively good reference point by which to judge Snowmass in my opinion.

I understand why it gets such high rankings in the annual Ski Magazine resort rankings issue. It is generally in the top 10, usually around 4th or 5th (behind the perennial leaders, Deer Valley, Vail, and Whistler/Blackcomb).

The terrain is quite varied and the grooming was good, consistent with its rankings in those areas. It is also relatively easy to navigate around the resort, from lift to lift. The layout was favorable in that regard.

There are a lot of really wide open spaces, broad vistas to ski up on the mountain. That was really enjoyable. It is hard to say anything negative about the mountain, but perhaps the only area where I feel it falls short is the consistency of the fall line. On several areas of the mountain, you spend a fairly significant amount of time on somewhat flat sections near the top where the pitch is so modest that even an intermediate skier might want a little more challenge. This is compared to other places I am familiar with, like Deer Valley or Northstar-at-Tahoe, where the runs seem to have a more consistent pitch all the way down to the bottom, instead of these flatter sections and steeper sections all mixed in. Snowmass is huge enough, however, that one can find anything they want in terms of challenge if they look for it. Personally, I would rank Deer Valley, Beaver Creek, and Northstar-at-Tahoe above Snowmass in my own personal rankings, but it would be hard to go wrong with a visit to Snowmass either.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiddenGem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“THE BEST OF THE BEST MOUNTAINS”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Snowmass is very user friendly for families,young people, and couples! The mountain offers so much variety and easy access to chair lifts and gondolas to reach mid level or the top of the mountain and offers a vast variety of trails and ski experiences. You have the Snowmass village mall and the lower village for shopping and eating experiences!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank delilah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspen Snowmass also viewed

 

Been to Aspen Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing