We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eight K Restaurant

Eight K Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Eight K Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brushcreek Rd
Description: Eight K features High Mountain Cuisine with southern roots, in a sophisticated mountain setting. Acclaimed Executive Chef Will Nolan creates innovative comfort food at Eight K using fresh, locally-sourced and organic ingredients whenever possible. Around the restaurant fireplace, throughout the dining room, or in the private dining space, lively groups and romantic couples enjoy seasonal menus and classic mountain warmth at the Viceroy Snowmass Eight K Restaurant. Offering fine dining options for breakfast and dinner, the restaurant features a glimmering display kitchen at its center and a stunning 87-foot glass bar. Complimentary valet parking is available when you dine at Viceroy Snowmass.
Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Sadly, after so looking forward to our evening here, it was a disappointment. Food was average, service terrible. Our waiter was bored, not attentive and snippy. Expected so much more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    58
    27
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All Lustre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Eight K is located in the che’-che’ Viceroy Hotel. It is large and pretentious upon entrance. It would lead one to believe that it is haute cuisine. My wife and I had the deviled egg as a small plate which was very tasty and uniquely presented. As an appetizer we shared the New Orleans executive chef’s duck gumbo which was excellent, truly a New Orleans taste. My wife had the trout amandine which was just average. I had the Salmon bouillabaisse; the salmon was raw and had to be sent back. The executive chef brought it back to our table with apologies after it was re-fired and it was NOT RE-PLATED. It was re-served in the original dish - what a faux pas. The waitress was lovely but she was assigned to a large group (30-40) in another room so obviously our service suffered accordingly. We were comped our desert for our anniversary. My wife and I both agreed we would not return. There are other better restaurants in Snowmass Village that are better value for the dollar

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Dined with friends for my husband's special birthday. Eight K salad, duck confit and foie gras, petite filet, porterhouse, and red snapper were all terrific and the service excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best option in Snowmass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Eight K is definitely the best food option in Snowmass. The restaurant is located in the Viceroy hotel. It's a beautiful setting, has a creative menu with lots of healthy options, seafood, a raw bar, ad offers great service, food presentation and a terrific meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best nights I've had out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I recently dined at 8k with another couple and what a great time we had. Service was seamless, wine was paired perfectly with food, and the ambiance was elegant yet comforting. Thank you 8k staff for showing us such a great time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shewineshedines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eight K Restaurant also viewed

 
Snowmass Village, CO
Snowmass Village, CO
 
Snowmass Village, CO
 

Been to Eight K Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing