We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel and service from management and staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel and service from management and staff”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived in March fleeing our devastating New Mexico juniper allergies. In addition we were exhausted and my bad foot was acted up.

Management and staff were incredible. Breakfast in our room that first day -- ultrasound and infrared heat for my foot. We never detected a hint that we were pains in the neck -- although I undoubtedly was.

Roger and Tana are simply excellent hosts and basically nice, friendly, warm people.

Excellent breakfasts everyday, excellent four o'clock snacks and five o'clock wine. Tea and coffee available all the time.

In addition, Silverton and the Wyman Hotel present an accurate early 20th century mining town and hotel. The predominant architecture is what we might call rural early 20th century Victorian. Even the newer buildings mostly conform to this style,

The town instead of being contemporary buildings strip-developed along a main road is set off from the main thru road, You get much more of a traditional town with two shopping/dining streets parallel to each other.

The hotel has been totally redone using a combination of Victorian antiques and authentic reproduction furniture, woodwork, and fixtures. An incredible amount of love and hard work has gone into the place.

The result for hotel and town is a look that is incredibly more authentic and consistent than you can find the alternatives.

In addition, Silverton, even more than Ouray, is totally surrounded by high peaks which rise without foothills from the valley floor and present awesome 360 degree views.

We were there in late March which is off-season. Still more than enough restaurants were open. The town seems protected from the winds which makes the place seem warmer and pleasant to walk around in.

I recommend town, hotel, management and staff wholeheartedly.
.

Room Tip: Hummingbird room on first floor was spacious and comfortable. In March, street noise was not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devideviq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    28
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights in the charming wild west town of Silverton and the Wyman house has a very genuine and cozy feel. The rooms are spacious and the entire decor makes you feel as though you are in a turn of the century wild west hotel. There are fascinating historical artifacts throughout the hotel. At every turn the proprieters Roger and Tana look to make your stay more enjoyable. They are knowledgable and personable. He runs a ski shop in the basement which would meet any ski needs and he saved the day for us. The breakfasts were delicious and the apres ski hors deurves with tea by the warm stove was a great end to our ski days. In a time when we are all used to generic characterless hotels the Wyman hotel is a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at Wyman Hotel while on a ski trip to Silverton Mountain. Rodger and his staff were extremely accommodating and exceeded our expectations. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. They showed that "Victorian Charm" doesn't have to me old and drafty. By far the best place to stay in Silverton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiVail17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here to ski Silverton Mtn and do the level 1 Avy class. I forgot to book 3 days and Roger the proprietor gave me the extra night at same price. Stove in lobby is very cozy as are flannel sheets. Most of the others staying there were hard core skiers which made for interesting conversation at b'fast and over drinks. Breakfast was very good though a little on the rich side but they were happy to make whole wheat toast, eggs, extra fruit, etc. Beautiful victorian building with lots of vintage pics of mining and railroad industry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a very nice stay at the Wyman, the owners are very helpful and super nice. Great sitting room \Lobby with nice chairs and a stove to warm up at when you walk in, In fact the Front desk is a antique and a focal point of the room. Our room 10, had two queen beds with Feather toppers, warm comforters, antiques etc. The whole hotel is a antique, cool windows, uneven floors, high ceilings, beautiful stairway, sitting areas. If you live in a box stay away, you w'ont like walking up the stairs, or even chilling or playing chess in one of the sitting areas. Silverton is a Cool town, good shopping, Eating, Drinking, and can walk anywhere. Winter activity, skating, sledding, Extreme Skiing at Silverton Mtn. Family Skiing at Ski Kendall. The owner Roger can set you up with gear, ski Rental shop at hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is my first online review. After staying at the Wyman one night in mid October, I knew
I wanted to write a review when I got home. My family of four enjoyed our visit very much.
Roger the owner couldn't have been friendlier or more efficient. Great service, from the cozy
atmosphere, to the great breakfast, wine in the evening, nice conversations and very helpful.
We had a 3 room suite which was perfect for our family. Kids had a room, adults had a room
and there was a sitting room. I wish we could of stayed longer. We can't wait to come back.
Thanks Roger for all your help trying to find my glasses and for letting us meet Frank.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I loved the cozy little town. The Hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendy. The Breakfast was awesome!!!! Very clean and comfortable rooms plus the atmosphere is something you will never forget. We road the train from Durango and stayed the night in silverton then we rented a jeep to travel over the california pass and last but not least we went to the old hundred gold mine tour. The memories of the Aspens were awesome. Can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terib7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
83 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
14.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.4 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#3 of 7 in Silverton
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyman Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyman Hotel and Inn

Property: The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Address: 1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel & Inn was built in 1902. We provide just the right blend of modern amenities and still maintain the Victorian decor one would expect in a hotel in Silverton,Colorado. One of our special rooms is an authentic caboose situated in a large patio area that is just right for honeymooners and those celebrating an anniversary. Our property staff is eager to make your vacation in the beautiful San Juan Mountains a vacation to remember. We hope you will consider a stay at our beautiful Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyman Hotel Silverton
Wyman Hotel The

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing