We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give service 10 stars if I could!”
Review of Triangle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Triangle Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I'd give service 10 stars if I could!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

"The only place to stay" says the advertisements for this motel. It will be for us! Silverton, CO is an experience for sure, and part of it is the Triangle Motel. After crossing Red Mtn Pass, our car was having some issues. Of course, it was Friday after 6 so nothing was open. We checked in and found out that the owner of the motel is also the town mechanic! He gave us some advice which settled my nerves. Such a friendly town. The room was clean, tiny, and warm. All you need for a night of rest before skiin your face off. Fun fact? The motel owner/mechanic also drives the bus for Silverton Mtn. Hope to make it back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel knows how to prepare a room so that it's clean when you arrive. For example, a clean sheet is placed over the comforter of the bed, so you're not touching a bedspread that a zillion others have sat on--I love that. The room was very big, had a refridgerator and the bathroom was spacious. We came here last minute and they accomodated us nicely. The walls are a bit thin and we could here the people next door talking. If it weren't for that, it'd be an easy 5 star rating for a simple, but very clean and large hotel room. The price was also very resonable. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kasha5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've been staying here a couple of times a year for the past 25 years. It's my favorite place in town.
Affordable, clean, and VERY comfortable. Amenities include, coffee and scones for breakfast, menus for the different restaurants in town, HBO, Wi-Fi, and a great staff. The staff are very knowledgeable about he surrounding San Juan Mountains and the Jeep roads. They made some great suggestions on the sights to see in Silverton and surrounding country.They are very friendly. I usually stay in one of their smaller rooms, but have stayed in the the bigger rooms too. The bigger rooms have a kitchen and its like staying in an apartment.
I get a kick out of how the toilet paper is folded, (the Ritz in Vail should try that). The towels are big and fluffy.
Its best to get up early in the mornings to see the spectacular scenery, and enjoy the peace and quiet as the town awakens. For the 4th of July, the place is decorated with flags and other things. The window boxes with flowers are a very homey touch.
For a place that was built in the 1940s (?) it's great. The owners keep the place up.
It ain't the Ritz, and it cheaper and less pretentious than the "foo-foo" B&Bs in Silverton
I do have to mention that there is a liquor store right across the street!

Room Tip: I prefer down stairs, just because its convenient to unload my car. Open the windows and enjoy the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtguyAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A ski buddy and I stayed at the Triangle Motel for three days during a March 2013 ski trip.

We chose to stay at the Triangle Motel after reading on epicski.com that it was an affordable place for skiers to stay. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the owner's son who quickly checked us in, while also outlining the best places for us to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The owner has a friendly family it turns out, as the Mom (friendly) was in the lobby for breakfast the next morning and we met her husband later on that day - a friendly guy who was one of the bus drivers at Silverton Mountain.

As far as the hotel goes you can't beat the price. The accomodations, though somewhat rustic, are just what we needed. I mean, who goes to Silverton expecting some ritzy resort? (That's why most people choose to go to Silverton, or at least I hope they do).

I'd recommend booking a couple weeks in advance as Silverton will fill up fast and I didn't see a whole lot of places that looked as nice. Also, I hear that not many other places offer private bathrooms, as they are converted mining sleephouses with shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skijumper_311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed with 4 wheeling friends & had a comfortable stay. We had to make a few date changes & the owner worked with us on that. The rooms were clean & everything worked fine. We did have trouble with the heat adjustment. We turned on the ceiling fans as it was too warm. We had nippy temps outside in the evenings (20's already) so heat was needed. No smoking & no pets which was what we wanted. Great location in town with friendly staff. This is not a fancy place but it worked for our group quite well. I didn't ask for a ground level room & we had to carry our luggage up the stairs. If you are a senior & don't want to have to do that, you might ask about it ahead of time. Ground room floors went fast we found out. Great rates. Highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Ask ahead about ground level rooms, if you do not want to climb stairs with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinLady211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late in Silverton and found the Triangle motel on our way into town. Good and clean rooms with a positive vibe. The owner was very nice and friendly. Had a good stay here. Nothing extravagant but excellent value for money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. It's nothing fancy, but two small, cozy rooms were just enough for an overnight stay. The owner was friendly and very helpful, answering our many questions about Silverton and the surrounding mountains.

Great little town, too. Definitely worth a visit. There are other fancier hotels in Silverton, but for the budget minded, Triangle looked by far to be the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.3 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Imperial Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Silverton
59 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
232 reviews
14.7 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle Motel

Property: Triangle Motel
Address: 848 Greene St., Silverton, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Triangle Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Triangle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing