We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding service, minor negatives on the accommodations”
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Snowmass
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

At the Viceroy, we were treated to exceptional service. From the airport pick up, check in to valet services. Everything went smoothly. The ski valets were GREAT! What a treat to have them help you take your boots off after a great and tiring day of skiing. We are spoiled forever.
The location is away from the main village area which maybe a plus depending on if you want a more quiet experience. We never heard our neighbors or any other noise during our stay. We didn't hear music, etc. from the pool area either since our room was on a wing away from that area. Getting to the main village area or any other place within Snowmass was no problem since the valets were available to take you anywhere. Most of the time they were available immediately. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes, except for one return ride. Their services were included in the resort fee.
The overall atmosphere is very chic. The pool/jacuzzi area was has cabanas with fire pits. We would definitely come back again.
On the negative, the kitchenette in our one bedroom suite is not really set up serious cooking. The space is small with only one med pan and pot, no chef's knife. Salt and pepper were the only things provided. Limited dishes and kitchen tools.The village market is close by with almost anything you may want, but things there were pricey. Th frig and freezer are large with plenty of room to store lots of drinks, etc.
One other negative is that our one bedroom unit is really set up for just a couple even though there is a sofabed in the living room. The bathroom, which is huge and luxurious, can only be accessed from the bedroom.

Room Tip: Get a two bedroom if you are more than two. Get a room away from the pool if you want quiet. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acscf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We are delighted to hear that the service you experienced during your recent stay with us at the Viceroy Snowmass was “outstanding”. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about how much you enjoyed your experiences with our valet and ski valet services as well the transportation amenities we provide around Snowmass Village. We can’t wait for your return!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 818 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, ski on/off, awesome pool. Unfortunately the service leaves a lot to be desired. When you are spending $500/night, everything should be perfect.

The valets are hit or miss - some know what they are talking about and others don't. We called to schedule an aiport pick up and when we were there, the Viceroy driver had no idea who we were -- same for 2 other couples. So we took a cab (which the hotel paid for), but it would seem pretty basic to send a driver for us if we called ahead of time.

The ski valet is a nice touch - except they are so disorganized that they gave us the wrong skis!

We had light bulbs out in our bathroom and the drain in the sink didn't work for a couple days. In addition, the bathroom is so poorly designed that water leaks out of the shower (only a partial door). The floor was soaked after every shower!

I was there for a meeting and the food at the meeting was fair at best; maybe that is the food that the meeting committee picked? The food at 8K was great - the burger was awesome - the service was friendly but unattentive. It took 10 minutes for a waiter to speak to us.

Also, on top of the room rate, there is a $30/night "resort charge." I hate when hotels do this. Just add it to the room rate.

The hot chocolate, cider, and coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice touch. Overall, this hotel has the potential to be great but at $500/night, there needs to be more attention to detail.
Probably wouldn't stay here again - there are plenty of ski on/off places in the aspen area, like the hyatt and st regis.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saxclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback on your recent visit with us. I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. Please contact me directly to discuss how we may glean your perspective on our process improvement.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in February and found the hotel beyond our expectations on every level. The hotel itself is beautiful with great rooms, very clean and the whole place has a very chic feel. The staff really pampered us, and there were lots of great touches, from the hot chocolate and cider available in the lobby every afternoon to the car service around the village. We were amazed when, after calling the front desk one afternoon to see if they had decaf tea available for my pregnant wife and being told they did not, we got a knock at the door a short time later with a delivery of decaf tea with a handwritten note- apparently someone had gone to get her some. The ski valet on the slopeside level was another very luxurious touch- when you come in to the "boot room" a team of people would descend to offer you help getting your ski boots on or off!

We had several meals in the restaurant "8K" and found them all to be superb. Breakfast in the morning was a huge buffet of a variety of fresh foods- all delicious. We had three dinners there as well and the food was fabulous. While there are many high-end offerings on the menu, which are delicious, don't miss the Juicy Lucy burger- perhaps the best burger I've ever eaten. We did not experience any of the issues with service that others noted here. We found the servers to be warm, friendly and quite attentive.

My wife had several treatments at the spa and raved about the way she was pampered there. She also noted that her masseuse was extraordinary and quite friendly and knowledgeable. The spa experience is right on par with the very high level of service and quality of the rest of the hotel.

In all this was perhaps the best hotel experience that my wife and I have ever had. We have already made plans to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

It was such a pleasure to read your comments about your stay with us here in February! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the Viceroy Snowmass. I could not be more proud of my team for their attention to detail to you and your family during your stay. I have passed along your message to my team. It brings me great satisfaction to know that we have created lifelong memories for you and your family; we can’t wait to welcome you back to the Viceroy Snowmass!

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent the week Jan 27- Feb 1 2013 at the Viceroy, Snowmass.
The transfer from the hotel was included. It was perfectly timed and very easy.
The room, a 1 bedroom suite with living room and very nice functional kitchen(which i did not use very much) was beautifully done and very comfortable.
The service is first rate starting with the room care, the ski storage, and the concierge service with free transport around Snowmass Village.
Overall a great place, with friendly people and a world class ski resort.
And the restaurant has great breakfast, and dinner selections.
I will go again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to inform fellow travelers about the Viceroy Snowmass. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent living space. Beautiful design. In room fireplaces and kitchen. Fabulous dinner and drinks at 8K. Being right on the mountain was epic. Plenty for adults to do and nice to have space and a kitchen with nearby small market to get milk for my 2 year old. Great nanny services through the hotel, easy ski rental and my husband loved his day long ski instruction, took him from beginners to blues in a single day. Snowmass is a beautiful mountain and there is endless free space for skiing. Car service takes you anywhere anytime. Although I had to work at a conference, this is by far one of the nicest conference spaces I have been in with gorgeous mountain views from the main conference rooms. I would recommend this in a heartbeat to anyone, and I hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellebelle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We hope that you are able to return too! Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time here at the Viceroy Snowmass so much. It truly sounds as though you were able to enjoy almost every amenity that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy to continue our mission of ‘creating lifelong memories’ for you and your family.

Warm Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The room was really great, with a separate sitting area and huge bathroom. Really attractive hotel and common spaces. The service at the restaurant was sometimes excellent and sometimes so slow that we ended up having one meal comped (i think they lost our order). Food quality was always very good. Restaurant and bar are very expensive (a bit overpriced).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass. I am pleased to hear about how much you enjoyed the amenities in your room as well as the common spaces throughout the hotel. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you would prefer to discuss anything further with your experiences in our outlets.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

On the upside, the rooms are lovely and there were plenty of great touches. The downside was the service. During the busy holiday period we would come back to an unmade room after 4pm. The car was lost, then found and then lost again the following day. One night we waited 40 minutes for the car to surface from the garage. Room service still hadn't arrived an hour after ordering. A reservation at a restaurant was cancelled when we arrived because the hotel had told them we weren't staying at the premises. And although we did go to ski, and enjoyed the valet and ski in/out location, there really is nothing else to do in Snowmass when the mountain closes. Clearly that's a choice made when booking at Snowmass, you know there isn't a village to walk around in the evening like Vail, or Aspen. Also in the evening the small pool is crammed with kids and there isn't really a lobby to have a drink in, in fact there really isn't much of a lobby at all, so a post ski drink can be a bit of conundrum...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank bobbi567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback on your recent visit with us. I apologize that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations as we strive to create the most positive experiences possible. It is only through such input that we can continue to improve so as to ensure the ongoing satisfaction for our guests. I am unhappy with the experience we have created for you and wish to create some way forward to erase these and develop more appropriate memories. Please contact me directly to discuss how we may glean your perspective on our process improvement.

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#8 of 13 in Snowmass Village
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
6.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
6.8 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range: $318 - $1,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing