We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a neat town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place in a neat town”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A last minute decision to stay in a room as opposed to a tent brought us here. My wife loved the room decor. The owner was super nice & helpful. We couldn't have stayed in a better place. It was right in downtown Silverton so everything was close by. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electraglideteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    28
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We came into town late in the evening. After having dinner we realized it was after 10 pm and we needed a place to stay. Several hotels were already full, the others appeared closed, and we were worried. We noticed a couple of people standing outside the locked door of the darkened Wyman and stopped to ask them if they knew of anywhere to stay. They were from Texas and were locked out of the Wyman because they had forgotten their key. The proprietor came out to let the others in to their room, and we asked him if he had a room for us. Despite the fact that he had been up for over 24 hours helping with a local long distance racing event he took the time to get us into a room (for a discount because it was so late) and talked to us all about the event he had been at, about some of the history of the hotel, and about some of his history. He was more than welcoming and accommodating. The room turned out to be large and comfortable. Everything was very clean. The bed was nice and soft. The whole place was quiet and restful. When I go back to Silverton I will definitely be staying at the Wyman.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have been to the Wyman several times over the years. Our first two times were under the previous owners and we enjoyed both of our stays. We didn't vacation in Colorado for a few years but booked with the new owners. We were not at all disappointed! Last year we had a great time, Rodger always takes an interest in where we had gone or where we were heading for. This year was just as fantastic. We stayed in the Hummingbird room this time. It was spacious, the in-room hot tub was wonderful and as usual, Rodger was a fantastic host. Cecilia served the most wonderful breakfasts each morning, giving wonderful service always with a smile. The rooms are so clean and each one is a showpiece. We've stayed in a different room each time and have loved them all! We will always stay at the Wyman anytime we are in southern Colorado!

Room Tip: So far, our favorite room has been the hummingbird room. But we have stayed in the Train room and Bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a great find! If you are looking to stay in a small town, Silverton and the Wyman Hotel is the place to go. The town itself is so unique and the Wyman Hotel is the icing on the cake. The owners are great and on location and eager to make your stay as enjoyable as can be. Rooms are comfortable and spacious and the hotel is full of charm. But I cannot emphasis enough how welcome the owners make you feel. Highly recommend combining the breakfast in your stay!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The owners are gracious, the lodging is clean, the breakfast is delicious, the town is amazing, the train ride is a must, and we highly recommend! Stayed here with 3 kids, grandma, & husband. If we are back in area, we WILL stay again! Enjoyed tea at 4 & wine/cheese at 6.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel during our recent USA vacation as we wanted to experience the "olden days" feel of the place. We found the Hotel on the internet after researching the area whilst trying to decide where to stay. The rooms looked so lovely we decided to give it a try and am so glad that we did.
The room we booked was called the Blair Street Room and it didn't disappoint. The decor was from the Victorian Era and the 4 poster bed looked wonderful. Something we hadn't experience before in any Hotel we had stayed in. The bathroom was small but comfortable and clean.
The owners and very friendly and make you feel "at home" as soon as you walk in the door. Coffee on the go, fire going, a wine hour if you are interested.
The whole Hotel is like being back in the "olden days" and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Would have stayed longer if time permitted and would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We attempt to make a yearly pilgrimage to Silverton about the last week of Sept- first week of Oct. This is prime time for the turning of the Aspens. The only place to stay is the Wyman Hotel. The Wyman is a cross between a boutique luxury hotel and a bed & breakfast. They have standard rooms but the best for couples is one of the spa suites. Our favorite "the Hummingbird"...has 2 person in-room spa tub, wife's favorite canopy bed and all 1880's period furniture. Don't turn down their great breakfast which is served just down the hall in their intimate dining room. There is also another spa suite on the 2'nd floor with about 5 ceiling-floor windows, called "the Wildflower"...great for the views. We stayed with the previous owners and happened to be the first guests checking in, the day the current owners took over. If you go to Durango, Silverton or the Ouray area, you must stay at the Wyman to truly experience luxury with an 1890's atmosphere.. We have stayed here about 8-10 times and without fail, every trip we have someone tell us they stayed in Durango and were sorry after visiting Silverton. If you are riding the Durango-Silverton train you can have your luggage put in the boxcar and after arriving in Silverton the Wyman will pick you up, or just make the walk to the hotel (only a couple of blocks). You can then rent a jeep from (Silver Summit) a couple of blocks from the Wyman, and explore the best 4 wheel drive trails in the U.S. in the Silverton-Lake City-Ouray and Telluride area, known as the San Juan Triangle. Allow 3-4 days...and stay at the Wyman....or you will be saying..."We should have"...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.1 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
82 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
150 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyman Hotel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyman Hotel and Inn

Property: The Wyman Hotel and Inn
Address: 1371 Greene Street, Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel & Inn was built in 1902. We provide just the right blend of modern amenities and still maintain the Victorian decor one would expect in a hotel in Silverton,Colorado. One of our special rooms is an authentic caboose situated in a large patio area that is just right for honeymooners and those celebrating an anniversary. Our property staff is eager to make your vacation in the beautiful San Juan Mountains a vacation to remember. We hope you will consider a stay at our beautiful Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyman Hotel Silverton
Wyman Hotel The

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing