We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Silverton”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Wyman is a wonderful hotel full of character but with modern amenities. We stayed for two nights in the Amy Elizabeth room. It was a very pretty room that was located at the end of the hall at the back, which made it very quiet. The only downside is its very small size but this is something you often see in older historic properties. There was very little space in which to put suitcases or other belongings. Apart from that, it was a wonderful room. The bathrobes were a nice touch, the shower had good water pressure, the bed was very comfortable and it was great to have a television that had a full panoply of channels.

Another great feature is the option to book a "without breakfast" rate. We usually are up and out of the room early, often before B&Bs serve breakfast. So, to have the option to not be charged for a breakfast we didn't eat was very nice. However, it means I can't comment on the quality of the breakfast.

My last comment is nothing to do with the hotel but with the taxes. Be aware that you will pay almost 13% (!) tax on your room: listed as city, county, state, city bed & county lodging. This seems quite outrageous for such a small place as Silverton and will surely make us think twice about staying in Silverton again. However, if we do, The Wyman will certainly be on our list.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mlmdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for The Wyman Hotel and Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 156 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were picked up at the train by the Wyman's trolley which was very nice for my wife who is unable to walk far. The lobby is very cool with old appointments and and furnishings. Owner was very friendly. Room was nice and plenty big. Breakfast was delicious and staff very friendly. Pastries in the afternoon and wine/cheese in the early evening. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We rode the train from Durango, and booked the Wyman for our stay in Silverton. To our surprise, Tana was parked in her Trolley, waiting for us at the train station! NICE touch! We stayed in the Elevator Room, which was outstanding. The atmosphere and accommodations were to the period, yet had some very nice modern touches. The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, with FEATHER pillows! The afternoon wine and cheese were very good, and breakfast was surprising, as well. The Wyman will be my #1 choice, for any future stays in Silverton! Thanks, guys, for a memorable experience marking our 30th wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: Pick any....they all looked good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 334davem334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Wyann Hotel and Inn overnight when we got off the Durango and Silverton Railroad on June 28. The owners Tana and Robert Wrublik held our luggage until our room was ready and gave us great ideas on visiting Silverton the remainder of the day. Their afternoon tea and wine and cheese gatherings were great. The breakfast in the morning was set up beautifully. The room was clean and well maintained with all modern conveniences. It is too bad that the railroad does not support this hotel when offering overnight stays in Silverton. I would definitely recommend this hotel as the place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but the second floor rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lashewich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our first overnight stop on the San Juan Skyway was Silverton. Here we discovered the charmingly restored 1902 Wyman Hotel and Inn. Innkeepers Tana and Rodger Wrublik were incredibly hospitable. In the afternoon, they served cookies and tea at 4 and wine at 5. We enjoyed chatting with Tana in the old-fashioned lobby and learning more about life in this small town surrounded by spectacular mountains. The next morning, we had a delicious breakfast that included quiche, muffins, and fruit salad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A friend and I arrived in Silverton, Colorado, flagged down a local citizen, asked him where we should lodge. The best recommendations come from people who know the town!! Without hesitation he pointed to The Wyman Hotel and Inn. Our stay was pure joy. The warmth of the owners cannot be overstated. Every room in this 1902 beautiful hotel/inn is theme decorated. From the coffee bar in the lobby to the welcoming diningroom where a delicious breakfast was graciously served (with name cards I might add) we received "5 STAR" hospitality. In our opinion, The Wyman Hotel and Inn is worth a journey with the hotel as the destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My dad and I recently took the railroad up from Durango and stayed overnight in Silverton which is a must do! The time between trains is not enough to enjoy this funky old west town. Another must is to stay at the Wyman Hotel and Inn. It is a beautifully restored old building where each room is unique and well taken care of. We did not have any trouble with it being cold and if we had the owner would have been more than happy to have adjusted the temperature for us. We were in the Elevator room which does not show its true size and beauty in the photos from the site. It is large and beautiful. The jacuzzi tub in the elevator is so unique and my Dad so enjoyed his soak in it. This room has a microwave and mini fridge which was lucky as the food we got in a restaurant for lunch was so plentiful we brought it back for dinner. My dad loved the pastries they put out at 4pm which as B & B guests we were able to enjoy.

And the breakfast! Wow, it was a gourmet feast! I loved the fruit smoothy drink served in a champagne glass with a blueberry. Yummy. One of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

If I come and stay in Silverton again, I will stay here. The location was at the end of the business part of Greene Street (the only paved road in town) but nothing is far away.

Do stay in Silverton overnight and do stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
87 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
170 reviews
14.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
11.9 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyman Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyman Hotel and Inn

Address: 1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range: $105 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel & Inn was built in 1902. We provide just the right blend of modern amenities and still maintain the Victorian decor one would expect in a hotel in Silverton,Colorado. One of our special rooms is an authentic caboose situated in a large patio area that is just right for honeymooners and those celebrating an anniversary. Our property staff is eager to make your vacation in the beautiful San Juan Mountains a vacation to remember. We hope you will consider a stay at our beautiful Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyman Hotel Silverton
Wyman Hotel The

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing