We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Snowmass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viceroy Snowmass
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great place. fantastic rooms better than home very luxurious. Food was good room service and all staff very friendly and helpful.
This is not a hotel really set up for conferences tho' the elevators are slow , there is no real stair access and the public spaces by the meeting rooms are narrow. That said it was a great place to stay.
Staying during the fall shoulder season was a great value but unless you only want to eat at the hotel it is not overly close to anything and felt a bit isolated. I am sure that the shuttles could have taken us places but this was conference so not a lot of extra time.

Room Tip: try get rooms with a western or northern view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass while visiting for a conference. I am also very happy to hear that our rooms and staff have made a lasting impression on you and that we are able to welcome you back to Snowmass Village for another visit, perhaps this time for pleasure.

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    115
    57
    27
    18
See reviews for
235
281
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

An excellent resort. Staffs are very friendly. Room is absolutely fantastic. Modern decor, huge restroom, fully equipped kitchen, TV with CD player, iDock - you have everything you need.
Comments:
1. There are extra charges when you check in the hotel. First, there is 15$ resort fee. Next, there is 15$ valet fee. Valet is NOT optional. You HAVE to use the valet service. Also, add the tip to the driver everytime you get your car. Altogether, you will easily end up spending extra 50$ for a night stay.
2. There are only handful of restaurants nearby. You have two options. Either, you have to drive to Aspen (20 mins drive). Or, eat in the 8K restaurant within the hotel. If you are staying between wednesday to sunday, you are lucky. Rest of the week, they have limited restaurant service for the dinner. You have to choose from a tiny menu with only 10 options. Food is very expensive in the restaurant. It tastes good though.
3. If you are visiting Aspen area, I would recommend staying in Aspen rather than in Snowmass village.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nilotpalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to the Viceroy Snowmass and for sharing your thoughts to fellow travelers. I am very happy to hear that our comfortable, yet deluxe rooms as well as our staff have made a lasting impression on you. I can assure you that any charges applicable are outlined in our confirmation letter and on our website. We look forward to your next visit with us here in Colorado!

Sincerely,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville Mo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is just wonderful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and we loved staying there. We had a one bedroom, that comes with a kitchen, big living area and huge bathroom. The staff are excellent and cater to your every whim. The restaurant was pretty good, but thought choices were limited. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rags3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Welcome back to the Viceroy Snowmass, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with fellow travelers! I am so happy to hear that our staff and levels of service far exceeded your expectations! We look forward to your return as a “Benchmark” guest with previous visits, and also look forward to continuing to create lifelong memories for you and your family.

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a very nice contempory styled hotel. Everything was wonderful except for their valet parking...that's fine, but not too convenient if you need to get things out of your car, as they either have to drive it up to the front door for you or escort you down to it to retrieve anything. Other than that
it is great! I might suggest just parking in the public parking structure which is a few hundred yards away, much easier to deal with. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiFriscoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Viceroy Snowmass Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Snowmass very soon!

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a wonderful experience - eating dinner at the Viceroy Hotel. The wait staff was attentive and gracious. However, the food was incredible. While visiting in the area my family chose to eat two dinners at this fine hotel. From the soup, bread, appetizers, to the entres, everything was delicious. The presentation was artistic, and flavors popped in everthing we ate. Also, we enjoyed the views of the aspens changing to yellow looking across and down valley as we dined. I would return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your pleasant review of our signature restaurant, 8K. I am quite thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the creations of our Executive Chef, Will Nolan and his culinary team so much. We hope that you are back in the area soon to experience his latest creations for our winter menus set to be released very soon!

Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of the best accommodations I've ever experienced! Beautiful contemporary rooms. Bedroom separated from bathroom by glass wall (an electric shade conceals the view of the bath when wanted, but transparent when viewed from bathroom). This allows you to watch the large screen TV or the bedroom fireplace while soaking in the spacious claw foot tub! Bath also has a large walk-in shower. Room also has a cook top range and fridge, unique decor, lots of fine wood panels and slate tiles. Gorgeous! The hallways are richly furnished in wood accents and mood lighting.

Outdoors there's a pool with two hot-tubs, lavish furnishings, with ski chair lifts operating over-head close by. Surrounding environment lush with mountain views.

Service top quality, with friendly staff to help with any need, including complimentary shuttle to nearby services.

Unfortunately this was a one night stay for us on our itinerary, but we're already planning a trip next year with the Viceroy as our only multi-day destination!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am delighted to hear that our property location and well appointed rooms have made such a lasting impression on you that you have already planned your vacation time next year to stay longer! Thank you for your time in writing about your previous stay here. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

First of all I want to say that this place was hands down one of the most stunningly beautiful and well-appointed properties I have EVER stayed at in my LIFE. I wish I could have stayed here for my entire stay in Colorado. It was remarkable and there are only 2 reasons I can’t give it a 5 star on this review which I will touch on later (I will say that the hotel itself deserves a 5 star). But first of all the pros of this property. GORGEOUS. The décor is impeccable. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit which was amazing. The view are nice from all the rooms, the beds are so comfortable, full kitchen, full laundry, shower was great, fireplace in bedroom and livingroom, everything was modern, great size balcony, fluffy bathrobes, super comfy couch. It was like our own little house. I could not have loved it more. The hotel itself was also beautiful. Although I did not eat in the restaurant it looked stunning. The lobby is huge with free coffee and water. The concierge was so sweet and helpful. Gave us advice on where to see some elk at sunset and it was spot on! The pool area is beautiful, right under the ski lift (although that was not operating as we were there in off season). 2 cabanas with fire pits. Pool towels are really nice and the furniture really nice as well. We couldn’t figure out how to get the jets going on the Jacuzzi though. We found the dial and turned the timer but the jets never turned on. Ice water was also available by the pool as well. I liked that. Most of the staff we encountered was very kind and helpful and more than accommodating. They have a shuttle service which is free and will take you into town. This seemed like a good idea but we had a bad experience with it. So I will recommend if you use it make sure you are VERY clear with the driver where you will be picked up again. We were dropped off at the balloon festival in one area and was told to call when we needed a return which we did. They said they would pick us up where they dropped us off but drivers apparently dropped us off at a different location so after numerous calls we were finally picked up over an hour after our first call. It was late and we were freezing cold. I will say that I am willing to overlook misunderstandings but at one point I had some guy on the phone kept saying for us to “just go to the traffic circle at the country club” we had no idea where that was and when I tried to explain that and tell him where we were he just kept telling me to go to this place I had no knowledge of. Very frustrating. We eventually hiked down the hill to find a traffic cop who directed us up another hill and when we finally got there the shuttle was pulling away so we had to wait again. It was a nightmare. We opted to drive ourselves from then on which is my second aggravation and one that is causing me to not be able to give this property the perfect rating it otherwise deserves. There is NO self-parking at this hotel and you have to valet park which means everytime you get the car out you have to tip in addition to being charged $15 for the privilege of having someone park my car. Annoying. First of all just stop nickel and diming me. There are some people who love valet and for those people who CHOOSE it then fine but if I am being forced to valet my car then just put it in my rate. Don’t insult me with all the little nickel and dime charges. Like the resort fee. Fine charge it. But just put it in the rate. It really stinks when you get a rate and then have to factor in all the extra charges…$15 resort fee, $15 valet… If there is no way to avoid paying the fee why wouldn’t you just include it in the rate? Like the resort fee. Everyone has to pay it regardless of whether you use any of the things the fee includes so why make it an “extra charge”. I know a lot of resorts do this and it annoys me every time. This wouldn’t stop me from staying there, but just be aware of it so it doesn’t surprise you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMViceroySnowmass, General Manager at Viceroy Snowmass, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay at the Viceroy Snowmass! You chose a wonderful time of year to visit the mountains of Colorado and the weekend of the Snowmass Balloon Festival had spectacular fall colors for viewing! We hope to have you back soon to experience another season with here in Snowmass Village.

All the Best,

Hugh Templeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.6 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
6.8 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Snowmass

Property: Viceroy Snowmass
Address: 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Spa Hotel in Snowmass Village
#1 Green Hotel in Snowmass Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Snowmass 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Snowmass is the crown jewel of Snowmass Village, Colorado. Designed by Jean-Michel-Gathy of Denniston International, the resort is environmentally conscious through responsible choices of finishes and materials, and a community leader in green operations and guest service offerings. The resort's rustic sophistication provides exceptional comfort and warmth, for family and friends to gather and create lasting, indelible memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Snowmass Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing